New Build 40260: BS 07-09-2019-r40260

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
tinkeruntilitworks
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 May 2019
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 19:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: Netgear R7000P
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r40260 std (07/09/19)
Kernel: Linux 4.4.184 #411 SMP PREEMPT Tue Jul 9 08:29:23 CEST 2019 armv7l
Mode: Gateway/AP
Status: appears to be running well
Sponsor
ninjadawg
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Feb 2019
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 0:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
What I've found with recent Kong & BS builds for the R7000 is that VAP startup commands don't need to be used for an unbridged VAP. But if the VAP if bridged to ie br1, then the startup commands are still needed. Might be worth someone checking on BS builds to confirm tho...

mwchang wrote:
mrjcd wrote:
All three of the units --- same ol broadcom buggy VAP crap been there long time now.
VAP (all its functions) not fully start after an install or reboot.
Just some minor testing --- wired clients to 'Repeater' mode router is fine but wireless clients CANNOT connect to its VAP
until you 'Apply Settings' at ../Wireless_Basic.asp ...even though the VAP does broadcast after reboot.
and yea I know there is various startup commands you can use to make it work besides having to go into the webif but that ain't the point ---
This should be fixed
Rolling Eyes

Someone in the Kong's new build said (again?) VAP was fixed, no work-around needed... is there a bridge to port it over? Meow...

New Kong's DD-WRT test build 40270M 2019-07-11
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320460

SinCalChewy
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Nov 2014
Posts: 287
Location: Bakersfield, CA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 3:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: 2x Linksys E3000
Firmware: dd-wrt.v24-40260_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin
Previous: dd-wrt.v24-40189_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin
Kernel: Linux 3.10.108-d8 #25293 Tue Jul 9 15:39:01 CEST 2019 mips
Mode: Client Bridges, all settings not required turned off.
Status: Seem to be working quite well!

Router/Version: Linksys E1200v2
Firmware: dd-wrt.v24-40260_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e1200v2.bin
Previous: dd-wrt.v24-40189_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e1200v2.bin
Kernel: Linux 3.10.108-d8 #25293 Tue Jul 9 15:39:01 CEST 2019 mips
Mode: Client.
Status: Used for my Mom's work PC, but so far I haven't had any issues come back! Smile

Note: SFE kills (makes it non working) the E1200v2. Didn't test on the E3000, but I spent hours before I figured out SFE doesn't work (it's enabled by default?)

_________________

Deployed Routers:
Netgear R7000 - 3x Kong's 40270M
Linksys E3000 - 2x build 40274M
Linksys E1200v2 - 1x build 40274M

Spares/Backups/Collection:
Too many to list. I have old routers, bricked routers, weird routers. You name it.
parco
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Sep 2017
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 8:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
SinCalChewy wrote:
Router/Version: 2x Linksys E3000
Firmware: dd-wrt.v24-40260_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin
Previous: dd-wrt.v24-40189_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin
Kernel: Linux 3.10.108-d8 #25293 Tue Jul 9 15:39:01 CEST 2019 mips
Mode: Client Bridges, all settings not required turned off.
Status: Seem to be working quite well!

Router/Version: Linksys E1200v2
Firmware: dd-wrt.v24-40260_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e1200v2.bin
Previous: dd-wrt.v24-40189_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e1200v2.bin
Kernel: Linux 3.10.108-d8 #25293 Tue Jul 9 15:39:01 CEST 2019 mips
Mode: Client.
Status: Used for my Mom's work PC, but so far I haven't had any issues come back! Smile

Note: SFE kills (makes it non working) the E1200v2. Didn't test on the E3000, but I spent hours before I figured out SFE doesn't work (it's enabled by default?)


You are not alone, and I've update that isuue and provide more info again, @kernel-panic69 agree this is still a serious issue for broadcom soc routers as well, and actually for a very long long time already (since a long time ago.... in a galaxy far.... far away....):
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6668

I can't comprehend why a MacDonald restaurant just keep trying to make curry sushi and never give a f**k about their own hamburger taste like shit..... Rolling Eyes Confused ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
mbze430
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 234

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 16:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
ninjadawg wrote:
What I've found with recent Kong & BS builds for the R7000 is that VAP startup commands don't need to be used for an unbridged VAP. But if the VAP if bridged to ie br1, then the startup commands are still needed. Might be worth someone checking on BS builds to confirm tho...

mwchang wrote:
mrjcd wrote:
All three of the units --- same ol broadcom buggy VAP crap been there long time now.
VAP (all its functions) not fully start after an install or reboot.
Just some minor testing --- wired clients to 'Repeater' mode router is fine but wireless clients CANNOT connect to its VAP
until you 'Apply Settings' at ../Wireless_Basic.asp ...even though the VAP does broadcast after reboot.
and yea I know there is various startup commands you can use to make it work besides having to go into the webif but that ain't the point ---
This should be fixed
Rolling Eyes

Someone in the Kong's new build said (again?) VAP was fixed, no work-around needed... is there a bridge to port it over? Meow...

New Kong's DD-WRT test build 40270M 2019-07-11
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320460



on the AC3200 I have a bridged VAP on a VLAN and it works fine on startup or reset without issuing the startup commands or doing it manually.

_________________
ASUS RT-AC3200 - Deployed Client's site
ASUS RT-AC5200 - Merlin
ASUS RT-AX88U - Merlin
thommy181
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Mar 2019
Posts: 15
Location: Szczecin, Poland EU

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 19:04    Post subject: Netgear WNR3500L v2 Reply with quote
Router/Version: Netgear WNR3500L v2
File: dd-wrt.v24-40260_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-WNR3500Lv2.chk
Kernel: Linux 3.10.108-d8 #25277 Tue Jul 9 15:22:36 CEST 2019 mips
Mode: Internet gateway and WIFI AP
Status: Work
Uptime: more than 24 hours

Generally my device working OK. I can't make configure in Basic -> Switch config tab. When I'm change options there and click save and apply settings button configuration back to default values, so I can't change network ports configuration.
Router have something problem cause I have UDP bad checksum one event in device log. IP from the world try operation on 1900 and 9815 port. I'm block this IP in iptables, block ports in port triggering. That problem isn't exist earlier. I think is some problem with security in this firmware build.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 1077
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 20:16    Post subject: Re: Netgear WNR3500L v2 Reply with quote
thommy181 wrote:
Router/Version: Netgear WNR3500L v2
File: dd-wrt.v24-40260_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-WNR3500Lv2.chk
Kernel: Linux 3.10.108-d8 #25277 Tue Jul 9 15:22:36 CEST 2019 mips
Mode: Internet gateway and WIFI AP
Status: Work
Uptime: more than 24 hours

Generally my device working OK. I can't make configure in Basic -> Switch config tab. When I'm change options there and click save and apply settings button configuration back to default values, so I can't change network ports configuration.
Router have something problem cause I have UDP bad checksum one event in device log. IP from the world try operation on 1900 and 9815 port. I'm block this IP in iptables, block ports in port triggering. That problem isn't exist earlier. I think is some problem with security in this firmware build.


I'm sure the logfile(s) would help determine the problem, if it's in the firmware. Cool
parco
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Sep 2017
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 8:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
ninjadawg wrote:
What I've found with recent Kong & BS builds for the R7000 is that VAP startup commands don't need to be used for an unbridged VAP. But if the VAP if bridged to ie br1, then the startup commands are still needed. Might be worth someone checking on BS builds to confirm tho...

mwchang wrote:
mrjcd wrote:
All three of the units --- same ol broadcom buggy VAP crap been there long time now.
VAP (all its functions) not fully start after an install or reboot.
Just some minor testing --- wired clients to 'Repeater' mode router is fine but wireless clients CANNOT connect to its VAP
until you 'Apply Settings' at ../Wireless_Basic.asp ...even though the VAP does broadcast after reboot.
and yea I know there is various startup commands you can use to make it work besides having to go into the webif but that ain't the point ---
This should be fixed
Rolling Eyes

Someone in the Kong's new build said (again?) VAP was fixed, no work-around needed... is there a bridge to port it over? Meow...

New Kong's DD-WRT test build 40270M 2019-07-11
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320460


Is this issue just affect router which manually added br1 br2 etc other than br0? Or this issue happens on the router with just the default br0 and no other bridges as well? Confused
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum