Netgear R6400 v2 and R6700v3 Install Guide

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 13, 14, 15  Next
Author Message
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4212
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2019 8:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
One user reported problems updating to DDWRT, he reverted to stock, a few day later the router was dead.

He got another one which could be upgraded without a problem, so probably a hardware failure.

But first let me know what board_id this router has?

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Sponsor
visiter555
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Aug 2012
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 13:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
It is U12H332T20_NETGEAR

As I said this one was running Kong's build until it crashed on an upgrade. It has been on Kong's builds since the first builds came out and I have 11 other in family locations as well as three in my place (along with an r7800 and some Cisco NGFWs), so it is not a BoardID issue.

It has been up since I did the serial cable recovery on Netgears F/W with zero issues running a couple of stress tests on it.

_________________
NetGear R7800 x2
NetGear R6400V2 x 4
Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2
Linksys WRT54G x3
Cisco NGFW
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4212
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 15:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
visiter555 wrote:
It is U12H332T20_NETGEAR

As I said this one was running Kong's build until it crashed on an upgrade. It has been on Kong's builds since the first builds came out and I have 11 other in family locations as well as three in my place (along with an r7800 and some Cisco NGFWs), so it is not a BoardID issue.

It has been up since I did the serial cable recovery on Netgears F/W with zero issues running a couple of stress tests on it.


My guess is a hardware failure, DDWRT uses other/more parts of the flash memory and if that is corrupt than you can not upgrade with DDWRT.

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
visiter555
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Aug 2012
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 20:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just changed the Netgear f/w to a different version and working 100% which means the proability of the hardware failure in the flash is really tiny.


egc wrote:
visiter555 wrote:
It is U12H332T20_NETGEAR

As I said this one was running Kong's build until it crashed on an upgrade. It has been on Kong's builds since the first builds came out and I have 11 other in family locations as well as three in my place (along with an r7800 and some Cisco NGFWs), so it is not a BoardID issue.

It has been up since I did the serial cable recovery on Netgears F/W with zero issues running a couple of stress tests on it.


My guess is a hardware failure, DDWRT uses other/more parts of the flash memory and if that is corrupt than you can not upgrade with DDWRT.

_________________
NetGear R7800 x2
NetGear R6400V2 x 4
Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2
Linksys WRT54G x3
Cisco NGFW
ashinhood
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Aug 2019
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2019 10:19    Post subject: R6400 as repeter wifi Reply with quote
I have configured the R6400V2 as wifi repeater with the last firmware.

It work correctly but if for some reason the connection between main router and the repeater was lost, the repeater go in a state of continue rebooting when it try to enstablish a connection with the main roter.

what can i do to solve this problem?
Because in this case a power-off for 30second is useless the only solution founded is change the password on both router and repeater and it will start work correctly but if connection is lost again the problem return.

Please help me

An other solution for me is find a usb 4g dongle compatible with R6400V2 with ddwrt and avoid to use the main router, but i don't find any compatibility list
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4212
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2019 10:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
What is the last firmware i.e. build number and date?
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
ashinhood
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Aug 2019
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2019 10:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
What is the last firmware i.e. build number and date?


I use this
DD-WRT v3.0-r40459 std (07/30/19)


EDIT:
I have problem only in the case of a connection lost, normally it work well, for exemple if main router rebooted or r6400v2 switched off and on for some reason.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4212
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2019 11:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok there are more reports of problems see: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1172552#1172552

Use the latest Kong build (40270) or if that not works Kong's stable build. It is in the guide.

After uploading your new build, telnet to your router and do:
Code:
nvram erase && reboot

Put settings in manually do not restore from a backup

If possible do not use the bridge mode (repeater bridge or client bridge) just use repeater or client mode.

If possible just use client mode where you dedicate one of the radio's to a back haul and use the other as AP

Edit: if that build works please report back with the working build so that we have a start point where to look for the problem

P.S. These things can better be reported in the build thread as it has everyting to do with the build and not with this particular router.

Build thread of your build: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320676&highlight=40459

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Lkr
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Jun 2009
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2019 15:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
I got my 6400v2 setup running the latest build (r40559). Is there any reason to be using the June stable Kong build instead?

I am trying to set this up as a repeater. My main router is an R7000. I am setting this up from LAN to main router to LAN on R6400.

Right now on the main router, I have a VLAN set up on a port hooked up to a switch with my IoT devices. I have avahi running fine on here, so everything on my 192.168.1.0/24 network can talk to everything on the 172.0.0.0/24 IoT VLAN.
If I put the r6400v2 in Router mode, disable DHCP and keep it on the same network as the main router, it will be able to act as a switch and extend my wifi from what I understand. my question is how do I configure further VLANs down the road if I want to connect them to the 6400v2? For example, I would like to move the switch with the IoT vlan devices hooked up next to the r6400. Would I then need to configure the vlan on the r6400, the r7000 (main router), or both?
d0d0
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Aug 2019
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2019 15:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router: netgear r6400v2
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r39960M kongac (06/08/19)
board_id= U12H332T20

first of all thanks to you for this dedicated topic and detailed step by step instructions for installing dd-wrt on r6400v2 routers

linux and dd-wrt things are new for me, yes i am newbie
installed stable version of kongac build with help of egc and it is running nicely
but yesterday i noticed something unusual , access restriction policies are only working when i disable openVPN client on dd-wrt
if i enable openvpn client then all access restriction policies are bypassed
is there a way to fix this issue?
already tried to search on duckduckgo but not able to find results


Last edited by d0d0 on Tue Sep 17, 2019 14:10; edited 1 time in total
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4212
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2019 15:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hmm interesting, you better ask in the advanced networking forum, this seems not specific to the R6400v2

I think it is related to how DDWRT handles the firewall rules, most rules are in the firewall "table" but rules for the OVPN client are generated when the client starts (in the route-up script) those rules are inserted and on the top of the table so the rules allowing VPN traffic will be executed before the access restriction rules.

I can think of three possible ways to deal with this:
Add access rules to the route-up script, use dev tun0 for the OVPN client and make your own firewall rules (probabaly inserting at at the top) or make your own access rules and insert them after the VPN client is up, but you need a script for checking and also if the client restarts

So basically something not very easy.

BUT I have no experience with access rules so it might well be that there is an easy fix Smile .
So post this in the advanced networking forum

Edit: thinking about it maybe the addition of an iptables rule to jump to the lan2wan chain at the top of the table will do

Edit 2, thinking about it (I do a lot of thinking) the following two rules maybe will work
Code:
iptables -D FORWARD -j lan2wan
iptables -I FORWARD -j lan2wan


just for testing execute those rules after the VPN client is up and see if that restores the access restrictions, just execute from the CLI/putty

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
d0d0
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Aug 2019
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2019 17:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
Hmm interesting, you better ask in the advanced networking forum, this seems not specific to the R6400v2

I think it is related to how DDWRT handles the firewall rules, most rules are in the firewall "table" but rules for the OVPN client are generated when the client starts (in the route-up script) those rules are inserted and on the top of the table so the rules allowing VPN traffic will be executed before the access restriction rules.

I can think of three possible ways to deal with this:
Add access rules to the route-up script, use dev tun0 for the OVPN client and make your own firewall rules (probabaly inserting at at the top) or make your own access rules and insert them after the VPN client is up, but you need a script for checking and also if the client restarts

So basically something not very easy.

BUT I have no experience with access rules so it might well be that there is an easy fix Smile .
So post this in the advanced networking forum

[/code]

just for testing execute those rules after the VPN client is up and see if that restores the access restrictions, just execute from the CLI/putty


thanks for your reply
ok will create a topic inside advanced network section
i am using expressvpn they recommends Additional Dnsmasq Options
interface=tun1
so i am using tun1

Quote:
Edit 2, thinking about it (I do a lot of thinking) the following two rules maybe will work
Code:
iptables -D FORWARD -j lan2wan
iptables -I FORWARD -j lan2wan


just for testing execute those rules after the VPN client is up and see if that restores the access restrictions, just execute from the CLI/putty[


ok will try to use these iptables rules using putty
thanks
d0d0
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Aug 2019
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 18:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:


Edit: thinking about it maybe the addition of an iptables rule to jump to the lan2wan chain at the top of the table will do

Edit 2, thinking about it (I do a lot of thinking) the following two rules maybe will work
Code:
iptables -D FORWARD -j lan2wan
iptables -I FORWARD -j lan2wan


just for testing execute those rules after the VPN client is up and see if that restores the access restrictions, just execute from the CLI/putty


its seems no one replying in advanced networking section regarding this issue
so continuing here i hope you don't mind
sorry delay in reply , i was not aware of what is putty and how to use it
now i know what is putty
i am not sure whether my steps are correct or not( i am able to find any good tutorial about putty and ddwrt testing)
steps:
first i enabled openvpn in ddwrt
now opened putty with admin rights(windows user)
entered my router ip
logged in as a root
entered your iptables commands
now i tried to access the blocked domains/servcies which i defined in access restriction policy
services and domain are blocked its working
sorry for newbie type question's
are my steps are correct or wrong?
now these iptables commands are already included in my routers firewall or should i add them manually?
if rules are temporary applied using putty so i can test other rules safely ? Smile
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4212
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2019 7:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Rules entered with putty/CLI are temporary, when the router is rebooted the rules are gone.

So that is the way to test and experiment.

If you are satisfied the rules are working then go to Administration/Commands, enter the rules there and Save as Firewall.

Great to hear it is working.

For Iptables see the wiki: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Iptables_command

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
utumno
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jul 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2019 22:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried following the official install guide, and when trying to download Kong's builds I went to

http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/

as specified by the guide, only to find out that Kong is our of business:

Quote:
As you may have noticed I have not been able to follow dd-wrt development for a few weeks now.
Due to changes in life I don't have time anymore to continue compile/test/publish any custom builds anymore.
It is simply to time consuming, especially since I moved to openwrt.

It's been a fun time, but now it is time to move on.


Looks like we'd have to update the guide, trying BS's builds now...
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 13, 14, 15  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 14 of 15
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum