Internet connection dropping constantly

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Buddyz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Mar 2016
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 18:33    Post subject: Internet connection dropping constantly Reply with quote
Hi all,

I recently flashed my Linksys EA6900 (AC1900) router with DD-WRT version: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (02/19/14) std (SVN revision 23598M)
Network setup is as follows: ISP modem (bridge mode) > Linksys router

Unfortunately I'm running into a quite annoying issue where the internet connection drops constantly (sometimes literally every few minutes). At first I thought this only happens with the WiFi, but later I found that it also happens to my computer using a wired LAN connection to the Linksys router.

I've already tried changing all kinds of options, like turning off different kinds of security, rebooting the router a million times, trying different DNS servers. I haven't tried using the ISP DNS servers yet, but I doubt that would cause any disconnection issues. I could try enable logging in DD-WRT if that gives any useful information.

Powercycling the router usually helps for a short time, then the problems start again. Sometimes it doesn't connect for a long time, and sometimes it randomly disconnects every few minutes. It's quite unpredictable.

Below are screenshots of my current settings, hopefully someone can assist me with this issue.











Do let me know if you need more information.
Thank you for your time and help in advance. Wink
Sponsor
MDA400
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Jan 2015
Posts: 236
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2016 9:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
That build is a bit dated. Link in my sig for latest brainslayer firmware as the router database rarely gets updated anymore.

Select firmware date then ea6900 and upload that firmware file in the administration configuration page. I would reset ddwrt to default settings as alot has changed since 23000.

Double check with this thread to make sure of any additional steps to avoid bricking your router: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230#291230

_________________
LATEST DD-WRT FW IS LOCATED HERE: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 4872
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2016 13:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
You should take 192.168.1.1 out of Static DNS. It is not needed there.
192.168.1.1 should be put in as 'Gateway'
You can leave in local DNS if using local DNS on this router.
Buddyz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Mar 2016
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2016 19:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
MDA400 wrote:
That build is a bit dated. Link in my sig for latest brainslayer firmware as the router database rarely gets updated anymore.

(...)

Double check with this thread to make sure of any additional steps to avoid bricking your router: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230#291230

Actually that's the link I used to flash the router in the first place. From what I read, I understood that the Kong versions are more stable, hence I used that one. The guide suggests the dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_STD.bin one from: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/
It was last modified on 2016-11-15 00:14.

Since I'm using Kong's version, would it cause issues if I re-flash it via the Administration panel using a newer BS version?

mrjcd wrote:
You should take 192.168.1.1 out of Static DNS. It is not needed there.
192.168.1.1 should be put in as 'Gateway'
You can leave in local DNS if using local DNS on this router.

Thanks for the tip, I'll edit it!
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1328

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2016 19:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try this: Turn Modem and router off. Turn modem on and let it boot to readiness. Turn router on and let it boot.
_________________
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP BS
Test Bed R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 1 R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 2 R9000 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 3 R9000 1Gb LAN
Test Bed R7800 1Gb LAN OpenWRT Kong
www.desipro.de/openwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-
www.monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
Buddyz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Mar 2016
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2016 19:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
ddaniel51 wrote:
Try this: Turn Modem and router off. Turn modem on and let it boot to readiness. Turn router on and let it boot.

That's one of the first things I do when there are issues. Razz

I forgot to mention that I also tried connecting the computer to the ISP modem directly, using a cable and WiFi. There are no problems when connected to the modem directly.

If upgrading from Kong to BS via the Administration panel is possible without any issues, I'll try that this weekend.
MDA400
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Jan 2015
Posts: 236
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 18:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Buddyz wrote:
MDA400 wrote:
That build is a bit dated. Link in my sig for latest brainslayer firmware as the router database rarely gets updated anymore.

(...)

Double check with this thread to make sure of any additional steps to avoid bricking your router: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230#291230

Actually that's the link I used to flash the router in the first place. From what I read, I understood that the Kong versions are more stable, hence I used that one. The guide suggests the dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_STD.bin one from: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/
It was last modified on 2016-11-15 00:14.

Since I'm using Kong's version, would it cause issues if I re-flash it via the Administration panel using a newer BS version?


Since Kong works from the same repository as BS does, they can be flashed back and forth as needed (though if you are some 3000+ build versions off, i would reset NVRAM on upgrade).

Simply put, Kong's and BrainSlayer's builds are more updated then the 23598m Kong build you stated (if you are still using that) so i would update to a newer one from either anyways.

_________________
LATEST DD-WRT FW IS LOCATED HERE: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4387
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 18:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
What is the amount of NVRAM used (see status page)?

I recommend Kong's build

See my signature for additional information about EA6900 and best builds and about the NVRAM bug.

Do: erase nvram && reboot from the Administration/command tab after uploading the new build and put everything in manually

Leave out the local DNS entry as stated

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
testing14
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Feb 2019
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 20:47    Post subject: Re: Internet connection dropping constantly Reply with quote
Buddyz wrote:
Hi all,

I recently flashed my Linksys EA6900 (AC1900) router with DD-WRT version: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (02/19/14) std (SVN revision 23598M)
Network setup is as follows: ISP modem (bridge mode) > Linksys router

Unfortunately I'm running into a quite annoying issue where the internet connection drops constantly (sometimes literally every few minutes). At first I thought this only happens with the WiFi, but later I found that it also happens to my computer using a wired LAN connection to the Linksys router.

I've already tried changing all kinds of options, like turning off different kinds of security, rebooting the router a million times, trying different DNS servers. I haven't tried using the ISP DNS servers yet, but I doubt that would cause any disconnection issues. I could try enable logging in DD-WRT if that gives any useful information.

Powercycling the router usually helps for a short time, then the problems start again. Sometimes it doesn't connect for a long time, and sometimes it randomly disconnects every few minutes. It's quite unpredictable.

Below are screenshots of my current settings, hopefully someone can assist me with this issue.











Do let me know if you need more information.
Thank you for your time and help in advance. Wink
testing14
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Feb 2019
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 20:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
I also have a the same problem with my netgear R7000 i flashed it with Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r37305 std (10/10/1Cool
and then used the dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_BT_24760M.bin. i lose my connection to the internet every day or two,a reboot of the router is required to fix this issue. i tried to reflash the router back to factory stock but it fails to reflash. any information on how to resolve either of these issues would be great.
zenVPN
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Mar 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2019 8:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
testing14 wrote:
I also have a the same problem with my netgear R7000 i flashed it with Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r37305 std (10/10/1Cool
and then used the dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_BT_24760M.bin. i lose my connection to the internet every day or two,a reboot of the router is required to fix this issue. i tried to reflash the router back to factory stock but it fails to reflash. any information on how to resolve either of these issues would be great.


Same problem with loss of connection here too.

Netgear R7000
V3.0-r37305 std
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11451
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2019 13:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have an R7000 as well. I had frequent disconnects until I Disabled the Airtime Fairness on the Basic Settings tab.

That's what cured my issue.

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
parco
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Sep 2017
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2019 14:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Same situation here for my Linksys EA2700 for nearly 2 years already
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum