Bridging

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking
Author Message
kbocek
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jan 2016
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 22:10    Post subject: Bridging Reply with quote
I'm trying to setup an old AP in Client/Bridged mode.
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Client_Bridged

I have two APs and a separate router. I'd like to bridge an old AP and put it out in the yard. These instructions are confusing. They assume your "gateway" is the same thing as your primary router. In my case it is not.

So I'm confused as to the gateway address that is put into the bridging device. Do I use the address of the other AP or my actual router?[/url]
Sponsor
eibgrad
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 8034

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 23:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
The only reason I can imagine you're confused is if by gateway IP, you interpret this specifically as the internet gateway, i.e., the device closest to the ISP. If the APs are patched to a *secondary* router (which itself is connected to the primary router, WAN to LAN respectively), then the gateway IP under such circumstances is that of the secondary router, NOT the primary router.

If that's not the issue, then you need to more fully explain your configuration.

_________________
DD-WRT: DNS Leak Detection w/ VPNs (updated 6/5/19)
NEW SCRIPT!: ddwrt-mount-usb-drives.sh
NEW SCRIPT!: ddwrt-blacklist-domains.sh
NEW SCRIPT!: ddwrt-ovpn-remote-access.sh
NEW SCRIPT!: ddwrt-pptp-policy-based-routing.sh
kbocek
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jan 2016
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2019 15:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes that is my setup: a router connected to my ISP that is not a WiFi router and a separate WiFi AP with an IP address on the LAN. So thank you. That is the answer: the IP address of the AP I am trying to connect to.
kbocek
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jan 2016
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2019 15:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Okay, still confused. Under Setup | Advanced Routing the instructions say to set Operating Mode to router. In the Static Routing window you have both Destination LAN Net and Gateway. What goes in here? The IP of the AP I am trying to connect to or the IP of the main router?

I of course have Gateway already setup under Basic Setup.
kbocek
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jan 2016
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2019 16:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
I was following the wrong instructions. This:

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Repeater_Bridge

Was much clearer. I'm now bridging/repeating just fine.

My shorthand for an AP that is *already* configured for your network:
1. Wireless | Basic settings : set mode to Client Bridge (Routed)
2. Same screen add a virtual interface in AP mode and same SSID as the rest of the network.
kbocek
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jan 2016
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2019 20:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
...and

3. Wireless | Wireless Security: set security correctly on the new virtual interface.
kdekilo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jul 2019
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2019 10:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've done all the steps and it works, but it goes very slow....

¿what can I do or how can it go faster?

(Router is a Linksys WRT54GL with the latest micro firmware)

Thanks in advance!
eibgrad
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 8034

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 12:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
kdekilo wrote:
¿what can I do or how can it go faster


Get a better router?

According to wikidevi.com, the WRT54GL (v1.1) is only B/G and 200MHz.

https://wikidevi.com/wiki/Linksys_WRT54GL_v1.1

That's pathetic by today's standards.

_________________
DD-WRT: DNS Leak Detection w/ VPNs (updated 6/5/19)
NEW SCRIPT!: ddwrt-mount-usb-drives.sh
NEW SCRIPT!: ddwrt-blacklist-domains.sh
NEW SCRIPT!: ddwrt-ovpn-remote-access.sh
NEW SCRIPT!: ddwrt-pptp-policy-based-routing.sh
kdekilo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jul 2019
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 15:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
yes, this is a very old router but I need it only a few days per year

thank you for your answer
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum