AC mode?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Author Message
scar1943
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Nov 2018
Posts: 200
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2019 17:21    Post subject: AC mode? Reply with quote
Ok folks,

I'm hoping this is obvious to someone who knows how this works. In order to use the wide AC mode, I assume you need both a 5GHz and a 2GHz channel assigned to the mode.

Do both channels (5GHz and 2GHz) have to share the same SSID? What other conditions have to be met (other then the obvious client needing to be compatible)? Are there channel restrictions or needs?
Sponsor
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2035
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2019 19:52    Post subject: Wireless Settings Reply with quote
Wireless AC is a 5GHz only spec. 2.4GH is Wireless B/G/N.

Recommended wireless settings are here for all dd-wrt routers:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Basic_Wireless_Settings
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Advanced_wireless_settings

Atheros based routers should use the settings from here: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Atheros/ath_wireless_settings

Wireless AC speeds also require a compatible client device.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - bricked
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
scar1943
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Nov 2018
Posts: 200
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 14:23    Post subject: Re: Wireless Settings Reply with quote
ian5142 wrote:
Wireless AC is a 5GHz only spec. 2.4GH is Wireless B/G/N.


Ian,

I assume I'm misunderstanding the implication of the pseudo third band (triband) in marketing of some of these AC routers? I had made an assumption that you gain wider AC mode bandwidth by using both the 5 and 2 GHz bands simultaneously in a single connection. By your comment, that's not the case.

Can you help me understand why some router marketing can make claims of a tri-band router? Whats the third band they are claiming?
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2035
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 14:39    Post subject: Third Band Reply with quote
The third band is either a second 5GHz network or the new 802.11d 60GHz band. The problem with 60GHz is that it is very short range, like 2 feet max.

The reason for a second 5GHz network is to put slower clients like smartphones, etc on one and faster clients on the other (high-end laptops, other wireless AC routers, etc). The average user does not really need a tri-band router, at this time.

For network separation you can always go in and create Virtual Access Points (VAPs). See more here: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linking_Routers

A client, even a router, can only connect to a single device at a time. In the case of a router it rotates between all of its clients. It does this on both the 2.4GHz and 5GHz networks simultaneously. As for having a single client (smartphone or laptop) connected to both the 2.4GHz and 5GHz networks at the same time, that is not possible without having 2 wireless adapters.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - bricked
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
scar1943
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Nov 2018
Posts: 200
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 15:39    Post subject: Re: Third Band Reply with quote
ian5142 wrote:

The reason for a second 5GHz network is to put slower clients like smartphones, etc on one and faster clients on the other (high-end laptops, other wireless AC routers, etc). The average user does not really need a tri-band router, at this time.



Thanks Ian,

That explains a great many things.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum