Changed my password, can login through terminal not browser

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Author Message
nima2019
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Apr 2019
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2019 21:46    Post subject: Changed my password, can login through terminal not browser Reply with quote
I changed the admin password to my router to something longer(I think about 31 characters). Now I cannot login to the router admin area using that password. However I can telnet to the router's address using the password.

I changed the password through telnet to something very short (7 characters). Then I could log into the router admin area through browser. I changed the password again to something 24 characters and I can't login through the browser again.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks


Last edited by nima2019 on Sat Jun 22, 2019 0:33; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
Ah-Pin-Kor
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Sep 2015
Posts: 250

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2019 4:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried setting a 40-char password and am able to login thru the webui, telnet and ssh. I used Firefox browser with build 39956 on a wrt1900acsv2 (I doubt the model matters in this case).
Are you using setuserpasswd to change the password?
Try a different browser and in telnet, check that the the hashed strings of the http_passwd nvram setting and the root account in /etc/passwd are the same.

_________________

Netgear R7800 kongpro 19.07 20190711 || Netgear R7000 35550M kongac (Client Bridge=5GHz, AP=2.4GHz)
Linksys WRT32X davidc502 OpenWrt || Linksys WRT1200ACv1 Gargoyle 1.11.x
Linksys WRT1900ACSv2 dd-wrt 39956
nima2019
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Apr 2019
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2019 15:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
It was a stupid mistake on my side. I assume the first field in the change password page (in browser) is a field to enter the current password and the 2 more fields are for the new passwords. That was wrong. The first field is for the username. So I was basically changing the username as well as the password.

That's why root username was working for telnet access but I couldn't login through the browser.

Thanks for the help Smile
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum