Login into Web Page University/Hotel etc Not possible.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Author Message
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 12680

PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 16:44    Post subject: Login into Web Page University/Hotel etc Not possible. Reply with quote
This question seems to come up every week. I don't know of any way that DD-WRT can log onto a site that uses a webpage to login to. DD-WRT cannot do html scripts. I don't recall ever seeing a way to get this to work. If anyone knows of a way, please post it.
_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor.
LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
Sponsor
jimmyco2008
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jun 2013
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2016 0:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Whenever I set up a router as a client/repeater, I login with a device connected to the router, usually a computer. The router keeps the session open so if it's just a matter of authenticating once, you should be good to go after that initial auth.
Lehtinen
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Nov 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 3:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
On my laptop I turned into a hot spot using these instructions.
Press Win+X to open the power user settings menu and choose "Command Prompt (Admin)".
Enter the following command, replacing the values for SSID and key with the network name and password you want: netsh wlan set hostednetwork mode=allow ssid=HOTSPOT key=password
Run the following command to start the network: netsh wlan start hostednetwork
Search in the Start menu for "View network connections."
Right-click your connection and choose "Properties."
Under the "Sharing" tab, click the box labeled "Allow other network users to connect through this computer's internet connection."
In the drop down below the above box, choose the network connection that currently has internet access. Click OK.
Then open notepad and type in netsh wlan start hostednetwork and save it as a .bat file on your desktop. This will give you a quick way of starting the service.
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11449
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 12:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
I travel A LOT....I've seen some hotels that will only accept connections from a computer, phone, or tablet. For some reason I can't connect with a router in Repeater mode. (I don't know what criteria isn't being met with a router)...but in these cases...I use MAC cloning...I use an old Cell phone (decommissioned) MAC address and voila....end of issue.

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
eibgrad
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 8022

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2017 21:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you think about what's happening, it shouldn't be a surprise this is such a problem for the router. These captive portals are hacks that are performing http (perhap worse, https) redirects, which the router has no means to handle. It's one of the worst inventions to come from the industry since the internet took off way back in the 90's. This makes the invention of NAT look like pure genius. It's enough to make an IP purist just put an end to it all in frustration.

I've seen various scripts to try and handle it, w/ varying levels of success. The easiest is if it's your ISP, since these tend to be simple and consistent. The most difficult is when dealing w/ random wifi locations using a variety of captive portal software and procedures. And god forbid if they redirect you to a secure (SSL/TLS) url. Then the router has no chance.

The only thing that works consistently, as others have suggested, is using a browser to get initially connected, cloning that device's MAC address to the WAN, and continuing w/ the router. Not pretty, not very convenient, but it should work.
d0ug
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jul 2015
Posts: 722

PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2017 5:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
A tip to keep the connection alive. It might all depend on what traffic they are looking for for determining if the connection is alive though.

I did this once at a hotel I stayed at in Zurich that required you to sign in every time you were idle for something like half an hour or so.

In the router's config goto the Admin then Keep Alive tab. Set the WDS/Connection Watchdog to ping google's 8.8.8.8 DNS IP every two minutes or so. This trick kept me from having to resign in again for the remainder of the trip.
d0ug
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jul 2015
Posts: 722

PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2017 5:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
redhawk0 wrote:
I travel A LOT....I've seen some hotels that will only accept connections from a computer, phone, or tablet. For some reason I can't connect with a router in Repeater mode. (I don't know what criteria isn't being met with a router)...but in these cases...I use MAC cloning...I use an old Cell phone (decommissioned) MAC address and voila....end of issue.

redhawk


Might be worth just keeping your MAC always set to a known laptop/phone's MAC. I am not sure if such a list exists, but it is quite possible that the MAC address ranges used by router manufactures is known and those ranges are automatically blocked by these captive portal systems.
gordonhayward
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Nov 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2018 6:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Guess, I am the only one here who didn't understand this post. Crying or Very sad
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3491
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2019 9:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
To recap:

Grab your phone

Search for the MAC address of the phone, in Android: goto Settings > Phone > Status, write the MAC address down.

In you internet browser of the phone goto to the login page (captive portal) and login.

Start the DDWRT and setup in Client mode : https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Client_Mode, for Broadcom you can use Repeater mode

Clone MAC address: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/MAC_Address_Clone

Connect the DDWRT router and disconnect your phone

_________________
Routers: Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
Simple PBR (Policy Based Routing) script: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318662
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN server setup guide:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
ElfnetDesigns
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jun 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2019 21:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
You need to clone your devices MAC onto the router running DD-WRT and have that put into client mode and ethernet it into your PC
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum