6rd Altibox

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking
Author Message
moe58
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jun 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 13:55    Post subject: 6rd Altibox Reply with quote
I am trying to get 6rd working on my DD-WRT router with r39855 std (05/25/19). I have Altibox fiber with a ZyXEL P2812 provided by the ISP. I have removed the Zyxel router, and replaced it by the DD-WRT router. So no bridge mode.

For now i am running with Ipv4 DHCP on VLAN 102, as lot of Danish/norwegian forums says. All good.

Now i am struggling with 6rd provided by Altibox. On their webpage they say:

IPv4 BR address: 158.248.255.254
IPv4 Prefix: 17
IPv6 Prefix: 2A00:FD00:FFF4::
IPv6 Prefix Length: 47
IPv6 DNS: 2a01:798:0:8012::4

I found my range with a IPv6 calculator and have applied the settings, and rebooting the router.
No response on ping at all, when i try to ping from the router to ipv6.google.com.

Any clues?

My IPv6 settings are

IPv6 Type: 6in4 Static Tunnel
Prefix Length: 64
Static DNS 1: 2a01:798:0:8012::4
Static DNS 2:
Assigned / Routed Prefix: 2A00:FD00:FFF4:YYYY::
Router IPv6 Address: 2A01:79F:569D:XXXX::
Tunnel Endpoint IPv4 Address: 158.248.255.254
Tunnel Client IPv6 Address: 2A00:FD00:FFF4:YYYY::2/64
MTU: 1452
Dhcp6c Custom: Disable
Dhcp6s: Disable
Radvd: Enable
Radvd custom: Disable
Sponsor
moe58
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jun 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 15:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, i have tried a few things here with success.

I have checked alot of websites and forum posts, about firewall and routing rules, and came across a post, where they said "alot of these ipv6 posts are pretty old, and newer builds have all these firewall rules and routes implemented already.
That was a dead end.

My mind came across, that the ISP provided router supports 6rd, so i replaced that for a test, and collected some data.
The IPv6 range is different from what i get with the calculator?! Can it be legacy from an old IPv4 address with the ISP DHCP? The 6rd have been activated for longtime, with the ISP router.

I have applied the new IP range, and now i am able to ping ipv6.google.com from the router. Still no internet access on the clients.
Whats going on here?

Assigned / Routed Prefix: 2A00:FD00:FFF5:ZZZZ::
Router IPv6 Address: 2A01:79F:569D:XXXX::
Tunnel Endpoint IPv4 Address: 158.248.255.254
Tunnel Client IPv6 Address: 2A00:FD00:FFF5:ZZZZ::2/64
moe58
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jun 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 16:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
well... i gain some IPv6 knowledge at this Smile

I have checked out the firewall and routing configs, multiple times, and found alot of posts but didnt worked out. Even though, the entries were already in the ip6tables, and route table, i pasted them into the command line, as my best conclusion.

As i collected my IPv6 range from a ipconfig on my windows computer, i didnt knew about the IPv6 Prefix Length.
I tried to change it to 30, so it would be Tunnel Client IPv6 Address: 2A00:FD00:FFF5:ZZZZ::2/30

Apply config, reboot router.

Boom, IPv6 Internet access on my Windows. yeahoo.
I tried to change the prefix to 40, 50, 60, and finally 63, was working great.
So I'll stick with 63 as prefix length Smile

In my search all over the place, i found out, that the "Router IPv6 Address" is not that important, if you are using radvd, so i removed it from the config.
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=317883

Here is my final IPv6 6rd config with Danish Altibox.
link


Last edited by moe58 on Sun Jun 02, 2019 18:44; edited 1 time in total
moe58
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jun 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 17:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for this great forum of knowledge.

One of the posts who helped me most, for the whole overview of all these IPv6 numbers in the dd-wrt interface, was this screenshot:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1026762&sid=1b698fa89902c56cc8815e3d98628aac#1026762

So i have decided to make a clone with Altibox setup Smile
In the screenshot, its from altibox.dk website and the IPv6 calculator

Thanks again.

Altibox setup
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5004
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 19:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have Telenor, so I have IPv6 directly and have not used any tunnelling.

30 is the prefix length the ISP are getting. Altibox cannot be happy when one customer have used all their addresses. Customer prefixes is from 48-64.

Also I use dnsmasq instead of Radvd for addresses to the client machines.
moe58
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jun 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2019 21:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
I have Telenor, so I have IPv6 directly and have not used any tunnelling.

30 is the prefix length the ISP are getting. Altibox cannot be happy when one customer have used all their addresses. Customer prefixes is from 48-64.

Also I use dnsmasq instead of Radvd for addresses to the client machines.

Thats cool... sounds like your pretty good in Norway with the IPv6 rollout. In DK not even TDC are doing any progress with IPv6. Same with Telia or Telenor, no news about IPv6 for consumers. Only for business. For Altibox 6RD, i see they route through Telia network.

Sure, when all this IPv6 tunnel era is ended, the ISP will be more in control of IPv6 DHCP, it will all be more easy and smooth to setup. I guess with Telenor IPv6, its all DHCP with a custom router.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum