KongPro (OpenWRT) - 2019 / 08 / 28

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 18, 19, 20  Next
Author Message
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7366
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2019 21:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Mile-Lile wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
<Kong> wrote:
I also setup wireguard now, works like a charm with my iphone.


what is even wireguard..? its some feature brainslayer spent endless commits on and its got pretty much zero documentation on setup etc..


short info on how to setup is here on wiki

wireguard team published windows client (in alpha stage) on may the 8th...


"The disadvantage of Wireguard is that you cannot bridge anything. You always have to forward and do nat. No other way!"

so.. i cant access my lan through it like currently with l2tp/ipsec softether? if so then i stop caring about wireguard..

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ----> DD-WRT v3.0-r44474 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44467 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44467 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44467 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44251 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
Sponsor
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2019 8:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
Mile-Lile wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
<Kong> wrote:
I also setup wireguard now, works like a charm with my iphone.


what is even wireguard..? its some feature brainslayer spent endless commits on and its got pretty much zero documentation on setup etc..


short info on how to setup is here on wiki

wireguard team published windows client (in alpha stage) on may the 8th...


"The disadvantage of Wireguard is that you cannot bridge anything. You always have to forward and do nat. No other way!"

so.. i cant access my lan through it like currently with l2tp/ipsec softether? if so then i stop caring about wireguard..


Of course you can access your lan, what you have is another interface e.g. wg0, then you forward between wg0<->lan or wg0<->wan, thus full control of what traffic flows where.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
Mile-Lile
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2013
Posts: 1516
Location: Belgrade

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2019 11:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
Mile-Lile wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
<Kong> wrote:
I also setup wireguard now, works like a charm with my iphone.


what is even wireguard..? its some feature brainslayer spent endless commits on and its got pretty much zero documentation on setup etc..


short info on how to setup is here on wiki

wireguard team published windows client (in alpha stage) on may the 8th...


"The disadvantage of Wireguard is that you cannot bridge anything. You always have to forward and do nat. No other way!"

so.. i cant access my lan through it like currently with l2tp/ipsec softether? if so then i stop caring about wireguard..


you can even access local host with hosntames not IPs Smile
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/The_Easiest_Tunnel_Ever#Resolving_local_hostnames_accross_wg_tunnel_with_dnsmasq



@Kong - excuse me for spamming your post
@tatsuya46 - just give it a try, don't be so negative...
murtaza12
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Nov 2015
Posts: 122
Location: Pakistan

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2019 15:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Build updated today (19th May).

Kernel updated to 4.14.118.

https://www.desipro.de/openwrt/18.06/

_________________
Active devices:
Netgear R7800 - Stock v1.0.2.68
Linksys EA8500 - OpenWRT 19.07.1
ASUS RP-AC68U - 3.0.0.4.382.40019
znstyle
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jun 2006
Posts: 31
Location: Seoul, Korea

PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2019 16:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
ea8500, update from May 13 build to May 19 build without config reset.

Thank you Kong for the nice build,
but I reverted back to May 13 build,
due to the lack of built-in ipsec support since this new build.


I've tried to install the ipsec things with opkg,
but finally had no luck with ipsec running in new May 19 build.
(I used the very same ipsec configs that I'd used in May 13 build, Ipsec with Xauth PSK)

As I'm not familiar with OpenWRT environment, built-in Ipsec support of your build (until May 13 build) was really useful for the (OpenWRT) noobs like me, so I'm really missing for the built-in ipsec support for the next build like May 13 build. But it is up to you Dear Kong.

Thank you Kong for your hard work!

_________________
Netgear R7800 - r37495M kongat 10/28/18 (Main Router)
Linksys EA8500 - OpenWrt Kong Pro Q2 5/8/19 (Sub AP)
D-Link DIR-825 - (Retired)
labrok
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Feb 2011
Posts: 268
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2019 22:15    Post subject: Linksys EA-8500 Reply with quote
works just fine, installed transmission and Dl with 10MB/sec without pressing Cpu, Sampa works fine (35-40MB/sec@usb2) no hang up issues, Sqm Qos works as it should do, its a very good build, thanks Kong!!
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2019 13:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
eibgrad wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
"The disadvantage of Wireguard is that you cannot bridge anything. You always have to forward and do nat. No other way!"

so.. i cant access my lan through it like currently with l2tp/ipsec softether? if so then i stop caring about wireguard..


Don't worry. Eventually you'll get your wish. Feature-creep will set in like it always does and ppl will be lamenting about how simple and elegant it all was in the old days. Smile

Personally, I'm waiting for the first exploit that results in a remote code execution due to having the VPN run in the kernel. That will be an interesting day.


OpenVPN is the only one not running in kernel space, that's why it is so slow.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
murtaza12
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Nov 2015
Posts: 122
Location: Pakistan

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2019 17:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
New builds (23rd May) with kernel updated to 4.14.120.
_________________
Active devices:
Netgear R7800 - Stock v1.0.2.68
Linksys EA8500 - OpenWRT 19.07.1
ASUS RP-AC68U - 3.0.0.4.382.40019
vit5421
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Posts: 413

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2019 18:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
I still not able to use the  KongPro (OpenWrt) because SQM is way too slow for my 560mbs Internet.
Dear Kong, Can you add the qos package for new build to try? Or DDWRT will be the better option then?

_________________
Netgear R7800
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1300

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2019 19:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
vit5421 wrote:
I still not able to use the  KongPro (OpenWrt) because SQM is way too slow for my 560mbs Internet.
Dear Kong, Can you add the qos package for new build to try? Or DDWRT will be the better option then?

update lists then search and install qos package in system-software page. enter qos in filter, click find package. check the calculate overhead box in qos page once installed
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1300

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2019 21:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
latest kong openwrt 05/23 build. reset config from scratch. solid sqm cake/pocake no overhead all as defaults. no need for qos anymore. moved eth0 wan to core 2 at startup

r7500v2 line 100/10
vit5421
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Posts: 413

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2019 21:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
100/10 is not a problem coz maximum is 260 right now or so until it will be optimized.
_________________
Netgear R7800
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1300

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2019 21:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
vit5421 wrote:
100/10 is not a problem coz maximum is 260 right now or so until it will be optimized.

was a problem until now had to use qos. we're not as lucky as you are to get such high speed to dev/test with. g.luck
claudel24
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Sep 2017
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2019 3:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
jerrytouille wrote:
vit5421 wrote:
I still not able to use the  KongPro (OpenWrt) because SQM is way too slow for my 560mbs Internet.
Dear Kong, Can you add the qos package for new build to try? Or DDWRT will be the better option then?

update lists then search and install qos package in system-software page. enter qos in filter, click find package. check the calculate overhead box in qos page once installed
thebroughfamily
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Dec 2018
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2019 18:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Any of you guys using kongpro needed to limit a certain port range access to a lan IP address as I can't figure it out.... On stock Netgear firmware it's easy, but on openwrt it's confusing.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 18, 19, 20  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 20
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum