Help with firmware *going back to stock

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
itwl
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2019 13:25    Post subject: Help with firmware *going back to stock Reply with quote
Hello, I am a novice ddwrt user who succeeded in flashing to ddwrt firmware using the official ddwrt r9000 router database link down below

https://dd-wrt.com/support/router-database/?model=R9000_v1

Now, since the wifi speeds are gettting slower, I wanted to go back to stock firmware and I can't seem to go back to stock by flashing ddwrt to stock firmware.

I tried many different files and even tried upgrading to beta ddwrt firmwares but the firmware seems to be stuck to the DD-WRT v3.0-r37305 std (10/10/1Cool

After flashing the firmware, do I need to do the 30/30/30 for the R9000 router? or any sort of power cycling to upgrade or return to stock from ddwrt?

Please help
Sponsor
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5004
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2019 14:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Please post in the Atheros forum for this unit.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7113
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2019 9:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try this http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K4-AC-ALPINE/NetgearFW/ddwrt-to-netgear-R9000.bin to revert.

If you want to try dd-wrt some more, try this http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K4-AC-ALPINE/ddwrt-netgear-R9000.bin

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 2700
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2019 10:21    Post subject: Re: Help with firmware *going back to stock Reply with quote
itwl wrote:
Hello, I am a novice ddwrt user who succeeded in flashing to ddwrt firmware using the official ddwrt r9000 router database link down below

https://dd-wrt.com/support/router-database/?model=R9000_v1

Now, since the wifi speeds are gettting slower, I wanted to go back to stock firmware and I can't seem to go back to stock by flashing ddwrt to stock firmware.

I tried many different files and even tried upgrading to beta ddwrt firmwares but the firmware seems to be stuck to the DD-WRT v3.0-r37305 std (10/10/1Cool

After flashing the firmware, do I need to do the 30/30/30 for the R9000 router? or any sort of power cycling to upgrade or return to stock from ddwrt?

Please help


there is no chance Wi-Fi speeds get slower on this unit...R9000 has a great specs its very likely due to your bad settings....

also 30/30/30 is not go on this unit use the standard reset button or GUI restore to defaults...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 40009 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 40352 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Wi-Fi OFF,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2.......... Gargoyle OS 1.11.0 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 ------------DD-WRT 40270M 4.9 Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DNSCrypt x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---------DD-WRT 40270M Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
Others
Netgear ProSAFE-GS105Ev2 ----(LAN Switch)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS
itwl
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2019 2:46    Post subject: Help with firmware *going back to stock Reply with quote
Quote:
Try this http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K4-AC-ALPINE/NetgearFW/ddwrt-to-netgear-R9000.bin to revert.

I tried this method and it still stayed with the same version.

Werid thing is that when I flash the firmware, I can't get in to 192.168.1.1 my default router address so I have to power down for 10 seconds and power up again or reset the router. But when I do that the firmware stays the same.

Same goes for my upgrading attempt.

I am posing my router system information for reference please help

Router Information
System
Router
Router ModelNetgear Nighthawk X10

Firmware Version DD-WRT v3.0-r37305 std (10/10/1Cool

Kernel VersionLinux 4.9.131 #242 SMP PREEMPT Mon Oct 8 09:14:32 CEST 2018 armv7l

MAC Address9C:3D:CF:E0:64:AF

msoengineer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 400
Location: Illinois

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2019 4:38    Post subject: Re: Help with firmware *going back to stock Reply with quote
itwl wrote:
Quote:
Try this http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K4-AC-ALPINE/NetgearFW/ddwrt-to-netgear-R9000.bin to revert.

I tried this method and it still stayed with the same version.

Werid thing is that when I flash the firmware, I can't get in to 192.168.1.1 my default router address so I have to power down for 10 seconds and power up again or reset the router. But when I do that the firmware stays the same.

Same goes for my upgrading attempt.

I am posing my router system information for reference please help

Router Information
System
Router
Router ModelNetgear Nighthawk X10

Firmware Version DD-WRT v3.0-r37305 std (10/10/1Cool

Kernel VersionLinux 4.9.131 #242 SMP PREEMPT Mon Oct 8 09:14:32 CEST 2018 armv7l

MAC Address9C:3D:CF:E0:64:AF



Is there any reason why you aren't using newer test builds from BS?
The best recent one, IMHO, was 38507...it was a very snappy/fast build. ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2019/01-29-2019-r38507/netgear-r9000/r9000-webupgrade.bin

I suggest trying to load the new build using incognito/private mode of the browser. I seem to remember a bunch of builds in late 2018 that would not load using non-private mode.

You should also reset all the settings when you load the new build on and start over. Use the links down below in my signature to help guide you for settings.

_________________
[r9000] running BS 40352
[EA8500] running Kong 39705
[R7800] KONG PRO [taking a nap...no qam256...]
[WDR3600] BS 36808


TIPS-A MUST READ:

Best QCA Wifi settings to use|Latency tricks|QoS Port priority

Why to NOT use MU-MIMO||Max Wifi Pwr by Country||MCS Index Speeds||Correct QCA 5Ghz chnls to use||WIFI Chnl Freq WIKI
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7113
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2019 12:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Make sure your router isn’t connected to your modem.
Try a different browser if needed. Don’t set a static ip on your pc.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
itwl
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 13:14    Post subject: Re: Help with firmware *going back to stock Reply with quote
msoengineer wrote:
itwl wrote:
Quote:
Try this http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K4-AC-ALPINE/NetgearFW/ddwrt-to-netgear-R9000.bin to revert.

I tried this method and it still stayed with the same version.

Werid thing is that when I flash the firmware, I can't get in to 192.168.1.1 my default router address so I have to power down for 10 seconds and power up again or reset the router. But when I do that the firmware stays the same.

Same goes for my upgrading attempt.

I am posing my router system information for reference please help

Router Information
System
Router
Router ModelNetgear Nighthawk X10

Firmware Version DD-WRT v3.0-r37305 std (10/10/1Cool

Kernel VersionLinux 4.9.131 #242 SMP PREEMPT Mon Oct 8 09:14:32 CEST 2018 armv7l

MAC Address9C:3D:CF:E0:64:AF



Is there any reason why you aren't using newer test builds from BS?
The best recent one, IMHO, was 38507...it was a very snappy/fast build. ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2019/01-29-2019-r38507/netgear-r9000/r9000-webupgrade.bin

I suggest trying to load the new build using incognito/private mode of the browser. I seem to remember a bunch of builds in late 2018 that would not load using non-private mode.

You should also reset all the settings when you load the new build on and start over. Use the links down below in my signature to help guide you for settings.


Thank you VERY MUCH! I finally updated the firmware by using the private mode from the chrome browser, and the Brain Slayer build that you recommended works like a charm!

Loved it so much that I've decided to stay with ddwrt.

It's just that I am now wondering what kind of settings I should tweak to make the wireless stronger.

I learned from your links that setting the right channels help, but I wanted to tweak the TX power levels since I have many Iot devices throughout my house that frequently fall out of connection which gives me all sorts of problems.

I would really love to have a guide which explains how to tweak the R9000 wifi settings (or most efficient settings)

Thanks again!
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5004
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 13:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://tips.desipro.de/2014/02/12/wireless-starters-guide-for-first-time-dd-wrt-users/
msoengineer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 400
Location: Illinois

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 14:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
itwl wrote:
It's just that I am now wondering what kind of settings I should tweak to make the wireless stronger.

I learned from your links that setting the right channels help, but I wanted to tweak the TX power levels since I have many Iot devices throughout my house that frequently fall out of connection which gives me all sorts of problems.

I would really love to have a guide which explains how to tweak the R9000 wifi settings (or most efficient settings)

Thanks again!


Really?! How hard is it to follow a picture?
Best QCA Wifi settings to use

The most powerful transmit power you can set, in the USA, for 2.4ghz is 30dBm and 36dBm for 5.8ghz (But for 5ghz, the hardware will limit the transmit to 30dBM; dd-wrt will allow you to put 36dBm)

That's all the "tweaking" you can do for power.
The other tweaks are outlined in the link above.
Set your R9000 with all the options/check boxes as in my guide/link and you'll have the most "tweaked" settings you can tweak.

_________________
[r9000] running BS 40352
[EA8500] running Kong 39705
[R7800] KONG PRO [taking a nap...no qam256...]
[WDR3600] BS 36808


TIPS-A MUST READ:

Best QCA Wifi settings to use|Latency tricks|QoS Port priority

Why to NOT use MU-MIMO||Max Wifi Pwr by Country||MCS Index Speeds||Correct QCA 5Ghz chnls to use||WIFI Chnl Freq WIKI
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum