Kong won't login after reset - root/admin not working

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
xichael
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Jun 2007
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 18:50    Post subject: Kong won't login after reset - root/admin not working Reply with quote
Have build 37015M on my R6300v2, and after a 30 reset, the usual root/admin combination won't let me in. Did you happen to use a different default password on that build, Kong?
Sponsor
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3080
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 9:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
hmmm 30/30/30 reset is a bad idea as it not recommended on new age routers, ppl keep doing it and
get bad experience after that, in the future either use reset button or use CLI nvram erase && reboot or GUI
reset to factory defaults..

after reset usually you have to set your new username and password its what ever you set...
for WiFi is usually the pass hard-coded on the router
check the label under or use LAN to connect im not sure 37015M is using the hard-coded WiFi password as it an old build...
the best builds for R6300v2 are Kong builds
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/

read all read me files there

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 33772 BS WAP/Switch (wired)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 41659 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT, VPN)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 41686 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Wi-Fi OFF,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT, VPN)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.11.0 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 41686 BS (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT,VPN)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 40270M Kong (AP,NAT,VLAN,AD-Blocking,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 via Entware by mac913
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11451
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 11:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've had my router reset many times and there were times it defaults to the router's original password. Check the sticker on the bottom of your unit. It has the default password on it.

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum