Linksys ea8500 port is ready

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 114, 115, 116, 117  Next
Author Message
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 4694
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 2:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
ejaf wrote:
OK...now I'm confused.
I have one other device hardwired into the AP, but it doesn't show up anywhere on the status pages on the AP, only on the gateway.

Seems that would be normal to me. Hard wired to the switch/AP would be just as a switch going straight to the main.

My 2nd EA8500 is used about the same way only its wireless is disabled. I only have 1 client wired to it so it is really just a switch for it.
Now if I am connected to main router and then access the EA8500 switch then whatever device I connect to its webif ../Status_Lan.asp
will show as a client......because at that time it is actually a client to the EA8500 webinterface
I don't think you really have a problem Razz
Sponsor
ejaf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Nov 2013
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 13:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
So none of your clients hard wired show up on the LAN status page, except for the one that is actually accessing the URL?

That is definitely a logical explanation to me; I will confirm by shutting down that laptop, releasing the IP it's using, and then access the page with my desktop, hardwired to my actual gateway, and it's MAC should show up as the client connected.

Thanks for the input.

Eric
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 4694
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 13:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
ejaf wrote:
So none of your clients hard wired show up on the LAN status page, except for the one that is actually accessing the URL?

Yeahuh, that's about right.
I have several WAPs & WDS links both brcm & QCA.
Also all wireless connected will also show in a WAP .../Status_Lan.asp if they are connected to the WAPs guest network which is also doing its own DHCP.

I think you may be just worry too much Smile
ejaf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Nov 2013
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 23:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
gotcha...ty

edit: Confirmed the behavior by firing up the admin url from another box. Thanks for the explanation!

Not worrying, just curious. I'm in IT, makes me too logical Wink
pakesusu
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Apr 2019
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2019 20:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

I bought E8500 on SG, with the following firmware version:

https://imgur.com/a/6B1xXZr (1.0.1.188217).

The firmware cannot be upgraded from FW_EA8500_1.1.3.166845_prod.img to FW_EA8500_1.1.9.x_prod.img, after updating it, it will failover to default version over and over again.

Means if I want to be upgraded to ddwrt, I have to use USB serial? I previously planned to upgrade using the E8500WW firmware.
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 4694
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2019 20:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
pakesusu wrote:
Hi,

I bought E8500 on SG, with the following firmware version:

https://imgur.com/a/6B1xXZr (1.0.1.188217).

The firmware cannot be upgraded from FW_EA8500_1.1.3.166845_prod.img to FW_EA8500_1.1.9.x_prod.img, after updating it, it will failover to default version over and over again.

Means if I want to be upgraded to ddwrt, I have to use USB serial? I previously planned to upgrade using the E8500WW firmware.


Just guessing .... the EA8500 router you have is a made for North America (US) EA8500
That means you cannot go from a firmware that old to directly Linksys latest.
Look at 'For US' in this link ---> https://www.linksys.com/us/support-article?articleNum=156300
AND
this is no place to ask about upgrading Linksys firware to another Linksys firmware.
You should call them or ask at https://www.linksys.com/us/support/
msoengineer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 498
Location: Illinois

PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2019 21:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
pakesusu wrote:
Hi,

I bought E8500 on SG, with the following firmware version:

https://imgur.com/a/6B1xXZr (1.0.1.188217).

The firmware cannot be upgraded from FW_EA8500_1.1.3.166845_prod.img to FW_EA8500_1.1.9.x_prod.img, after updating it, it will failover to default version over and over again.

Means if I want to be upgraded to ddwrt, I have to use USB serial? I previously planned to upgrade using the E8500WW firmware.


Just guessing .... the EA8500 router you have is a made for North America (US) EA8500
That means you cannot go from a firmware that old to directly Linksys latest.
Look at 'For US' in this link ---> https://www.linksys.com/us/support-article?articleNum=156300
AND
this is no place to ask about upgrading Linksys firware to another Linksys firmware.
You should call them or ask at https://www.linksys.com/us/support/


If you're looking to switch to DD-WRT, don't install the latest Linksys firmware. The last Linksys firware that will allow you to run dd-wrt without having to use a serial to USB "hack" is 1.1.4.169978.

Otherwise, MRJCD is right on...not a place to ask about linksys firmware...

You should run Kong's firmware if you're going to run DD-WRT on the EA8500.

To go from linksys to DD-WRT use this firmware first:
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-IPQ806X/EA8500-factory-to-ddwrt.img

Then you can use BIN files for DD-WRT to DD-WRT updates:
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-IPQ806X/

The test folder has the latest builds made by Kong, but beware they are running on the newer Linux K4.19 kernel which slows down the router on ISP connections over 75mbps.
If your connection is faster. stick to the build in the non test folder.

_________________
[r9000]BS 40999 alpha (Main Router)
[EA8500]Kong 40270M (Offsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 36808 (Offsite)


TIPS/TRICKS:

Best QCA Wifi settings to use|Latency tricks|QoS Port priority||NEVER USE MU-MIO

Why to NOT use MU-MIMO||Max Wifi Pwr by Country||MCS Index Speeds||Correct QCA 5Ghz chnls to use||WIFI Chnl Freq WIKI
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 4694
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2019 21:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
msoengineer wrote:
he last Linksys firware that will allow you to run dd-wrt without having to use a serial to USB "hack" is 1.1.4.169978.

Actually I have found recently that the 'FW_EA8500_1.1.4.168206_prod.img' is the latest Linksys FW for US EA8500 that will still allow GUI install of DD-WRT........well on mine anyways.

##########

pakesusu wrote:
Means if I want to be upgraded to ddwrt....

If it actually has the FW_EA8500_1.1.3.166845_prod.img on it now then (and it is a US EA8500) then you should be able to install DD-WRT thru its webif/GUI using Kong 'EA8500-factory-to-ddwrt.img' from here --> http://desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-IPQ806X/
-----
If I were you I would just check first by trying to install the 'FW_EA8500_1.1.4.168206_prod.img'
from here http://mrjcd.com/Malachi/EA8500/Linksys-FW/ ... see if that works ok
If it really is a US EA8500 you can then install DD-WRT without a problem
whitedragon551
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Apr 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 22:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
nickant wrote:
After several unsuccessful attempts to get DD-WRT onto my (3rd party firmware blocked) EA8500 via cable, I gave up.
My EA8500 would not let me load an older version of the Linksys firmware either; I can't remember which versions I tried at the time.

So the other day I decided to try OpenWRT instead.
In looking through their forum, I came across this link:

http://cache-www.belkin.com/support/dl/FW_EA8500_1.1.4.168206_prod.img

This Linksys version is so old that it got through the barrier and flashed successfully via the GUI of the current (2/2018) stock firmware!

I then flashed Kong's r31780M as advised on Mrjcd.com's instruction page - success!

Next I flashed the latest r37015M - success at last...

So - someone grab that file and sticky a downloadable copy of it somewhere prominent! (I don't know how)

Edit: looks like it's already been stored, together with some other versions, by mrjcd:
http://mrjcd.com/Malachi/EA8500/Linksys-FW/


Is this still valid if my EA8500 is on FW version 1.1.8.185832?
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 4694
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 22:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have NO idea. You can always try and see.
What do you have on other partition anyways????
The reason I ask is it is good to have 1 bootable firmware or you may be looking for serial cable.

NOTE: that old Linksys FW I have is for the US EA8500....but still prolly will or will not install.

edit:
if it's US EA8500 most likely you CANNOT install an old firmware (before the firmware lock) if you have firmware on both parts that have firmware lock
whitedragon551
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Apr 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 23:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
I have NO idea. You can always try and see.
What do you have on other partition anyways????
The reason I ask is it is good to have 1 bootable firmware or you may be looking for serial cable.

NOTE: that old Linksys FW I have is for the US EA8500....but still prolly will or will not install.

edit:
if it's US EA8500 most likely you CANNOT install an old firmware (before the firmware lock) if you have firmware on both parts that have firmware lock


Is there a way to see whats on the other partition? I did have auto update enabled and had to actually roll back to a previous version because the firmware released end of march broke the 5G band.
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 4694
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 23:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
whitedragon551 wrote:
mrjcd wrote:
I have NO idea. You can always try and see.
What do you have on other partition anyways????
The reason I ask is it is good to have 1 bootable firmware or you may be looking for serial cable.

NOTE: that old Linksys FW I have is for the US EA8500....but still prolly will or will not install.

edit:
if it's US EA8500 most likely you CANNOT install an old firmware (before the firmware lock) if you have firmware on both parts that have firmware lock


Is there a way to see whats on the other partition? I did have auto update enabled and had to actually roll back to a previous version because the firmware released end of march broke the 5G band.

should be a 'restore previous firmware' button somewhere in the Linksys web GUI. I think it's in Diagnostics....you just have to look.....or do the power switch thing 3 times that should make it boot other part ----- makes it think current is not bootable
whitedragon551
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Apr 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 23:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
whitedragon551 wrote:
mrjcd wrote:
I have NO idea. You can always try and see.
What do you have on other partition anyways????
The reason I ask is it is good to have 1 bootable firmware or you may be looking for serial cable.

NOTE: that old Linksys FW I have is for the US EA8500....but still prolly will or will not install.

edit:
if it's US EA8500 most likely you CANNOT install an old firmware (before the firmware lock) if you have firmware on both parts that have firmware lock


Is there a way to see whats on the other partition? I did have auto update enabled and had to actually roll back to a previous version because the firmware released end of march broke the 5G band.


Then the backup partition is v:1.1.8.185832
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 4694
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 23:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
try to install old Linksys FW ............. but I doubt it will install Twisted Evil
pakesusu
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Apr 2019
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 17:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
msoengineer wrote:
mrjcd wrote:
pakesusu wrote:
Hi,

I bought E8500 on SG, with the following firmware version:

https://imgur.com/a/6B1xXZr (1.0.1.188217).

The firmware cannot be upgraded from FW_EA8500_1.1.3.166845_prod.img to FW_EA8500_1.1.9.x_prod.img, after updating it, it will failover to default version over and over again.

Means if I want to be upgraded to ddwrt, I have to use USB serial? I previously planned to upgrade using the E8500WW firmware.


Just guessing .... the EA8500 router you have is a made for North America (US) EA8500
That means you cannot go from a firmware that old to directly Linksys latest.
Look at 'For US' in this link ---> https://www.linksys.com/us/support-article?articleNum=156300
AND
this is no place to ask about upgrading Linksys firware to another Linksys firmware.
You should call them or ask at https://www.linksys.com/us/support/


If you're looking to switch to DD-WRT, don't install the latest Linksys firmware. The last Linksys firware that will allow you to run dd-wrt without having to use a serial to USB "hack" is 1.1.4.169978.

Otherwise, MRJCD is right on...not a place to ask about linksys firmware...

You should run Kong's firmware if you're going to run DD-WRT on the EA8500.

To go from linksys to DD-WRT use this firmware first:
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-IPQ806X/EA8500-factory-to-ddwrt.img

Then you can use BIN files for DD-WRT to DD-WRT updates:
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-IPQ806X/

The test folder has the latest builds made by Kong, but beware they are running on the newer Linux K4.19 kernel which slows down the router on ISP connections over 75mbps.
If your connection is faster. stick to the build in the non test folder.


Hi, still no luck, i'm now thinking to use USB Serial,

Using EA8500WW-factory-to-ddwrt.img, or just EA8500-factory-to-ddwrt.img

https://i.imgur.com/ostyI5D.png

result: https://i.imgur.com/v4aMO5a.png

Upgrading the firmware using US firmware to any version above, does not help, still failover-ing into version 1.0.1.188217.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 114, 115, 116, 117  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 115 of 117
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum