TP-Link Archer C9 Thread

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 68, 69, 70, 71, 72  Next
Author Message
dwardo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2013
Posts: 32
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2019 9:42    Post subject: Re: C1900 High Power - TX Power? Reply with quote
boris03 wrote:
Successfully flashed DD-WRT on my C1900(US)v1 High Power device. Really easy I just struggled with that there is a Firmware for C9 and for C1900 - this is really stupid labeling from TP-Link.

When I now check in TX Power I see that it´s set to Auto.
When I change to manual I see that there is by the system 71 used and in brackets it says can be between 1 and 1000mW.
Regulatory Domain is US.

How to handle that now with my device?
TP-LINK firmware is using 900mW as advertised (This is the US high power version).
What settings are you using here and does anyone owns the same device?


Just Manually set TX Power to 900 (I'm on 500 on a C9v1)
Sponsor
tagosa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2019 14:15    Post subject: Revert my Archer C9v1 to stock Reply with quote
I have DDWRT running C9 v1 successfully for years. No issues. I want to revert it to Stock C9 before I re-purpose it. The router is not bricked and still good with DDWRT.

I downloaded stock as explained here https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/TP_Link_Archer_C9 and renamed it to archerc9v1_tp_recovery.bin.

I changed laptop ip to static 192.168.0.69 and connected router (lan port) to laptop via ethernet. I also started TFTP server. I checked TFTP server via TFTP client on the same laptop and file archerc9v1_tp_recovery.bin was passed to the client.

Now when I power on router (C9v1) by holding reset button (and leaving it after 5 of power on), the router boots into ddwrt. It do not even see any tftp request on my tftp server. I re-tried this by connect WAN port of router to laptop. Still no TFTP request to TFTP server.

ANy help on how can I revert C9v1 to stock? What I am doing wrong that tftp request is not even going to tftp server.
devsk
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Aug 2016
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2019 14:54    Post subject: Re: Revert my Archer C9v1 to stock Reply with quote
tagosa wrote:

I changed laptop ip to static 192.168.0.69 ....
....
What I am doing wrong that tftp request is not even going to tftp server.
I have done this several times with tftp server on 192.168.0.66, not 0.69. So, that may explain
tagosa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 1:30    Post subject: Re: Revert my Archer C9v1 to stock Reply with quote
devsk wrote:
tagosa wrote:

I changed laptop ip to static 192.168.0.69 ....
....
What I am doing wrong that tftp request is not even going to tftp server.
I have done this several times with tftp server on 192.168.0.66, not 0.69. So, that may explain

That gave some hope. So i set laptop to 192.168.0.66. I also tried 192.168.1.66. None of those worked either. I didn't see any request on tftp server.
devsk
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Aug 2016
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 4:01    Post subject: Re: Revert my Archer C9v1 to stock Reply with quote
tagosa wrote:
devsk wrote:
tagosa wrote:

I changed laptop ip to static 192.168.0.69 ....
....
What I am doing wrong that tftp request is not even going to tftp server.
I have done this several times with tftp server on 192.168.0.66, not 0.69. So, that may explain

That gave some hope. So i set laptop to 192.168.0.66. I also tried 192.168.1.66. None of those worked either. I didn't see any request on tftp server.
I think the key is the timing. Fetching image from tftp is a special circumstance for the boot. Are you holding the RESET when it boots?
tagosa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 0:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just stumbled across this https://github.com/sowbug/archer-c9-back-to-stock. Anybody tried this?
tagosa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 1:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok. One step forward and two step back.

I compared c9v1-webflash.bin from https://github.com/sowbug/archer-c9-back-to-stock to the stock bin present at TP-Link. I found, that the bin is exactly same, but some sections removed as explained by sowbug.

So I flashed c9v1-webflash.bin. When router rebooted, it started boot loop. Now I tried tftp (laptop at 192.168.0.66) and reset method. This time tftp server received request and tftp was successful (100% complete).

The router is still in bootloop. I tried tftp multiple times. I downloaded the bin again and renamed and tftp. Same boot loop. Any pointers, what can I do now?
boris03
DD-WRT User


Joined: 17 Jan 2019
Posts: 144

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2019 12:02    Post subject: C9v1 what settings in Wireless are recommended? Reply with quote
There are settings for explicit beamforming, implecit beamforming, TurboQam, Currently all deactivated.

What is supported by this device and what should I activate?

Thanks
MolaMola
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Mar 2013
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2019 7:57    Post subject: Re: C9v1 what settings in Wireless are recommended? Reply with quote
boris03 wrote:
There are settings for explicit beamforming, implecit beamforming, TurboQam, Currently all deactivated.

What is supported by this device and what should I activate?

Thanks

You can enable all of those although beam forming doesn't make a measurable difference in my case.

There's a lot of misinformation and misconception around beam forming. Many sources claim it does something with the direction of the radio signal as in it would somehow reshape the spherical distribution of the transmission out of every antenna. Of course this is bogus because omni directional antennas are just that and nothing in their construction allows that to be changed by software alone. Rather beam forming has something to do with changes in phase and polarity differences between 2 or more antennas effectively changing the interference pattern. This technique has been in use in large specialist radio stations for decades. It's only fairly new stuff in the wifi domain. It might make a difference in your situation so I'd just give it a try.

I have my 3 antennas pointing perpendicular to each other, effectively as the x, y and z axis of a Cartesian system, by simply pointing the 2 outer antennas outwards so they are in a 90 degree angle from each other, and the middle antenna pointing forward and perpendicular to the 2 outer antennas. This seems to help more than any changes in the software. Perhaps beam forming requires all antennas to be in parallel but I don't know enough about it to make any valid claims. But enabling all these features doesn't seem to do any harm anyway so go ahead and try all of them.


Last edited by MolaMola on Mon Mar 25, 2019 8:10; edited 1 time in total
boris03
DD-WRT User


Joined: 17 Jan 2019
Posts: 144

PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2019 8:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
That sounds reasonable, thanks a lot for this summary. I played around already and also noticed not a big difference with these options on or off, maybe this explicit bf was increasing WiFi when further away.
But adjusting antennas is best. I changed left and right to 45 degree, this definitely improved the 90 degrees I cannot use- my wife says looks stupid Very Happy
MolaMola
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Mar 2013
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2019 8:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Welcome. Besides.. antennas have a swivel for a reason. Very Happy
fhcat9
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Apr 2019
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2019 3:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have a TP LINK Archer C9 and flashed it to : DD-WRT v3.0-r29409 std. It works fine but the USB storage function is not quite working. No matter what USB stick I plug in, it does not recognize it. And I have tried both USB 3.0 and USB 2.0 ports with no luck.

Does any one have any suggestions?
fhcat9
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Apr 2019
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Apr 09, 2019 17:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just to answer my own question, I upgraded the router to latest DD-WRT build 10.10.2018 and it works fine with my USB sticks. I am not sure it was the upgrade or the reboot fixed the USB issue though.

fhcat9 wrote:
I have a TP LINK Archer C9 and flashed it to : DD-WRT v3.0-r29409 std. It works fine but the USB storage function is not quite working. No matter what USB stick I plug in, it does not recognize it. And I have tried both USB 3.0 and USB 2.0 ports with no luck.

Does any one have any suggestions?
Gradius
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 May 2013
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Fri May 03, 2019 5:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

I'm using DD-WRT v3.0-r39654 std (04/25/19) and I'm getting very SLOW speeds on internal tests.

The test I performed between my workstation PC <> firewall <> Archer C9 v1 <> Galaxy S8.

I have turned off the firewall on Archer (for obvious reasons), and put my REAL firewall into DMZ on TP-Link.

I remember to get over 500Mbit/s, now I just can't pass 250Mbit/s mark.

Using UDP I managed to get around 400Mbit/s.

Of course, I'm using AC band and 80MHz (VHT80), Ch 149.

Also, I'm using the same software I used years ago:
https://bitbucket.org/pzolee/tcpserver/downloads/

On Android:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.pzolee.android.localwifispeedtester

Check it out.
jansen_al
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 May 2019
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2019 18:13    Post subject: Very Slow Wifi and Lan tests for internet speed.... Reply with quote
Hi Gradius,

Having the same very slow local and wifi speeds with firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r39572 (04/19/19) Archer C9V1.
Tried almost everything. I"ll updated from stock to this build. I know it was fast on the stock firmware....
Been reading a day long in the forum and afraid to go back to stock and brick my router. Shocked
Btw the speed on Wifi as on cable is 9,33 mbps down and 9,33 mbps up? Confused Confused
Anyone having ideas how to fix this????
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 68, 69, 70, 71, 72  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 69 of 72
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum