DIR 822 QoS

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Author Message
jonnyiboy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Feb 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 15:06    Post subject: DIR 822 QoS Reply with quote
Hello,

I have the Dlink DIR 822
MediaTek MT7621A (880 MHz, 2 cores)
FLA1: 16 MiB
RAM1: 128 MiB

with DD-WRT v3.0-r37305 std (10/10/1Cool installed.

Whenever I enable QoS my speed drops around 75% I currently have 500Mbps upload, the speed drops to around 120-150Mbps.

I only try to add one VOIP device, I have tried with both options either adding the VOIP device MAC or Sip Port Service, whenever Qos is enabled it drops drastically.

Even thought I have added the PC MAC address I am surfing/testing from to have Priority Maximum/Privileged.

I have also set my down-link to 85% correctly (450,000Kbps)

CPU CPU Model Mediatek MT7621 ver:1 eco:3
CPU Cores 4
CPU Features MIPS32r1 MIPS32r2 MIPS16 DSP MT
CPU Clock 880 MHz
Load Average 2% 0.06, 0.05, 0.06

Seems just enabling QoS is causing a bottle neck.. thoughts??

Thanks.
Sponsor
apvm
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 May 2012
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 16:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Suggest to revert back to latest stock firmware 1.11 and see if your problem is still there to see if it is a ddwrt bug.
jonnyiboy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Feb 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 18:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks, just tried and reverted back to stock.
Results on stock:-
1)disabled/no QoS full speed: 600-800Mbps
2)enabled with Qos speed: 60-80Mbps

Wow I was really surprised and glad you suggested to revert back, would unfairly think/comment on being DDWrt.

Above seems consistent with DDWRT, does DDWRT use the Dlink manu firmware as its base firm?

I need VPN(Policy based Routing) and QoS(VOIP) from DDWRT

Any suggestions on what to do, just bought the router and out of return period. Crying or Very sad
apvm
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 May 2012
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 19:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
If your connection is not congested, the best solution is to have QOS turn off.
jonnyiboy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Feb 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 20:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Any Idea why it is a problem, router cpu, memory, firmware?

Di i just make a bad choice for a router to have ddwrt?

Is there anything I can do, am fairly proficient at programming and configuring.

Thanks
apvm
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 May 2012
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 21:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try this guide for ddwrt and see if it helps

https://www.howtogeek.com/75660/the-beginners-guide-to-qos-on-your-router/
casualtester
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Dec 2015
Posts: 322

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 21:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
jonnyiboy wrote:
Any Idea why it is a problem, router cpu, memory, firmware? ...


It is hardware limitation not software limitation.

Personally, not aware of any consumer routers that will maintain speeds when features such as QoS is enabled.
Consumer routers use some variation of Cut-through switching to get those high speeds. All those that I've come across, the CTS can not function when features such as QoS is enabled.

You can post another topic and see if there are any members here who know of any model(s) that can handle CTS and QoS together.

If you are technically inclined and have a spare computer system lying around,
You can build your own router.

Reading material: arsTECHNICA
jonnyiboy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Feb 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 14:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks apvm for the guide I have come across and actually used it .

casualttester; on mentioning about CTS and consumer routers and also reading further about it, I did go back and try out my previous router (asus ac66u) with QoS and the results were the same, maximum 10-15 % of the original speed.

I did look up more on QoS router issues, seems to be common trend across all brands, actually Netgear suggests if speeds are more that 100Mbps, one should no longer need to enable QoS.

Seems to be a good suggestion to go and setup my own build router box and a pre-build router img as base, now that I am seeing more and more limitations of router hardware and requiring me to invest every 4-5 yrs or so in them.

Thanks all again for quick and appropriate replies.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum