I'm going crazy with the DNS management of DD-wrt!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Author Message
MassimilianoG
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jan 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 23:05    Post subject: I'm going crazy with the DNS management of DD-wrt! Reply with quote
I have a Netgear WNDR4500 v1 with DD-WRT v3.0-r37305 giga 10/10/18.
This router is dual band in gateway mode to another router-modem Huawei HG532s.
The IP of WNDR4500 is 192.168.2.1 and the IP of Huawei HG532s is 192.168.1.1.
I'm having so many problems with dns management ... the devices continually lose the connection because suddenly the DNS management does not work well. While I'm browsing with latest Chrome (on Windows 10), after a few minutes of proper functioning, the answer is DNS_PROBE_FINISHED_NO_INTERNET, DNS_PROBE_STARTED, ERR_CONNECTION_TIMED_OUT or ERR_NETWORK_CHANGED etc.
I tried numerous configurations with DNSMasq for DNS and DHCP, with Google DNS and Cloudflare DNS.
Now I have reduced the problem a bit by completely disabling the DNSMasq but the DNS management does not work at least 3 or 4 times a day.
If you try to check with the Windows 10 diagnostic tool, the answer is: "DNS server is not responding".
Can someone help me to understand how to correctly manage DNS in DD-WRT?
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3367
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 9:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Without knowing your configuration, try another browser, Chrome might use its proxyserver. See if Internet Explorer has the same problems just for testing
_________________
Routers: Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
Simple PBR (Policy Based Routing) script: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318662
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN server setup guide:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
ervau
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Sep 2013
Posts: 246

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 12:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
As egc wrote just tell us more about your configuration.
Did you install a router cascade or is the Huawei set up as modem; is the Netgear set up as router or as AP? It seems it's set up as router cascade, isn't it? How the Netgear is linked to the Huawei LAN to LAN or LAN to WAN? What are your DNS settings? What are your "devices" linked to?
MassimilianoG
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jan 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 16:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
What do you want to know about my configuration? I have router cascade: Netgear WNDR4500 to Huawei HG532s via LAN and all devices to WNDR4500 via WLAN (2.4/5Ghz). The problem is not Chrome. All browsers do not go and this happens suddenly. The Windows 10 WIFI has the yellow triangle with the exclamation mark. If I try to diagnose Windows 10, the answer is "The DNS server is not responding". All devices on the network always lose connection: thermostat, Amazon Alexa, TV, Mac/PC etc... What is the correct configuration?
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 2672
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 17:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
try to expose and give us more details in its current
explanation and the post above its still not clear what
your config is...
The best way is post a pic of services, and basic setup..
Do you use your modem in bridge mode and DD-WRT router is in Gateway mode so there is no double NAT...??
Also try to update your build or read about your current build, if there are any reports of bad DNS..
In general on the recent builds DNSmasq is the default
DNS manager, im not sure you can use anything else with DDWRT as there is no other DNS manager...

the other few options in my mind are... if you have a malware
or anything that kills DNS, like firewall settings and so...
otherwise its strange how you can have some time ok and than time cut off...
what you syslog is telling us??

so to get help you have to expose much more details
otherwise all is guessing...and random shots...

i would suggest you post those pic here and than we'll talk Wink


p.s. by the way on my modem 192.168.2.1 is reserved address too
it has 192.168.1.1 for any connections left LAN socket
and x.x.2.1 is for accessing GUI right LAN socket



_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv4 --------DD-WRT 33986 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 40009 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,Stubby DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 40009 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Wi-Fi OFF,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2.......... Gargoyle OS 1.11.0 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 ------------DD-WRT 39855M 4.9 Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DNSCrypt x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---------DD-WRT 39960M Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS)
Others
Netgear ProSAFE-GS105Ev2 ----(LAN Switch)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS
MassimilianoG
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jan 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 22:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is my configuration. Let me know if you need anything else.


screencapture-192-168-2-1-Wireless_Advanced-wl0-asp-2019-01-12-22_49_01.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  271.69 KB
 Viewed:  372 Time(s)

screencapture-192-168-2-1-Wireless_Advanced-wl0-asp-2019-01-12-22_49_01.png



screencapture-192-168-2-1-Services-asp-2019-01-12-22_45_56.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  254.6 KB
 Viewed:  372 Time(s)

screencapture-192-168-2-1-Services-asp-2019-01-12-22_45_56.png



screencapture-192-168-2-1-2019-01-12-22_44_23.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  163.19 KB
 Viewed:  372 Time(s)

screencapture-192-168-2-1-2019-01-12-22_44_23.png


MassimilianoG
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jan 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 22:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Another screenshot.


screencapture-192-168-2-1-WL_WPATable-asp-2019-01-12-23_11_34.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  125.94 KB
 Viewed:  371 Time(s)

screencapture-192-168-2-1-WL_WPATable-asp-2019-01-12-23_11_34.png


Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 2672
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 4:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
well first you have to resize your pic's or they will be removed...

second i can suggest some settings to be changed in order to improve the overall performance...

so on Advanced Wireless Settings
Frame Burst - you use this setting only if you have 1 or 2 wi-fi clients with more than that there is a reduced performance

Preamble - use short
short slot override - use short GI


on Services
Use NVRAM for client lease DB - tick that off its bad idea as this worn's out nvram badly
Used Domain - select Lan & Wlan

SNMP
turn it off unless you dont use it for a reason

now you have to turn on DNSmasq and follow my instructions...

Local DNS - enable
No DNS Rebind - enable
Query DNS in Strict Order - enable

in Additional DNSMasq Options add those lines
no-resolv
server=1.1.1.1
server=1.0.0.1

WAN Traffic Counter - disable it causes more harm than benefit
Telnet - disable as you have ssh you dont need it

save & apply

on Basic Set up page
WAN Connection Type if your modem uses PPPoE than you have to set it up manually as auto plays tricks but
if you just have a dynamic DHCP than its ok

Shortcut Forwarding Engine - turn it off unless you dont need it for a reason... also SFE does not work in conjunction with QoS as it cause troubles..

Router IP
remove those settings and revert them to default
Gateway - set to 0.0.0.0
Local DNS - set to 0.0.0.0

now change Start IP Address to something like
192.168.10.2

and thick on all those boxes
Use DNSMasq for DHCP
Use DNSMasq for DNS
DHCP-Authoritative
Forced DNS Redirection - if you want to use only your router specified DNS so no client be able to use their own DNS if they have a preset DNS...but the things will be ok with or without it

last thing NTP time does not work well with names it
uses IP's much better so add Google Time NTP like
216.239.35.4 this is one of the ggl NTP time servers
as NTP time is vital for some router services

one thing i couldn't see but its not important is
your wi fi channel settings
i suggest for 2.4Ghz you choose a channel like 1,6 or 11
and set Wireless Network Mode to NG mixed

save & apply and restart

this are basically kind of basic settings for router connected to a dsl modem

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv4 --------DD-WRT 33986 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 40009 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,Stubby DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 40009 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Wi-Fi OFF,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2.......... Gargoyle OS 1.11.0 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 ------------DD-WRT 39855M 4.9 Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DNSCrypt x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---------DD-WRT 39960M Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS)
Others
Netgear ProSAFE-GS105Ev2 ----(LAN Switch)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3367
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 10:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Seeing all the things you changed from default, maybe reset to default first and change only things you are sure off. (you really made a mess of it)

Settings adviced by @Alozoros are sound (of course they are Smile )

_________________
Routers: Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
Simple PBR (Policy Based Routing) script: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318662
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN server setup guide:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
MassimilianoG
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jan 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 17:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ho Alozaros,

I have done all your tips for setting up the router but with Automatic DHCP and IP address start from 192.168.2.2.
I will let you know.

Max
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum