TP-Link Archer C1900 v1 - can't flash DDWRT - error -5533

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
xoltrix2000
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2016
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 3:40    Post subject: TP-Link Archer C1900 v1 - can't flash DDWRT - error -5533 Reply with quote
Hello.

I'm new and having issue with flashing DDWRT.

I have the Archer C1900 v1 (3.18.0 Build 20160201 Rel.42677n, latest firmware for the CA version) and immediately get this error after attempting to upgrade "factory-to-ddwrt.bin":

Code:
Code:Error code: -5533
Error occurred, please try again.


I downloaded and tried from build r36247 all the way to r38155 for that router but still get this error.

I'm not sure what else to do.
Your help is appreciated.
Sponsor
xoltrix2000
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2016
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2019 5:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Anyone out there has had any luck with the C1900 yet? I would be very grateful if you have any solutions to getting the DDWRT on there. Current instructions on DDWRT site does not seem t work as stated above.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 5746
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2019 11:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Not sure if you need to downgrade the factory stock firmware or not, but the way I read this wiki, it seems to give you a starting point.

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/TP_Link_Archer_C9

https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2016/04-05-2016-r29409/tplink_archer-c1900/

_________________
Official Forum Rules
Official Forum Guidelines
New Moderators and Helpful information
RTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse.

---------------------------------------------------------
E4200 v1 DD-WRT 43290 mega K4.x
R7000P DD-WRT 40270M kongac
R9000 DD-WRT 43290 std
R7800 DD-WRT 43290 std
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2020.3
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2020.4.development
R7000 FreshTomato 2020.4.development
E4200 v1 1.0.07.development
WRT3200ACM OpenWRT 18.06.8
WRT54GSv3 HyperWRT 2.2.x.development
---------------------------------------------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
“Suitcase” v5: 4x (2x Intel® E5645) on Intel® S5500HV
“Suitcase” v1: 4xQuad P6pro-200 SL25A SMP Proliant 7000s
Cows
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Dec 2015
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2019 0:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
I purchased my C1900 v1 sometime during the last half of 2018 and it had the latest firmware from TP-link on it already so I don't think you should have to downgrade for it to work. I want to say I might have got it around September of 2018 so maybe try one of the September builds? I know you said you tried builds from 36247 all the way to r38155 so maybe this isn't to much help but I'm almost positive I got it in September of 2018 and I was just able to flash right from stock.

Edit: Just making sure but you are trying the builds for the C1900 not the C9 right? I'm sure you are probably downloading the correct one but I thought I would ask.

Double Edit: You said you're using a Canada model right? My model is a US version so maybe there are some differences. The firmware release dates are a few months apart so maybe if you could find an older firmware to downgrade to that would help. The US models firmware is from 10-06-2015 and the CA model is 02-01-2016.
74hc74
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Nov 2019
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2019 7:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just want to add I am having the same issue on a 2015 Archer c9 v1 3.17.1 Build 20180125 Rel.56387n

I have tried version mentioned in the wiki as well as other versions. I am going to try from factory default next but I'm not hopeful.

edit: old firmware worked. I could not roll back the official firmware because I would get the same error and had to google. There is a link on the bottom of this page to some internal debug firmware from tplink and you have to flash this firmware first before you can flash an older version.

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=282831&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=5533&start=1005


After flashing the older version I was able to successfully flash a ddwrt image (r29409)
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 5746
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2019 16:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
You should be able to upgrade from that one, then. I guess I didn't quite see or find that information, but good to know there is a working solution.
_________________
Official Forum Rules
Official Forum Guidelines
New Moderators and Helpful information
RTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse.

---------------------------------------------------------
E4200 v1 DD-WRT 43290 mega K4.x
R7000P DD-WRT 40270M kongac
R9000 DD-WRT 43290 std
R7800 DD-WRT 43290 std
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2020.3
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2020.4.development
R7000 FreshTomato 2020.4.development
E4200 v1 1.0.07.development
WRT3200ACM OpenWRT 18.06.8
WRT54GSv3 HyperWRT 2.2.x.development
---------------------------------------------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
“Suitcase” v5: 4x (2x Intel® E5645) on Intel® S5500HV
“Suitcase” v1: 4xQuad P6pro-200 SL25A SMP Proliant 7000s
xoltrix2000
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2016
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 6:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
74hc74 wrote:
There is a link on the bottom of this page to some internal debug firmware from tplink and you have to flash this firmware first before you can flash an older version.


I tried that firmware (the UN test firmware), it still gives me that error "-5533" via webui. I also tried to flash it via tftp, it uploads but nothing actually happens, it just boots up as the same firmware that I've always had.

kernel-panic69 wrote:
Not sure if you need to downgrade the factory stock firmware or not, but the way I read this wiki, it seems to give you a starting point.


Yep, also tried that, same error. It does not accept anything but the latest from TPLINK as if it was designed to block any custom firmware.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 5746
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 9:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
From recovery mode?
_________________
Official Forum Rules
Official Forum Guidelines
New Moderators and Helpful information
RTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse.

---------------------------------------------------------
E4200 v1 DD-WRT 43290 mega K4.x
R7000P DD-WRT 40270M kongac
R9000 DD-WRT 43290 std
R7800 DD-WRT 43290 std
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2020.3
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2020.4.development
R7000 FreshTomato 2020.4.development
E4200 v1 1.0.07.development
WRT3200ACM OpenWRT 18.06.8
WRT54GSv3 HyperWRT 2.2.x.development
---------------------------------------------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
“Suitcase” v5: 4x (2x Intel® E5645) on Intel® S5500HV
“Suitcase” v1: 4xQuad P6pro-200 SL25A SMP Proliant 7000s
xoltrix2000
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2016
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2020 2:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
From recovery mode?


You mean tftp? Yep, no matter which version, it still boots as the latest tplink version that was previously installed. It's like it ignores anything I upload.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum