TX Antenna / RX Antenna

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
clippy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2014
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2018 20:22    Post subject: TX Antenna / RX Antenna Reply with quote
wiki says "*The option may have disappeared in recent builds (>336XX)."

I've tried "r33555 big (10/20/17)" but the option to select TX/RX Antenna in advanced wireless is gone.
The router is Asus RT-N66U.

Please help.
Thanks.
Sponsor
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 1998
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2018 20:52    Post subject: Why Reply with quote
Why are you worrying about the setting? If it disappeared, it is probably already set to the correct default for your router. 1 + 2 + 3 for a N66U.

I wouldn't worry about it.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - bricked
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - WDS Station
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 - WDS Station (Entware 3X)
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
clippy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2014
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2018 21:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
I want to change the setting.
what does "1 + 2 + 3" mean?
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 1998
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2018 4:08    Post subject: Wiki Reply with quote
Read this page in the wiki: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Advanced_wireless_settings

1 + 2 + 3 means use all 3 antennas for Tx and Rx. If there is a selection box for Tx and Rx, then you can make that choice separately as well. As the option does not seem to be available in your router, don't worry about it.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - bricked
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - WDS Station
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 - WDS Station (Entware 3X)
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
clippy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2014
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2018 13:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
thanks. I still need to set it, so that given antenna is only used as Rx.
Is that even possible, hardware-vise, in my case?
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 1998
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2018 13:42    Post subject: TX - RX Antenna Reply with quote
It was in the past, it may not be now. I still don't understand your requirement of the setting. If you limit an antenna to Rx only then the max connection speed of the router becomes 300MB/s, not 450Mb/s.

You are much better off getting three identical antennas in this case. All of my routers in use have upgraded antennas (8-9dBi omni-directional).

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - bricked
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - WDS Station
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 - WDS Station (Entware 3X)
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
clippy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2014
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2018 20:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
well, this is a specific case, I am trying to establish a point-to-point link to a smartphone.
I've got a 24dBi antenna, but the regulation here is only 100mW.
speed is not so important, 10Mbit would be plenty.
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 1998
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2018 23:14    Post subject: TX - RX Antenna Reply with quote
The router should choose the best antenna automatically.
_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - bricked
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - WDS Station
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 - WDS Station (Entware 3X)
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
clippy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2014
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2018 16:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
umm, I tried some old firmware and it seems to be 'bricked' now.. Confused
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 1998
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2018 16:45    Post subject: Recovery Reply with quote
TFTP recovery is fairly easy: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/TFTP_flash

Or this: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Asus_RT-N66U#Upload_via_Recovery_Utility

I would stay away from anything older than 2018. There are even a few bad builds in 2018 to avoid.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - bricked
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - WDS Station
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 - WDS Station (Entware 3X)
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
clippy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2014
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2018 18:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
thanks.
I've managed to recover with tftp

It wouldn't enter recovery mode, so I used this advice:

"..What I had to do was hold the WPS button while adding power, then after all the lights blinked, quickly release the WPS and hold the reset"

from here:
https://hardforum.com/threads/rt-n66u-not-entering-recovery-mode-am-i-bricked.1769489/
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum