I need to replace my routers, this is driving me crasy

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Author Message
soloam
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Nov 2014
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2018 16:28    Post subject: I need to replace my routers, this is driving me crasy Reply with quote
Hello all, I have a Asus RT AC66U and a Asus RT AC68U. And I'm going nuts with DDWRT versions.

Don't get me wrong, I love DDWRT and all the hard work that is put in to it! I can't see my self without it.

So I spend hours and hours testing new versions of DDWRT in my routers, only to find out that they simply don't work. Most of them is a VAP problem. I just can't find a stable version that works with VAP and VLAN.

I found one, that works, but is to unstable... I get frequent drops in connections and I need to reboot my router.

So I made the decision to not find a version to my routers, but to sell them and get a model that works 100% with DDWRT.

So I ask!

What is the best compatible router that I can get to DDWRT? A router that recent version simply work, probably a router that @BrainSlayer or @<Kong> normaly testes on

As a specification, it should be AC, it should support DDWRT (lol) and it should work with VLAN and VAP (multiple SSID).

They will be used as Access Points to broadcast several SSID in different VLAN's.

Thank you all
Sponsor
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 2338
Location: London,UK

PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2018 19:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
R7000 is Broadcom and its similar to your Asus
vlans and vap last Kong builds there ware reports vap is working again but AC 5Ghz im not sure..
the other option is R7800 a better class but vlans are different to set up as its a qualcomm-atheros device
both supported by Kong

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv4 .......DD-WRT 33986 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 37908 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Forced DNS)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 37882 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Wi-Fi OFF)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2.......... Gargoyle OS 1.10 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 ------------DD-WRT 37900M 4.9 Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,DNSCrypt x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---------DD-WRT 37900M Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,Firewall,Forced DNS)
Others
Netgear ProSAFE-GS105Ev2 ....(LAN Switch)
SurprisedItWorks
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Aug 2018
Posts: 121
Location: Appalachian mountains, USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2018 19:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
On my linksys WRT1900ACSv2 (the V2 is generally what is sold now and is not labeled as such in the ads or on the box but only on the label on the bottom of the router), I run three VAPs and split my LAN into two VLANs. Note that you really don't want plain AC or ACv2 or ACSv1. Look for this one trouble-free linksys model or just flee linksys altogether.

Don't even consider the newer linksys WRT32blah models. They have wifi stability issues that drive people nuts, apparently due to proprietary drivers (see Marvell forum). I have had no wifi problems with my model (two routers) though other than two really old 802.11g devices that connect slowly and sometimes drop off. Have never had any issue with n and ac devices. For what's involved in setting up dd-wrt on these models, see the sticky at the beginning of the Marvell forum. It's pretty simple, and the two-partition setup lets you easily backtrack.

_________________
Running r37736 on a Linksys (Marvell) WRT1900ACSv2.

VLANs on the WRT1900ACSv2, WRT3200ACM, WRT1900ACv1, and other two-CPU Linksys routers with Marvell processors:
https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1091367
soloam
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Nov 2014
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 20:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
R7000 is Broadcom and its similar to your Asus
vlans and vap last Kong builds there ware reports vap is working again but AC 5Ghz im not sure..
the other option is R7800 a better class but vlans are different to set up as its a qualcomm-atheros device
both supported by Kong


Now you stated something that made me think... I set my vlans from the gui! I read that it was working 100%, can it be that the problem? should I be using the command line?


I'lç look into the models... I had a linksys in the past, and I had a lot of problems...

Thank you both...
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 2338
Location: London,UK

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 21:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
i've never tried R7000 vlans from GUI.. only via CLI and i believe this is the right way...
_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv4 .......DD-WRT 33986 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 37908 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Forced DNS)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 37882 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Wi-Fi OFF)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2.......... Gargoyle OS 1.10 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 ------------DD-WRT 37900M 4.9 Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,DNSCrypt x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---------DD-WRT 37900M Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,Firewall,Forced DNS)
Others
Netgear ProSAFE-GS105Ev2 ....(LAN Switch)
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1292
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 7:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
i've never tried R7000 vlans from GUI.. only via CLI and i believe this is the right way...


Ever since I've had R7000s (or any Broadcom) I've always used the GUI to configure VLANs without any issues.

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - Wired GigaBit Backbone
| SSH | DDNS | 6x DNSCrypt-Proxy | DHCP/Static IPs |
| Ad-Blocking | USB Storage - Scripts Only | 9x VLANs/BRs |
| WiFi 5x SSIDs | 2x OpenVPN-Clients | YAMon3 | Telus-IPv6 |
| ebtables | ip6tables | Multicast |

2x R7000 - KONGAC 37900M Release 2018-12-03

______________________
YAMon 3.0 | Ad-Blocking for DD-WRT
DDWRT 60-day Timeline/changelogs
Kong Builds | DD-WRT Beta Builds
CloneVince's copies of Kong's Arm Firmware
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum