Netgear R6400 v2 and R6700v3 Install Guide

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10 ... 13, 14, 15  Next
Author Message
darklotus54
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Oct 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 17:56    Post subject: Netgear R6400 v2 and R6700v3 Install Guide Reply with quote
So I wanted to just post something here for people that might be having issues, like I was. I got a R6400v2, used the Router Database, and followed the instructions on that page. Which point you to follow the same steps for the R6300. Which kinda sorta worked. I then had the trouble where the R6400v2 was recognized as a R6700P. And I didnt have 5g and other things. After multiple attempts and hours of trying to load firmware via GUI/TFTP (factory and dd-wrt). I was finally able to update from 36698 to 369xx.

It seemed to be one little thing that was in the install instructions but it was part of the first installation to get it working. Not to actually allow it to take another firmware. And that was telneting into the box and erasing the nvram. Once I did that and rebooted the box. It took the next firmware via GUI like a dream. Rebooted, recovered to show the proper model and all features were working.

I just wanted to make a reply so that any one else having the same kind of trouble might find this for help. It would also be helpful is the link in the Router database pointed here instead of to the R6300 install guide as that is wrong with the wrong firmware.

Thank you to those on here and your hard work.
Sponsor
@m0eb@
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Dec 2015
Posts: 269

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 18:47    Post subject: Re: Netgear R6400 v2 and R6700v3 Install Guide Reply with quote
darklotus54 wrote:
So I wanted to just post something here for people that might be having issues, like I was. I got a R6400v2, used the Router Database, and followed the instructions on that page. Which point you to follow the same steps for the R6300. Which kinda sorta worked. I then had the trouble where the R6400v2 was recognized as a R6700P. And I didnt have 5g and other things. After multiple attempts and hours of trying to load firmware via GUI/TFTP (factory and dd-wrt). I was finally able to update from 36698 to 369xx.

It seemed to be one little thing that was in the install instructions but it was part of the first installation to get it working. Not to actually allow it to take another firmware. And that was telneting into the box and erasing the nvram. Once I did that and rebooted the box. It took the next firmware via GUI like a dream. Rebooted, recovered to show the proper model and all features were working.

I just wanted to make a reply so that any one else having the same kind of trouble might find this for help. It would also be helpful is the link in the Router database pointed here instead of to the R6300 install guide as that is wrong with the wrong firmware.

Thank you to those on here and your hard work.


Whattadiscovery ... Welcome to dd-wrt.
Do please read the posts first. It helps !!
Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
PROFESSIONAL STUDENT
my.Mistakes my.Learning ... provided I have the patience & persistence to learn
nolimitz
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 493

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 12:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
anyone bought R6700 from Amazon recently and got R6700v3? i want to order but dont want to get the V2.
asiajason
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Sep 2010
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2018 15:47    Post subject: no 5g Reply with quote
I have just updated R6400V2 stock to Kong's 9/23/18 build and mostly ok. I don't see 5G wireless though.

I read in one of the threads about loading BS's version then going back to stock, and not clearing nvram, and reupdating to Kong's and getting the 5G back. But can't find it...

Any fix for this?
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3988
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2018 16:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
How is your router identified (Status page/Router model)

What is your board id

You are coming from stock, what version?

Did you load any other firmware before?

Did you 'erase nvram'

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
asiajason
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Sep 2010
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 13:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
How is your router identified (Status page/Router model)

What is your board id

You are coming from stock, what version?

Did you load any other firmware before?

Did you 'erase nvram'


Thanks ecg - I started from scratch again, and now it's working.
f8178893
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Oct 2018
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 21:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am still trying to get ANYTHING to flash on my r6400. Apparently I flashed the wrong version? (v1 instead of v2). I tried coming back from kongmod as it hadn't been updated in a while and a bunch of security flaws were present...

I keep on getting an error saying (even official) firmware are incorrect. I downloaded all the old ones I could find, all the ones from here I could find and I am still stuck on a version back from years ago. Ive been trying to wait, over a week now, and nothing.
f8178893
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Oct 2018
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 21:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
You have flashed with a R6400v1 version from prior to the R6400v2.
Start by trying to flash aR6400v2 version 1.0.1.52
I am still looking for help please.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3988
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 7:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Use serial cable to flash
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
f8178893
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Oct 2018
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 15:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
Use serial cable to flash
I tried that (usb to serial). Can never get an answer from the device even though I can ping and connect to it.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7212
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 16:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
f8178893 wrote:
egc wrote:
Use serial cable to flash
I tried that (usb to serial). Can never get an answer from the device even though I can ping and connect to it.


Then chances are your setup is wrong. When you touch the rx and tx cables together do you see your keystrokes echoed in putty?

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
nolimitz
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 493

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 18:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
nolimitz wrote:
anyone bought R6700 from Amazon recently and got R6700v3? i want to order but dont want to get the V2.

Just received my order and the box says R6700V2 under package contents! Opened the box to find the device label saying V2 as well. I shipped this overseas so it will be difficult to return.
Bad luck!
nolimitz
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 493

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 19:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Why is it that BS has one file to flash for the 6400v2 while Kong has two?

Does it matter if i flash one of Kong’s file and if it doesnt go through i flash the other?
buddee
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 7401
Location: Little Rock

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2018 0:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
nolimitz wrote:
Why is it that BS has one file to flash for the 6400v2 while Kong has two?

Does it matter if i flash one of Kong’s file and if it doesnt go through i flash the other?


Do you already have dd-wrt on the r6400v2? If so, you only need dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_STD_128K.bin to upgrade the r6400v2, if its the initial flash, you'll need to use the appropriate .chk file for that unit.
robrogan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Nov 2018
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2018 3:58    Post subject: The most basic of questions Reply with quote
Okay, so to be honest I have read the wiki and some of the forums.

I've been so careful to read info before doing anything to my router, that I have come to the point where I wonder why or if I need DD-WRT. I assumed it was a requirement to set up a VPN Router.

I just now got around to clicking through my default GUI on the Netgear R6400v2 and I see it already has a VPN option.

I'm probably missing a key point here, but can someone plainly confirm if I do or do not need to go through DD-WRT process just to configure my router with VPN?

Thanks - sorry for the basic question, but I thought it had to be asked Smile



Screen Shot 2018-11-27 at 10.00.21 PM.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  173.42 KB
 Viewed:  1480 Time(s)

Screen Shot 2018-11-27 at 10.00.21 PM.png




Last edited by robrogan on Wed Nov 28, 2018 4:49; edited 1 time in total
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10 ... 13, 14, 15  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 9 of 15
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum