Netgear WNDR4500 "Waiting for reset button release"

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Hardware DIY / Hardware Mods
Author Message
seba22
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Oct 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 17:53    Post subject: Netgear WNDR4500 "Waiting for reset button release" Reply with quote
Hello,
I have Netgear WNDR4500 and i'm trying to fix it.
I connected to serial monitor and i have read output

Code:


  Decompressing...done


CFE for WNDR4500 version: v1.0.3
Build Date: Thu Jul 21 19:28:03 CST 2011
Init Arena
Init Devs.
Boot partition size = 262144(0x40000)
Found an ST compatible serial flash with 32 64KB blocks; total size 2MB
Found a Samsung NAND flash with 2048B pages or 128KB blocks; total size 128MB
et0: Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet Controller 5.100.138
CPU type 0x19749: 600MHz
Tot mem: 131072 KBytes

Device eth0:  hwaddr 4C-60-DE-2A-2C-9B, ipaddr 192.168.1.1, mask 255.255.255.0
        gateway not set, nameserver not set
load default!
Decompressing...done


CFE for WNDR4500 version: v1.0.3
Build Date: Thu Jul 21 19:28:03 CST 2011
Init Arena
Init Devs.
Boot partition size = 262144(0x40000)
Found an ST compatible serial flash with 32 64KB blocks; total size 2MB
Found a Samsung NAND flash with 2048B pages or 128KB blocks; total size 128MB
et0: Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet Controller 5.100.138
CPU type 0x19749: 600MHz
Tot mem: 131072 KBytes

Committing NVRAM...done
Waiting for reset button release...


I first go and de-solder hardware tactile switch button, but error is still the same.

I checked button, and it's normally open and when pressed it's shorting.

On unplugged router, i connected ohm meter to terminals of reset button and it read 0ohms.

Something is look shorted all time or is that 0ohm normal?

Is there something i could do?

Regards
Sponsor
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 6907
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 19:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Forget about it. I was in the same boat years ago. Just get a new router.
Google “wndr4500 waiting for reset button release” and you’ll see what I mean.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
seba22
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Oct 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
Forget about it. I was in the same boat years ago. Just get a new router.
Google “wndr4500 waiting for reset button release” and you’ll see what I mean.


Thank You but it does not help me out,
Question is what is failed.

When Your car won't turn on, You don't throw it away and buy new one.

If i know that faulty is CPU i could replace it ->

]

The problem is i don't know is this a hardware fault or software, it will be stupid to replace BGA CPU if this is caused by firmware.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 6907
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Did you google what I suggested? It would tell you what is wrong.
Your car analogy is not valid here. You are talking about a router you can buy used for $10 if you looked for it. Not worth the hassle.

I just tried googling it but can’t find the post. It was years ago. I found a Chinese site where a user narrowed it down to a tiny resister. So small it was hard to see.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Hardware DIY / Hardware Mods All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum