netgear r7800 with kong r37120 connectivity and update issue

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
ddwrtute
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 1:59    Post subject: netgear r7800 with kong r37120 connectivity and update issue Reply with quote
Hi Everyone,

Just purchased a r7800 and flashed DD-WRT 4.9 v3.0-r37120M kongat (10/03/1Cool without problems.

However, I have had intermittent but almost daily connection drops (losing IP?)..sometimes just with ethernet connections (wifi still connected). This morning however both wired and wifi had dropped - instantly back up after loggin into GUI and "applying settings" but not changing anything otherwise.

In an attempt to blindly remedy this I have been trying to "downgrade" to a 3.15 firmware version (through GUI), without success.

http://desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-IPQ806X/

Resetting via button on back of router. After clicking "upgrade" on GUI, browser (chrome, Mac OS high sierra) sticks at 4% and does nothing after GUI countdown ends.

I know I'm a newb...any help, direction greatly appreciated! Thanks
Sponsor
vit5421
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Posts: 396

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 2:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
4.9 kernel is still not very stable so try downgrade to 3.18 test using different browser like IE or Edge.
_________________
Netgear R7800
htismaqe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 372

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 4:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
The 4.9 kernel builds are not unstable. I'm currently at 10 days uptime on r37015.

That being said, if you're using QoS, you'll likely get better performance from one of the 3.18 builds. Otherwise, the 4.9 builds are fine.

OP's problem sounds like something else.

_________________
Routing:.......Netgear R7800 (DD-WRT v3.0-r37945M kongat)
Switching:....Netgear GS608_V3 & Netgear GS605_V4
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 2351
Location: London,UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 5:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
htismaqe wrote:
The 4.9 kernel builds are not unstable. I'm currently at 10 days uptime on r37015.

That being said, if you're using QoS, you'll likely get better performance from one of the 3.18 builds. Otherwise, the 4.9 builds are fine.

OP's problem sounds like something else.


it strictly depends from its use 4.9 builds could be fine if you use it with basic settings, in my case it didn't lasted even a flash, had to erase nvram manually rebuild and it was
not stable at all currently im on 3.18 and its a rock solid.. http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-IPQ806X/Test-3.18/ddwrt-netgear-R7800.bin

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv4 --------DD-WRT 33986 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 37932 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Forced DNS)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 37882 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Wi-Fi OFF)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2.......... Gargoyle OS 1.10 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 ------------DD-WRT 37900M 4.9 Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,DNSCrypt x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---------DD-WRT 37900M Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,Firewall,Forced DNS)
Others
Netgear ProSAFE-GS105Ev2 ----(LAN Switch)
stalonge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1810
Location: Fortaleza Ce Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
My 2 r7800 are rock solid with k4.9 ... my settings are not basic


Webserver
Samba
USB HD
openvpn server
port forwards
static ip
Wifi with vap and other network
WAP
ipv6
Dyndns
Qos ( htb + fq_codel )


All working fine

Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
DDwrt ...it rocks ....
1 R8500 37900 Kac CB & webserver Pydio
1 R7800 37945 AP VPN webserver JFFS & SAMBA FTP & usb HD
1 R7800 37945 WAP wifi client
1 R7000 37015 AP & webserver JFFS
1 WZR1750 37015 Kac YAMon
1 TL WR841NDv8 37442 Client Bridge
1 DDx86 Vmware 37442
1 E3000 37442 K3 @500
1 E2000 37305 K3 WAP Wifi Client bridge
vit5421
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Posts: 396

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 14:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
I lost my wifi and internet connection on 4.9 every day and router have to be restarted and Kong complain about similar problem. It newer happened on 3.18, you are lucky if 4.9 is rock solid.
_________________
Netgear R7800
stalonge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1810
Location: Fortaleza Ce Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 14:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
vit5421 wrote:
I lost my wifi and internet connection on 4.9 every day and router have to be restarted and Kong complain about similar problem. It newer happened on 3.18, you are lucky if 4.9 is rock solid.


Did you clear nvram it ?


Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
DDwrt ...it rocks ....
1 R8500 37900 Kac CB & webserver Pydio
1 R7800 37945 AP VPN webserver JFFS & SAMBA FTP & usb HD
1 R7800 37945 WAP wifi client
1 R7000 37015 AP & webserver JFFS
1 WZR1750 37015 Kac YAMon
1 TL WR841NDv8 37442 Client Bridge
1 DDx86 Vmware 37442
1 E3000 37442 K3 @500
1 E2000 37305 K3 WAP Wifi Client bridge
vit5421
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Posts: 396

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 14:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sure and manually restore the settings. It happens two times during two days with no SFE or QoS.
Works great now on 3.18 as usual

_________________
Netgear R7800
stalonge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1810
Location: Fortaleza Ce Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 14:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
vit5421 wrote:
Sure and manually restore the settings. It happens two times during two days with no SFE or QoS.
Works great now on 3.18 as usual


Here is cable .. i didnt notice anything for days .. my luck

Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
DDwrt ...it rocks ....
1 R8500 37900 Kac CB & webserver Pydio
1 R7800 37945 AP VPN webserver JFFS & SAMBA FTP & usb HD
1 R7800 37945 WAP wifi client
1 R7000 37015 AP & webserver JFFS
1 WZR1750 37015 Kac YAMon
1 TL WR841NDv8 37442 Client Bridge
1 DDx86 Vmware 37442
1 E3000 37442 K3 @500
1 E2000 37305 K3 WAP Wifi Client bridge
htismaqe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 372

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 16:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
As I said, I was on r37015 for 10 days with no issues. I upgraded to r37020 last night while nobody was home so jury is still out there but so far, I've had no issues with 4.9 kernel.

For my config, I have ethernet internet, so no modem. No QoS, custom iptables/guest network bridging config. I use YAMon but nothing else custom.

I originally configured my router on r36175. Upgraded with no reset as follows:

r36715 --> r36375 --> r37015 --> r37020

Never had any troubles at all.

_________________
Routing:.......Netgear R7800 (DD-WRT v3.0-r37945M kongat)
Switching:....Netgear GS608_V3 & Netgear GS605_V4
dotcomcoolie-free
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jul 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 16:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
On my R7800 with r37020, my Amazon Echo Dot would lose its WiFi connection every 4-5 days. The rest of the WiFi devices and Ethernet devices remained connected. I am using QoS (HTB, FQ_CODEL) and NAS

The only way to get the Echo Dot reconnected was to reboot the router with the router power on/off button. I tried the reboot from the GUI but that didn't work.

I'm now back to r37015 since I didn't have this problem with it.
ddwrtute
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 23:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks vit5421 -- had not thought of trying upgrading firmware on the PC. Worked without issues.

Now running DD-WRT v3.0-r34900M (02/14/18) and so far so good. Not sure I had to go back that far but wanted to make sure stable.

I do have pretty basic settings (don't understand a large percentage of what is discussed on this forum! )

I do use QoS and OpenDNS and DNSMasq to force google safesearch. Not much else, so what I'm really interested in is a stable connection so I don't hear anything about "the wifi" from my kids!

Thanks for the help and input from all.
ddwrtute
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 7:33    Post subject: Update on r7800 internet drops Reply with quote
I was able to revert to 3.18 but problems with internet drops persisted.
Went back to factory Netgear firmware with no improvement. So, assumed a hardware issue and Amazon replaced with a new r7800.

Initially (about a week) with new r7800 and after updating to current Netgear firmware I had zero issues. Currently, after flashing with 3.18 r37495M kongat, I'm having continued similar issues with wired ethernet internet drops. Wireless has been stable. Occurs on both wired iMac and Roku devices and isn't fixed with reboot of the device(s) but does regain internet with reboot of the router through GUI. Prior to router reoboot, I can't access ddwrt GUI via wired connection but can via wireless....fixed with reboot.

I'm at a loss. Considering reverting back to factory permanently or potentialy trying a "standard" or brainslayer build.

Again, any thoughts greatly appreciated.
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 4430
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 8:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Do a SWCONFIG DEV SWITCH0 SHOW from ssh/telnet

Compare the output when it's working and when it's not.

Are everything connected directly to the router or is there a switch between?
ddwrtute
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 17:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks. Computer is connected directly. Roku and a DVR share a connection via ethernet switch. I could get by not using the switch if useful for problem solving...

After figuring out how to ssh into the router, here is what <swconfig dev switch0 show> shows (ethernet connections currently working).

root@DD-WRT:~# swconfig dev switch0 show
Global attributes:
enable_vlan: 0
enable_mirror_rx: 0
enable_mirror_tx: 0
mirror_monitor_port: 0
mirror_source_port: 0
arl_age_time: 300
arl_table: ???
igmp_snooping: 0
igmp_v3: 0
Port 0:
mib: ???
enable_eee: ???
igmp_snooping: 0
vlan_prio: 0
pvid: 2
link: port:0 link:up speed:1000baseT full-duplex
Port 1:
mib: ???
enable_eee: 0
igmp_snooping: 0
vlan_prio: 0
pvid: 1
link: port:1 link:up speed:1000baseT full-duplex txflow rxflow auto
Port 2:
mib: ???
enable_eee: 0
igmp_snooping: 0
vlan_prio: 0
pvid: 1
link: port:2 link:up speed:1000baseT full-duplex txflow rxflow auto
Port 3:
mib: ???
enable_eee: 0
igmp_snooping: 0
vlan_prio: 0
pvid: 1
link: port:3 link:up speed:100baseT full-duplex txflow rxflow auto
Port 4:
mib: ???
enable_eee: 0
igmp_snooping: 0
vlan_prio: 0
pvid: 1
link: port:4 link:up speed:1000baseT full-duplex txflow rxflow auto
Port 5:
mib: ???
enable_eee: 0
igmp_snooping: 0
vlan_prio: 0
pvid: 2
link: port:5 link:up speed:1000baseT full-duplex txflow rxflow auto
Port 6:
mib: ???
enable_eee: ???
igmp_snooping: 0
vlan_prio: 0
pvid: 1
link: port:6 link:up speed:1000baseT full-duplex
VLAN 1:
vid: 1
ports: 1 2 3 4 6
VLAN 2:
vid: 2
ports: 0 5


I'm a noob and have very little insight to what the above means. Any insight appreciated! I can post <swconfig dev switch0 show> when ethernet goes down again. probably wont be long!
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum