New (BS) Build - 07/29/2018 - r36410

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Author Message
pitbull2220
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Aug 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 21:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router Model: Netgear R8500
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r36410 std (07/28/18)
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r35030 std (02/19/18)
Kernel: Linux 4.4.144 #3596 SMP Sat Jul 28 07:59:16 CEST 2018 armv7l
Status: Working. Both 5G are showing 650-866 mbps cabability, 2.4 only 72. Tried multiple settings, some would give higher speeds but not stable (devices would disconnect) current settings 72mbps stable (VHT40). Previous build had 144 stable.Changing some settings (preamble to short, shortslot overdrive:short, channel to 6-best channel for me and VHT40) would get to 144mbps but it would fluctuate very often down to 11mbps. Wouldn't be a big deal except I have 4 1st generation PS4s and due to their locations must be connected wirelessly.So far so good as not all my kids get on at once. Will see what happens when they all do. Note Amazon Devices could not see Wl2 5G-2 as it is set to channel 64. Wl0 is on channel 161. No issues with either radio (both set to VHT80).
Reset: No
Errors: None thus far, will report any I may find.
Sponsor
slice1900
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 22:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
quarkysg wrote:
I think I may have identified the issue causing the vif issue. I've submitted the ticket below:
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6395
Fyi, I pointed out this ticket to BS, he replied:
"but its correct. its no typo. its a fix. this special algorithm has to be identical with the algorithm used in the wireless driver. since newer chipsets are using the dhd firmware blobs

the driver is fixed in these firmware. so i had to adjust the algorithm to be identical on all devices and drivers
"

He didn't address the multiple wireless interfaces configure comment.



So then shouldn't vendor firmware have the same issue? Or is the "dhd blogs" he refers to something only open source firmware used, and vendors use different drivers for their closed source firmware??
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 1998
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2018 0:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
slice1900 wrote:
So then shouldn't vendor firmware have the same issue? Or is the "dhd blogs" he refers to something only open source firmware used, and vendors use different drivers for their closed source firmware??
The vendor provides the driver; as it is closed-source (binary, a 'blob') BS integrated it and updates his code to accommodate. He's saying the reason it changed from using 'i' (as an iterator) to '1' (as an offset) is due to that changing in the (provided) driver.
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: Builds, Types, Modes, Changelog, Peacock, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 18.7.5|EA6900v1.1 Xwrt 380.70|DD r37305: WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353, R6300v1,
2*E2500, WRT54*@250: GLv1.1 nsg, GSv6 µ
|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.70|OEM: WGR614v10@400-WNR1000v3 mod
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 499
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2018 2:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
quarkysg wrote:
I think I may have identified the issue causing the vif issue. I've submitted the ticket below:
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6395
Fyi, I pointed out this ticket to BS, he replied:
"but its correct. its no typo. its a fix. this special algorithm has to be identical with the algorithm used in the wireless driver. since newer chipsets are using the dhd firmware blobs

the driver is fixed in these firmware. so i had to adjust the algorithm to be identical on all devices and drivers
"

He didn't address the multiple wireless interfaces configure comment.


The serial boot logs since my fun of de-bricking just make me cringe. That being said, I'm trying to decide exactly how far back to roll to in search of both radios working as APs simultaneously. I mean, I *could* go with using the 2.4 band as a wireless client and test that, perhaps.

EDIT: I'll have to re-check simultaneous radio access again, but some of the strange behavior that was going on seems to have stabilized. I switched over from the FreshTomato 5GHz AP to the DD-WRT 5GHz AP a few hours ago and it hasn't broken yet. It wouldn't surprise me if it was related to all of the multiple instances of configuring interfaces, invalid arguments, and otherwise in bringing up the network.
rweier
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Aug 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 2:04    Post subject: Re: New (BS) Build - 07/29/2018 - r36410 Reply with quote
Router Model: ASUS RT-N16
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r36410 std (07/28/1Cool
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r36078
Kernel: Linux 3.10.108-d4 #20244 Sat Jul 28 12:45:04 CEST 2018 mips
Status: Wired Access Points. 1 RT-N16 Host and 2 RT-N16 clients
Reset: No
Errors: None so far, up 7 days.
lenny88
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Apr 2017
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router Model: Buffalo wzr-1750dhp


Errors: no VAP connections
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 499
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 15:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
quarkysg wrote:
Can someone running this build telnet/ssh into the router and see if the ‘lsmod’ command is working properly? My custom build from the same SVN repo is showing only 1 line output, which is wrong. If I use an older build busybox binary on my later build, it’s working normally.


Check your inbox. I think I may have stumbled upon something as to what broke.
tangofan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jun 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 19:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: Linksys EA6500 v1
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r36410 giga
Kernel: (Sorry, don't remember, whatever Kernel this came with out of the box)
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r36079 giga
Setup: Factory Setup as Router & AP (with root user renamed to "admin" and new password)
Reset: Yes, both soft reset upon flashing as well as via router reset button after successful flash
Issues/Errors: Wireless Virtual Interface does not work at all !! Had to revert to previous build, where it at least works intermittendly.

Note: After factory reset and reboot, I added a virtual interface on the 2.4 GHz network with default options (bridged), applied settings, rebooted router, via web interface and then for good measure power-cycled router. I then double-checked that the virtual interface was mapped to br0.

When trying to connect to virtual WLAN interface, it never succeeded. Sometimes the attempt was stuck at connecting, other times it connected, but it did not receive and IP address from the DHCP server of the router. In the latter case, the router's monitoring page would show that it had issued an IP address, but the client did not receive it properly. (Tested with 2 Android 8.1 clients, as well as a Windows 10 client).
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 499
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 20:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
@tangofan, you may want to try the latest build...

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316216
jipjip
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Apr 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 20:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router Model: Linksys E900
Firmware: dd-wrt.v24-36410_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e900.bin
Status: Basic setup working. WPA2 access point. DHCP server.
Reset: Yes
Errors: So far no obvious problems. Did encounter a not so obvious WiFi issue. Communication via WiFi stops working occasionally, but the connection doesn't drop completely. The WiFi client (MacBook) stays connected to the access point and has 192.168.1.109 assigned as ip address (according to network preferences in MacOS). But the MacBook can't ping anything. Not even the router ip address at 192.168.1.1. This problem lasts for some minutes, or I can fix it by manually clicking the "Renew DHCP lease" button on my MacBook. Then I can ping the router again and also connect to the internet. After pressing the button the ip address remains 192.168.1.109.

Happend about 5 times (that I noticed) in two days. Didn't happen on stock firmware.
BR07H3R
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Dec 2017
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 23:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router Model:Linksys WRT610N V2
Firmware:DD-WRT.v24-36410_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega.bin
Previous:DD-WRT.v24-35531_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega.bin
Kernel:Linux 3.10.108-d4 #20244 Sat Jul 28 12:45:04 CEST 2018 mips
*
**Status:Gateway 2 local ap's
wl0 and wl1 using same SSID'S**
1 DHCP Server
*Netgear crap router with no krack patch for iot devices/plugged lan to wan
Alternate DHCP and SSID
net isolation
*1 WRT300N V1.1 Repeater
Alternate DHCP Server
Broadcasting same main SSID
Reset:No
Errors:None

*Overclocked to 533 MHz* (Very reliable)
*DNSSEC VIA CLOUDFLARE IPV6+IPV4 SERVERS*
*SFE Enabled*

**This test was on wl1 from across the house.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Display posts from previous:    Page 6 of 6
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum