Firmware not flashing?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
razercortex
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2018
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 23:07    Post subject: Firmware not flashing? Reply with quote
Hello,

I've recently flashed dd-wrt.v24-36410_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-WNDR4000.chk. After the flash, the webpage disconnects and the router blinks green and amber. The router is a Netgear WNDR4000. A reboot only resets the router to the exact same firmware. A TFTP flash doesn't work because it can't connect.



Recording_20180730_1857.zip
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  Recording_20180730_1857.zip
 Filesize:  324.82 KB
 Downloaded:  37 Time(s)

Sponsor
teclis22
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 272

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 13:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alright,

it helps to get a bit more info on this matter

router is the netgear wndr4000

you uploaded the 1st file to Flash dd-wrt mini with that chk ending.

then you try to Flash mega and that does not work, rebooting the unit brings you back to the mini Version

do i understand that correctly ?

please describe in Detail what your -entire- process was and how your Setup Looks like when you are flashing

_________________
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in AP
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in WDS (not working atm)
1x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in Wireless Client-Bridge (not working atm)
1x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in Reserve (still looking for that on ebay)

all units running DD-WRT v3.0-r44187 std
razercortex
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2018
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 20:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes,

This is exactly what is going on.

The files in the attachment show pictures of this.

First, I navigated to the Netgear admin panel. Then, I select router update and provide the dd-wrt .chk file. It promps me that the dd-wrt file is older than the current firmware version and if I still want to flash the dd-wrt file. I press yes and then it starts flashing. I then reboot the router and reset it and then I am greeted with dd-wrt saying I must change the username and password. I open up dd-wrt's firmware upgrade section and select the mega .chk instead of the mini. I press submit and a couple seconds later the webpage turns into an error saying that it couldn't establish a connection.
razercortex
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2018
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 21:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
The recordings can be downloaded at http://www.mediafire.com/file/lqkuz45al4fahce/2018-08-01_17-14-24.wma/file and http://www.mediafire.com/file/u699o7437wwo692/2018-08-01_17-08-25.wma/file. The top link is with Don't reset and the second is with reset firmware upgrade.
flyzipper
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Feb 2016
Posts: 504

PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2018 2:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
FWIW I had the same issue on my R7000 and reported the behaviour in the r36410 build thread.
razercortex
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2018
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2018 12:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the suggestion.
teclis22
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 272

PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2018 12:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
I cant Play the files on this machine.

My question was aiming towards things like These:

did you hardrest ? when ?
did you power cycle ? when? did you wait Long enough?
are you flashing via cable?
static ip set ?
Firewall/antivirus disabled?
are you using a Switch in between your machine and the router to Keep the ports up ?

did you try other Firmware Versions ?
what is the recommended build for your router?

it is immensly helpfull when you post textual descriptions of the Situation and use graphics to illustrate, not use graphics on their own.

i am sure a lot more People here might be able to help you but dont understand the complete Situation.

my 2 cp

best regards

tec

_________________
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in AP
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in WDS (not working atm)
1x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in Wireless Client-Bridge (not working atm)
1x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in Reserve (still looking for that on ebay)

all units running DD-WRT v3.0-r44187 std
razercortex
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2018
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2018 12:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes BEFORE AND AFTER FLASHING
Yes I waited up to a minute after the failed flash
Yes
Yes
Yes
? What switch?
BTW the files can be played with vlc media player.
Can't flash any other firmware versions because the router firmware upgrade page is broken.
The recommended right now is v3.0 beta build 36410
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 10200
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2018 2:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
You don't need a hub or switch in between router and computer that I've ever heard of. One minute is not long enough to wait, I think? Should probably give it 5 minutes just to be safe. If you're saying 'recommended build' per router database, don't. Somehow the update to the database is still giving incorrect information IMHO.
razercortex
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2018
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2018 20:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hmm,

Looks like not even 5 minutes after waiting the router is on the EXACT SAME FIRMWARE after flashing the upgrade.
Not too long after the power led flashes green and amber.

Also, does anyone know the TFTP password? Because I tried using the following passwords: password,admin,"The password I set for the router"
razercortex
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2018
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2018 21:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
I got it.

Flashed the trailed nv64k build in .bin format
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 10200
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2018 2:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, I guess I didn't think to ask if you were already on DD-WRT. The .chk files are usually only for initial install, .bin are for upgrading. Mystery solved, I guess.
razercortex
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2018
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2018 22:21    Post subject: Help creating repeater bridge Reply with quote
Now I need help creating a WiFi repeater bridge. I've already tried the wiki to no avail.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum