WRT3200ACM??

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 197, 198, 199
Author Message
gufus
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2012
Posts: 612
Location: behind the screen

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 20:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
myersw wrote:
cybrnook wrote:
Are you two being paid every time you mention Asus or Netgear routers? Smile Seem to do it in every post lately, pointing out the issues you had with the WRT series and how they are garbage.


Not I, just speaking the truth based on my experiences. YMMV.

What I do know is when I was using the wrt3200acm running dd-wrt I had stability issues. Gave up on Belkin/Linksys/Marvell ever getting a good driver, which I guess they have moved closer to lately, and got a Netgear r8000p. It ran circles around the wrt3200acm in my simple iperf test, but the firmware from a stability standpoint was crap. Therefore the move to Asus rt-ac86u. For me with Merlin firmware the ac86u just runs. No issues and no need to reboot except for firmware update. Have a wrt1900acs v1 should you want it. Already unloaded the wrt3200acm.

As was stated YMMV. No router fits all circumstances. I have both 2.4 and 5 gig channels close by. Also the house I am in is wet plaster with metal lath, not the most desirable of building materials from a wireless standpoint.

--bill


IMHO

I think the Asus rt-ac86u is ugly looking. Smile

BTY, All my WRT's work fine here. Not prefect (but what is)

_________________
WRT3200ACM openwrt 18.06.5
WRT3200ACM dd-wrt r41791
WRT54GL dd-wrt r21676
Sponsor
myersw
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 1609
Location: SE Michigan USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 14:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
[quote="gufus"IMHO

I think the Asus rt-ac86u is ugly looking. Smile

BTY, All my WRT's work fine here. Not prefect (but what is)[/quote]

Agree with you on looks, but looks are only skin deep. Under the skin (cover) is a great running router with RMerlin firmware. It has been awhile since I ran any WRT so cannot comment on current state and have sent mine on to new homes. Currently running the r7800 with LEDE. Runs well, better then OEM.

--bill

_________________
Unifi Security Gateway: Unifi Firmware
Netgear r7800: Voxel Firmware
Modem:Netgear CM500V voice and Data.
ISP:Comcast
tutorial for flashing "WRT" series:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=287813
DD-WRT Installation, Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117
Kong DD-WRT Config Tutorial:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Install-and-Configure-a-DD-WRT-Kong-Router/
I tried to be normal once. Worst 2 minutes ever.
gufus
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2012
Posts: 612
Location: behind the screen

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 19:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
myersw wrote:
[quote="gufus"IMHO

I think the Asus rt-ac86u is ugly looking. Smile

BTY, All my WRT's work fine here. Not prefect (but what is)


Agree with you on looks, but looks are only skin deep. Under the skin (cover) is a great running router with RMerlin firmware. It has been awhile since I ran any WRT so cannot comment on current state and have sent mine on to new homes. Currently running the r7800 with LEDE. Runs well, better then OEM.

--bill[/quote]

Did u knower Merlin is just openwrt/lede code. Merlin uses the same source code.

_________________
WRT3200ACM openwrt 18.06.5
WRT3200ACM dd-wrt r41791
WRT54GL dd-wrt r21676
myersw
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 1609
Location: SE Michigan USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 21:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
gufus wrote:
Did u knower Merlin is just openwrt/lede code. Merlin uses the same source code.


Yes common knowledge that Eric uses the same source code. Does do a few fixes/tweaks that seem to make it run better then the OEM IMHO.

The Netgear R7800 is running Hynman LEDE and that is rock solid as well. No OEM source code there. Wink

Know you love the WRT's but I had a totally different experience, followed from the original WRT1900AC V1 to WRT1900ACS V1 to the WRT3200ACM. All were less then steller performers. Fell in love with the retro looks. I guess that the drivers have gotten better now, but have moved on with getting rid of the WRT1900ACS and WRT3200. Both the ac86u and r7800 beat the iperf figures I have for the wrt3200 for 5 gig wireless throughput.
--bill

_________________
Unifi Security Gateway: Unifi Firmware
Netgear r7800: Voxel Firmware
Modem:Netgear CM500V voice and Data.
ISP:Comcast
tutorial for flashing "WRT" series:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=287813
DD-WRT Installation, Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117
Kong DD-WRT Config Tutorial:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Install-and-Configure-a-DD-WRT-Kong-Router/
I tried to be normal once. Worst 2 minutes ever.
gufus
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2012
Posts: 612
Location: behind the screen

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 22:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
myersw wrote:
gufus wrote:
Did u knower Merlin is just openwrt/lede code. Merlin uses the same source code.


Yes common knowledge that Eric uses the same source code. Does do a few fixes/tweaks that seem to make it run better then the OEM IMHO.

The Netgear R7800 is running Hynman LEDE and that is rock solid as well. No OEM source code there. Wink

Know you love the WRT's but I had a totally different experience, followed from the original WRT1900AC V1 to WRT1900ACS V1 to the WRT3200ACM. All were less then steller performers. Fell in love with the retro looks. I guess that the drivers have gotten better now, but have moved on with getting rid of the WRT1900ACS and WRT3200. Both the ac86u and r7800 beat the iperf figures I have for the wrt3200 for 5 gig wireless throughput.
--bill


4 5g wifi I'll bet the ac86u and r7800 are better than the wrt(s).

But for me, I don't use wifi that much anymore, both my home and office use CAT5 wire now. Smile

I'll have 2 3200(s) using VHT160 and WDS when I get around to it. That setup costed me $100 bucks.. No BIG DEAL!

_________________
WRT3200ACM openwrt 18.06.5
WRT3200ACM dd-wrt r41791
WRT54GL dd-wrt r21676
savagepagan
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Apr 2010
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2018 21:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
myersw wrote:
gufus wrote:
Did u knower Merlin is just openwrt/lede code. Merlin uses the same source code.


Yes common knowledge that Eric uses the same source code. Does do a few fixes/tweaks that seem to make it run better then the OEM IMHO.

The Netgear R7800 is running Hynman LEDE and that is rock solid as well. No OEM source code there. Wink

Know you love the WRT's but I had a totally different experience, followed from the original WRT1900AC V1 to WRT1900ACS V1 to the WRT3200ACM. All were less then steller performers. Fell in love with the retro looks. I guess that the drivers have gotten better now, but have moved on with getting rid of the WRT1900ACS and WRT3200. Both the ac86u and r7800 beat the iperf figures I have for the wrt3200 for 5 gig wireless throughput.
--bill


Did you ever try LEDE on the wrt3200acm? I'm considering it.
myersw
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 1609
Location: SE Michigan USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2018 21:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes I ran davidc502's LEDE builds on the wrt3200. Ran very well. At the time he had the same issues of drivers that dd-wrt had. Think things are better now. Been a few months as I moved on the Netgear r8000p which was garbage then to Asus rt-ac86u with Merlin, great experience, then now running Netgear r7800 with LEDE which just runs. Advantage is the r7800 can run LEDE, DD-WRT or Voxel firmware. Lots of options.
--bill

_________________
Unifi Security Gateway: Unifi Firmware
Netgear r7800: Voxel Firmware
Modem:Netgear CM500V voice and Data.
ISP:Comcast
tutorial for flashing "WRT" series:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=287813
DD-WRT Installation, Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117
Kong DD-WRT Config Tutorial:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Install-and-Configure-a-DD-WRT-Kong-Router/
I tried to be normal once. Worst 2 minutes ever.
iknowzo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Aug 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 13:33    Post subject: SSL not working - How to setup? Reply with quote
I use a mouse/keyboard sharing app that uses SSL to share peripherals across devices and I can't get it to work with dd-wrt. What do I need to do to open up SSL tunnels between my two computers?

This is what the app is saying:

[2018-08-07T09:17:52] INFO: starting client
[2018-08-07T09:17:52] INFO: config file: /var/folders/5q/9hwsrj351855fm3r3h186c100000gp/T/Synergy.JL1878
[2018-08-07T09:17:52] INFO: log level: INFO
[2018-08-07T09:17:52] INFO: drag and drop enabled
[2018-08-07T09:17:52] NOTE: started client
[2018-08-07T09:17:52] NOTE: connecting to '192.168.1.147': 192.168.1.147:24800
2018-08-07 09:17:52.829 synergyc[1882:88695] pid(1882)/euid(502) is calling TIS/TSM in non-main thread environment, ERROR : This is NOT allowed. Please call TIS/TSM in main thread!!!
2018-08-07 09:17:52.842 synergyc[1882:88695] pid(1882)/euid(502) is calling TIS/TSM in non-main thread environment, ERROR : This is NOT allowed. Please call TIS/TSM in main thread!!!
2018-08-07 09:17:52.842 synergyc[1882:88695] pid(1882)/euid(502) is calling TIS/TSM in non-main thread environment, ERROR : This is NOT allowed. Please call TIS/TSM in main thread!!!
2018-08-07 09:17:52.842 synergyc[1882:88695] pid(1882)/euid(502) is calling TIS/TSM in non-main thread environment, ERROR : This is NOT allowed. Please call TIS/TSM in main thread!!!
2018-08-07 09:17:52.842 synergyc[1882:88695] pid(1882)/euid(502) is calling TIS/TSM in non-main thread environment, ERROR : This is NOT allowed. Please call TIS/TSM in main thread!!!
2018-08-07 09:17:52.842 synergyc[1882:88695] pid(1882)/euid(502) is calling TIS/TSM in non-main thread environment, ERROR : This is NOT allowed. Please call TIS/TSM in main thread!!!
2018-08-07 09:17:52.842 synergyc[1882:88695] pid(1882)/euid(502) is calling TIS/TSM in non-main thread environment, ERROR : This is NOT allowed. Please call TIS/TSM in main thread!!!
2018-08-07 09:17:52.842 synergyc[1882:88695] pid(1882)/euid(502) is calling TIS/TSM in non-main thread environment, ERROR : This is NOT allowed. Please call TIS/TSM in main thread!!!
2018-08-07 09:17:52.842 synergyc[1882:88695] pid(1882)/euid(502) is calling TIS/TSM in non-main thread environment, ERROR : This is NOT allowed. Please call TIS/TSM in main thread!!!
2018-08-07 09:17:52.843 synergyc[1882:88695] pid(1882)/euid(502) is calling TIS/TSM in non-main thread environment, ERROR : This is NOT allowed. Please call TIS/TSM in main thread!!!
2018-08-07 09:17:52.843 synergyc[1882:88695] pid(1882)/euid(502) is calling TIS/TSM in non-main thread environment, ERROR : This is NOT allowed. Please call TIS/TSM in main thread!!!
2018-08-07 09:17:52.843 synergyc[1882:88695] pid(1882)/euid(502) is calling TIS/TSM in non-main thread environment, ERROR : This is NOT allowed. Please call TIS/TSM in main thread!!!
2018-08-07 09:17:52.843 synergyc[1882:88695] pid(1882)/euid(502) is calling TIS/TSM in non-main thread environment, ERROR : This is NOT allowed. Please call TIS/TSM in main thread!!!
2018-08-07 09:17:52.843 synergyc[1882:88695] pid(1882)/euid(502) is calling TIS/TSM in non-main thread environment, ERROR : This is NOT allowed. Please call TIS/TSM in main thread!!!
2018-08-07 09:17:52.843 synergyc[1882:88695] pid(1882)/euid(502) is calling TIS/TSM in non-main thread environment, ERROR : This is NOT allowed. Please call TIS/TSM in main thread!!!
2018-08-07 09:17:52.843 synergyc[1882:88695] pid(1882)/euid(502) is calling TIS/TSM in non-main thread environment, ERROR : This is NOT allowed. Please call TIS/TSM in main thread!!!
2018-08-07 09:17:52.843 synergyc[1882:88695] pid(1882)/euid(502) is calling TIS/TSM in non-main thread environment, ERROR : This is NOT allowed. Please call TIS/TSM in main thread!!!
2018-08-07 09:17:52.843 synergyc[1882:88695] pid(1882)/euid(502) is calling TIS/TSM in non-main thread environment, ERROR : This is NOT allowed. Please call TIS/TSM in main thread!!!
2018-08-07 09:17:52.843 synergyc[1882:88695] pid(1882)/euid(502) is calling TIS/TSM in non-main thread environment, ERROR : This is NOT allowed. Please call TIS/TSM in main thread!!!
2018-08-07 09:17:52.843 synergyc[1882:88695] pid(1882)/euid(502) is calling TIS/TSM in non-main thread environment, ERROR : This is NOT allowed. Please call TIS/TSM in main thread!!!
2018-08-07 09:17:52.843 synergyc[1882:88695] pid(1882)/euid(502) is calling TIS/TSM in non-main thread environment, ERROR : This is NOT allowed. Please call TIS/TSM in main thread!!!
[2018-08-07T09:17:52] WARNING: failed to connect to server: cannot connect socket: Host is down
2018-08-07 09:17:52.849 synergyc[1882:88677] starting cocoa loop
aloss
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Oct 2016
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2018 0:06    Post subject: Re: iftop stopped working Reply with quote
aloss wrote:
Hi guys, I have a DD-WRT v3.0-r32014 installed in my WRT3200ACM, where I installed "iftop" to monitoring bandwidth consuming in real time.

On last Sunday I upgrade to r33342 and noted that iftop stopped working. Its was like only outbound traffic was counted. So I downgrade back to 32014.

I tried also update iftop with "opkg update iftop" without success. I got some incompatibility message what unfortunately I didn't take note.

Someone can tell me whats probably went on?

Thanks.


Hi, I am very pleased to let you know that finally the iftop issue has been resolved in release 36995! Thanks to the fix posted by @quarkysg (https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6435). Thanks man! You've brought iftop back to life, my favorite utility in ddwrt. Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
dem737
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 May 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2018 15:35    Post subject: What about the WRT1900AC v1---Stable version yet? Reply with quote
Question, is the WRT1900AC V1 stable in any configuration yet that allows WiFi usage for ALL devices?

When I last tried to used the WRT3200ACM and the two WRT1900AC v1 I own, this site was only at page 145. These POS's have been collecting dust for a year. I will NEVER buy Linksys products again! Never! I wish I gave this money to the poor instead.
Adamcarter
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Aug 2016
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 2:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
via Imgflip Meme Generator
_________________
WRT3200ACM V1 r39267 std (03/22/19) OpenVPN client
7kt_ql
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Nov 2017
Posts: 29
Location: Scania, Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 16:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
gufus wrote:
myersw wrote:
cybrnook wrote:
Are you two being paid every time you mention Asus or Netgear routers? Smile Seem to do it in every post lately, pointing out the issues you had with the WRT series and how they are garbage.


Not I, just speaking the truth based on my experiences. YMMV.

What I do know is when I was using the wrt3200acm running dd-wrt I had stability issues. Gave up on Belkin/Linksys/Marvell ever getting a good driver, which I guess they have moved closer to lately, and got a Netgear r8000p. It ran circles around the wrt3200acm in my simple iperf test, but the firmware from a stability standpoint was crap. Therefore the move to Asus rt-ac86u. For me with Merlin firmware the ac86u just runs. No issues and no need to reboot except for firmware update. Have a wrt1900acs v1 should you want it. Already unloaded the wrt3200acm.

As was stated YMMV. No router fits all circumstances. I have both 2.4 and 5 gig channels close by. Also the house I am in is wet plaster with metal lath, not the most desirable of building materials from a wireless standpoint.

--bill


IMHO

I think the Asus rt-ac86u is ugly looking. Smile

BTY, All my WRT's work fine here. Not prefect (but what is)


When I got the WRT3200ACM I had not run DD-WRT before. There was a learning curve.
The whining on the forum didn't help much. "Oh my God, WRT3200ACM is so bad" might be heartfelt, but it isn't very helpful information.
My WRT3200ACM has been up for 76 days now. In that time I changed ISP w/o any problem.
About fifty hosts connected (at one time or another) on LAN or guest network. WiFi works fine as does the bridged EA6300 that is used as AP. With the routers there are five AP:s.
Four people heavy on streaming in the house. No one ever complains about the network.
My only complaint is that you can't run VLAN's on the combo DD-WRT and WRT3200ACM.

_________________
_____________________________________________________
Linksys WRT3200ACM: DD-WRT r36079
Linksys LGS116P Switch
Linksys EA6300: Original firmware, as bridge
Ubiqity Unifi AP AC Lite
Ubiqity Unifi AP AC LR
Ubiqity Unifi AP AC Pro
eforce
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Mar 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 13:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
I can't manage to get more than 300Mbps via the WiFi speed test when connected to the 5ghz SSID, is that normal for current state of WRT3200ACM on DD-WRT?
smartens
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Sep 2019
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2019 16:36    Post subject: mwlwifi driver uses ~ 150 MB of RAM in WRT3200. Reply with quote
Hi all and @pa3fat,
Quote:

my wrt3200acm has 38% ram usage.
Is your value giving issues? Or is it just a feeling that it is 'high'.


I’m seeing ~180 Mb ram usage after a clean install of both OpenWrt and DD-Wrt with my wrt3200. Uploading kmod-mwlwifi (the wi-fi chip driver) drops down the ram usage to 30-20 Mb.

You're welcome to join the discussion about it:
https://github.com/kaloz/mwlwifi/issues/152#
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 197, 198, 199 Display posts from previous:    Page 199 of 199
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum