R7800 Discussion - 2018

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 21, 22, 23 ... 38, 39, 40  Next
Author Message
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7429
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 20:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
disable beamforming to reduce signal strength at mid range for no reason.

there will always be someone that says something else about something, or be an exception for some ultra rare issue only they have. start with the guide and only if theres lasting issues then start diagnosing.

and if u have ios devices or wifi printers or any devices that need mDNS, or use qos at speeds over 100mbps, use the latest kong version. brainslayer's build is nothing but mounting problems with zero fixes.

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9888 ------> r45891 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r45891 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r45891 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r45891 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r45891 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
Sponsor
htismaqe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 471

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 20:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
disable beamforming to reduce signal strength at mid range for no reason.

there will always be someone that says something else about something, or be an exception for some ultra rare issue only they have. start with the guide and only if theres lasting issues then start diagnosing.

and if u have ios devices or wifi printers or any devices that need mDNS, or use qos at speeds over 100mbps, use the latest kong version. brainslayer's build is nothing but mounting problems with zero fixes.


Yeah, I will be loading Kong's latest. Being able to go back to a Kong FW was one of the reasons for changing routers.

_________________
Routing:.......Asus RT-AX88U (Asuswrt-Merlin 384.14)
Switching:....Netgear GS608_V3 & GS605_V4, TrendNet TEG-S82G & TEG-S50G
Wolf Kodi
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Jun 2010
Posts: 126

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 14:28    Post subject: r7800 swapon Reply with quote
Anyone has any idea why SWAP isn't enabled during kernel compile for both Kong's build and BS's build?

Code:

root@localhost:~# swapon /mnt/sda1/swapmem.swp
swapon: /tmp/mnt/sda1/swapmem.swp: swapon failed: Function not implemented

_________________


YouTube | Facebook Page
Per-user Live Down/Upload Rate Monitoring [No PC needed!]
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5974
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 19:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
A router works better without. It's a server feature.
It will not route fast enough if the packets are not stored in memory.
Wolf Kodi
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Jun 2010
Posts: 126

PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2018 0:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
I use my router as a server and I do need swap support because the physical RAM isn't enough. If someone else has successfully upgraded the RAM on this unite, I'd even do it.

Kernel support for swap is not only enabled for other routers but was also originally enabled for this router. It was disabled because of an issue that has been fixed as far as I can gather since I found this:

https://svn.dd-wrt.com//ticket/5619

I may have to re-compile dd-wrt by myself but I was hoping to avoid that, seeing as others may have use for swap too.

_________________


YouTube | Facebook Page
Per-user Live Down/Upload Rate Monitoring [No PC needed!]
lobyte
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Apr 2016
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2018 6:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Please make a new Kong assembly - added new DLNA options. At the official assembly, DLNA does not work for a long time.

Last edited by lobyte on Thu Jul 19, 2018 7:37; edited 1 time in total
Wolf Kodi
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Jun 2010
Posts: 126

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 10:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Forget compiling DD-WRT. I remembered building the great wall of China is more feasible.
_________________


YouTube | Facebook Page
Per-user Live Down/Upload Rate Monitoring [No PC needed!]
cynics
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jul 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2018 3:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just picked up an R7800 and so far I'm sort of disappointed by the 802.11ac speeds I'm getting. I've only been able to get ~280 Mbps download from a 5 ft distance away from router. Coming from an Asus AC-86U (which is rated about the same), I was able to get 400+ Mbps download, so I don't think it's the adapter I'm using. Might there be a setting I'm missing (I have 80 MHz, low interference channel, and beamforming enabled), or is this about the max? Using DD-WRT r36175M.
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5974
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2018 7:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Are you using the same channels as with the Asus?

Status->Wireless (Clients list at the bottom) shows what connection each client have.

I'am using channel 136 + UU and ACK timing 6µs (900m)
If ACK Timing is set to low, performance will suffer.
cynics
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jul 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2018 9:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yeah I've tried the same channels, among others, and the result is the same or worse. Under status it says I'm connected at 520-620M RX/TX VHT80SGI Signal -68 Noise -106 SNR 37 Quality 66%. Right now my ACK timing is the same as yours, but I'm typically only about 7-10 meters from the router (small apartment) so I'm wondering if I should change it. I have tried lowering it and raising it but the results as far as speed were the same. Unsure what the problem is... I'm thinking of trying OpenWRT.
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5974
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
For a small apartment, lower the TX power. A strong signal overloads the client and creates reflections from the walls. See if its improves signal quality.
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 4176
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2018 14:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
OpenWRT will not save your ass...and be very very careful
when you are going between different 3 rd party firmware's
there are some reports Lede/OpenWRT screw's/bricks this router if inappropriately uploaded and you might need to unbrick it.. to be hones on my R7800 5Ghz is ok and gets decent speeds, the thing is i dont use it anymore and stick
to 2,4Ghz only... also disable beam-forming and all those extras, just for a try...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 45849 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 45849 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 45849 BS AP,NAT,AD/Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 45859 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 45859 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
Siggyceline
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Jan 2018
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2018 21:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
cynics wrote:
Yeah I've tried the same channels, among others, and the result is the same or worse. Under status it says I'm connected at 520-620M RX/TX VHT80SGI Signal -68 Noise -106 SNR 37 Quality 66%. Right now my ACK timing is the same as yours, but I'm typically only about 7-10 meters from the router (small apartment) so I'm wondering if I should change it. I have tried lowering it and raising it but the results as far as speed were the same. Unsure what the problem is... I'm thinking of trying OpenWRT.


If your PHY Link is only 520-620Mbps, then you are not reaching the Max PHY link for 802.11ac...which for R7800 5GHz @80MHz is ~1700Mbps w/4 streams. 3 streams would be ~1300Mbps Max PHY Link, and 2 streams would be ~867Mbps Max PHY LInk.

So the question is why is your client not connecting higher if you are only a short distance away? Do you have a WI-Fi analyzer you can use to look at the spectrum to see what is open?

In any case, getting ~300Mbps throughput on a 600Mbps PHY Link is not outside expectations (throughput = 50-60% of PHY Link.). I would try to figure out why your client is not connecting at a higher PHY Link Rate.
cynics
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jul 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, I ended up just biting the bullet and flashing LEDE. Speeds are much better to my cell phone, ~350 Mbps. I think with my laptop the problem might be this adapter is a bit finicky. If anyone could make a recommendation for a USB 802.11ac adapter, one that can do 3 streams, I'd appreciate it.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7429
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 20:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
a 3x3 usb adapter? those even exist?
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9888 ------> r45891 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r45891 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r45891 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r45891 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r45891 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 21, 22, 23 ... 38, 39, 40  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 22 of 40
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum