Anybody know what might be causing the following error?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
htismaqe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 464

PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2018 22:59    Post subject: Anybody know what might be causing the following error? Reply with quote
I enabled syslogd and my log file is filled up with errors that look like this:

Jul 7 17:50:34 ROUTER daemon.err httpd[1173]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases

They're happening about once every 30 seconds as long as I'm in the GUI.

_________________
Routing:.......Netgear R7800 (DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat)
Switching:....Netgear GS608_V3 & Netgear GS605_V4
Sponsor
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7006
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2018 23:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
httpd is very buggy and full of shit for the last several months, i have it too. brainslayer broke it, and refuses to believe he broke it...
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40774 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40774 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40774 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40634 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
htismaqe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 464

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 4:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm using Kong's build, r36175. I guess I'll just have to disable my syslog server's notification daemon for now. It's spamming me with emails.
_________________
Routing:.......Netgear R7800 (DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat)
Switching:....Netgear GS608_V3 & Netgear GS605_V4
ArjenR49
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Oct 2008
Posts: 180
Location: Helsinki, Finland

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2018 20:20    Post subject: Possibly related observation Reply with quote
Could this have something to do with what I observed when using to access the webGUI in Chrome or Chromium using the HTTPS protocol as I described in the following thread (page 2)?

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=315593&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=15

(Sorry for being unable to post a link to the very posts)

When I changed to access the webGUI using HTTP instead of HTTPS (I had routinely disabled this option in de GUI), browsing the GUI in Chromium performed at normal speed, loading new pages instantaneously.
htismaqe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 464

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2018 21:00    Post subject: Re: Possibly related observation Reply with quote
I saw your post earlier and thought it might be related. When I see these errors, I see repeated login requests to httpd from my mgmt station. The full log entry looks like this:

Jul 7 18:20:14 ROUTER daemon.info httpd[1173]: httpd login attempt from 192.168.1.100 . Sending authorization request.
Jul 7 18:20:14 ROUTER daemon.err httpd[1173]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases


It appears to happen nearly every time I change pages or tabs. I really would prefer to use HTTPS for access rather than HTTP but if that fixes it, I guess it's worth a shot.

ArjenR49 wrote:
Could this have something to do with what I observed when using to access the webGUI in Chrome or Chromium using the HTTPS protocol as I described in the following thread (page 2)?

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=315593&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=15

(Sorry for being unable to post a link to the very posts)

When I changed to access the webGUI using HTTP instead of HTTPS (I had routinely disabled this option in de GUI), browsing the GUI in Chromium performed at normal speed, loading new pages instantaneously.

_________________
Routing:.......Netgear R7800 (DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat)
Switching:....Netgear GS608_V3 & Netgear GS605_V4
ArjenR49
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Oct 2008
Posts: 180
Location: Helsinki, Finland

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2018 21:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
What browsers have you tried?

Initially I had the syslog option enabled, just to try it. But as I couldn't make much of the entries, I switched it off again.
I did notice a few highlighted errors. However, the router didn't crash ... I figured I can always switch it back on, if needed.
htismaqe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 464

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2018 23:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
I use Safari on macOS.
_________________
Routing:.......Netgear R7800 (DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat)
Switching:....Netgear GS608_V3 & Netgear GS605_V4
htismaqe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 464

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 12:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey @tatsuya46,

Is this the trac ticket for the same issue? Would it maybe help to raise it again?

https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6148

_________________
Routing:.......Netgear R7800 (DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat)
Switching:....Netgear GS608_V3 & Netgear GS605_V4
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7006
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 14:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
htismaqe wrote:
Hey @tatsuya46,

Is this the trac ticket for the same issue? Would it maybe help to raise it again?

https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6148


yes that is part of it.

bump it if u so see fit.

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40774 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40774 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40774 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40634 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
liverpoolatnight
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 May 2008
Posts: 243
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 15:27    Post subject: Re: Possibly related observation Reply with quote
htismaqe wrote:
Jul 7 18:20:14 ROUTER daemon.info httpd[1173]: httpd login attempt from 192.168.1.100 . Sending authorization request.
Jul 7 18:20:14 ROUTER daemon.err httpd[1173]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases



Double check your not double NATed aswell as this maybe an attack but coming from the 192.168.1.100 and quite common if you put your first router to DMZ to the dd-wrt router

Heres some IP Ranges that most common port scan me, Most from ### AS 10439 ### i always seem to get a full scan from them!

Code:

iptables -I INPUT -p tcp -d 66.240.192.0/18 -j DROP
iptables -I INPUT -p tcp -d 71.6.128.0/17 -j DROP
iptables -I INPUT -p tcp -d 135.84.216.0/24 -j DROP
iptables -I INPUT -p tcp -d 209.126.128.0/17 -j DROP
iptables -I INPUT -p tcp -d 216.75.0.0/18 -j DROP
iptables -I INPUT -p tcp -d 216.98.128.0/19 -j DROP

_________________
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 [EU]: r36330 (07/16/18 )
D-Link DIR-615 D2 [EU]: r36330 (07/16/18 )
Mikrotik RB750r2 (OpenWrt 17.01.4)
EE BrightBox 1 aka A4001N (OpenWrt 17.01.4)
Sagemcom FAST@5364 (VDSL2,FTTC (Fibre to the Cabinet) Synced 65/17

Twitter: @francisuk1989
---------------------------------
Found a bug? Report it http://svn.dd-wrt.com
DD-WRT Official FB Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/493762527744455
htismaqe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 464

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 17:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
It's definitely not coming from outside and there's no double NAT. My management workstation is 192.168.1.100 and I see one of these errors generated every time I change pages/tabs in the GUI. It's definitely a bug in HTTPD.
_________________
Routing:.......Netgear R7800 (DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat)
Switching:....Netgear GS608_V3 & Netgear GS605_V4
htismaqe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 464

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 17:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
htismaqe wrote:
Hey @tatsuya46,

Is this the trac ticket for the same issue? Would it maybe help to raise it again?

https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6148


yes that is part of it.

bump it if u so see fit.


I wonder if it will even do any good. I might drop a line to Kong and see what he says. Right now, it's making syslog data really hard to use, it's so cluttered. Plus I have to setup my notifications to filter out those messages or I get spammed with alerts.

_________________
Routing:.......Netgear R7800 (DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat)
Switching:....Netgear GS608_V3 & Netgear GS605_V4
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7006
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 21:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
htismaqe wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
htismaqe wrote:
Hey @tatsuya46,

Is this the trac ticket for the same issue? Would it maybe help to raise it again?

https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6148


yes that is part of it.

bump it if u so see fit.


I wonder if it will even do any good. I might drop a line to Kong and see what he says. Right now, it's making syslog data really hard to use, it's so cluttered. Plus I have to setup my notifications to filter out those messages or I get spammed with alerts.


iirc, its r33006 is the last build before httpd was fucked with

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40774 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40774 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40774 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40634 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum