Archer C7 V2 (AC1750) slow WIFI after switching to DD-WRT

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
beeth2006
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Apr 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 15:25    Post subject: Archer C7 V2 (AC1750) slow WIFI after switching to DD-WRT Reply with quote
I just had Verizon 100Mbps/100Mbps installed at home and I flashed my TP-Link Archer C7 v2 from the stock firmware to the latest DD-WRT(03-26-2018-r35531). The switch was smooth but I noticed WIFI speed test for both 2.4GHz or 5GHz went down to about 30Mbps ~ 50Mbps. Before the change(with the TP-Link stock firmware), I was able to get around 100Mbps for both up and down.
I tested the speed for wired connection with Ethernet cable to my laptop, that looked good with about 100Mbps, so the performance impact only applied to WIFI.
Did I miss something to be configured with the new DD-WRT?
I am new to this, really appreciate any comments or suggestions.
Thanks!
Sponsor
YaddaMinski
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Oct 2010
Posts: 294

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 18:30    Post subject: Re: Archer C7 V2 (AC1750) slow WIFI after switching to DD-WR Reply with quote
beeth2006 wrote:
I just had Verizon 100Mbps/100Mbps installed at home and I flashed my TP-Link Archer C7 v2 from the stock firmware to the latest DD-WRT(03-26-2018-r35531). The switch was smooth but I noticed WIFI speed test for both 2.4GHz or 5GHz went down to about 30Mbps ~ 50Mbps. Before the change(with the TP-Link stock firmware), I was able to get around 100Mbps for both up and down.
I tested the speed for wired connection with Ethernet cable to my laptop, that looked good with about 100Mbps, so the performance impact only applied to WIFI.
Did I miss something to be configured with the new DD-WRT?
I am new to this, really appreciate any comments or suggestions.
Thanks!


I gave up on DD-WRT on AC1759 V3 because 5 gHz puking and never getting close to 100Mbps. I switched to an AC2300 OEM that has great reliability and maxes out my Spectrum 100 Mbps.
malosa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Mar 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 9:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
i don't have any problems on wifi speed.
everything goes normal here..
canbonbon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Apr 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 14:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
malosa wrote:
i don't have any problems on wifi speed.
everything goes normal here..


Do you know what version of DDwrt did you use and what is the hardware version of your C7
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2156
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 16:52    Post subject: Wireless settings Reply with quote
Make sure you are using the recommended wireless settings: https://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Atheros/ath_wireless_settings

Also, update to a recent build, I am using 35531 at the moment. I will most likely be upgrading to the just released 35667 today.

My Archer C7 v2 is fine. Don't expect high throughput on these devices (WAN speed >100Mib/s). That requires a dual-core router such as a Netgear R7800.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - gateway, DHCP, QoS, VPN
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - not used
B@R
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 605
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 22:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Without QoS it can to work with 200 Mbps (I can't test more, because I have Internet 200/5 Mbps . QoS enabled can take about 20-30% of speed. I bought Ubiquiti Edgerouter X and got the same or less. With QoS enabled I have significantly less speed.

The router Archer C7 V2.0
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2156
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 1:37    Post subject: VPN Reply with quote
Sorry, I meant to say through a VPN. That will seriously lower those numbers.
_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - gateway, DHCP, QoS, VPN
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - not used
rzwinston
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Apr 2016
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 20:44    Post subject: Re: Archer C7 V2 (AC1750) slow WIFI after switching to DD-WR Reply with quote
beeth2006 wrote:
I just had Verizon 100Mbps/100Mbps installed at home and I flashed my TP-Link Archer C7 v2 from the stock firmware to the latest DD-WRT(03-26-2018-r35531). The switch was smooth but I noticed WIFI speed test for both 2.4GHz or 5GHz went down to about 30Mbps ~ 50Mbps. Before the change(with the TP-Link stock firmware), I was able to get around 100Mbps for both up and down.
I tested the speed for wired connection with Ethernet cable to my laptop, that looked good with about 100Mbps, so the performance impact only applied to WIFI.
Did I miss something to be configured with the new DD-WRT?
I am new to this, really appreciate any comments or suggestions.
Thanks!


Solved? I have almost same problem...but with older build
ramblin
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Nov 2015
Posts: 157
Location: Florida, USA

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2018 3:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
I won`t deny r35531 was a little slow. From r35681 speed picked up. I`m at r35916 and WiFi inside my house is fast as wired. I pay for 100mbps and get 120 - 130mbps. Go figure ?
Cisky
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Oct 2020
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2020 2:54    Post subject: Re: VPN Reply with quote
ian5142 wrote:
Sorry, I meant to say through a VPN. That will seriously lower those numbers.


I’ve got an Archer C7 v5, very slow through VPN. Latest dd-wrt issue.
Why?
Is there a way to fix that?
Many thanks in advance
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 1725

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2020 8:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
C7v5 is 750 Mhz single core, so there is no fix other than upgrade to R7500v2 or R7800 (and a few others).
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum