TRENDnet TEW-811DRU [experiences so far]

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Author Message
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2598
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 18:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
It copies to mem (which is why the general flashing guide is to reset first, to reduce mem usage), stops writes, flashes, then reboots. Best case is it just boots back to what you already had. Some routers put board_data or nvram partitions -after- the linux partition. And if they don't check the size, you can overwrite and brick.
macexperts wrote:
the worse problem is the cpu runs at boiling temperate - it's been operating this way
The boiling point of water I hope, and not of silicon. Razz Is it really at 100degC? That would be damn hot. ARM routers commonly run 60-85degC, which is ~technically fine (for the warranty period) if their SoC's are rated for it, but it certainly doesn't help the longevity of the silicon and electron paths in the SoC. Not sure what limit the BCM47081A0 is rated.
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.3|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 44528: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.3: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
Sponsor
macexperts
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 May 2016
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOL, yes Very close to the boiling point of water not silicon -around 98.7 98.8 C etc.

I took a very old case fan spliced it to a fairly weak power brick and duct taped it to the bottom of the router. It's now running around 85 to 88C.

Interestingly it takes a very long time for the temperate to wind it's way down with the fan running.

The lower temps did not seem to change performance and I think I've had this running between 1 and 2 years so far without any problems.
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2598
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 13:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
macexperts wrote:
LOL, yes Very close to the boiling point of water not silicon -around 98.7 98.8 C etc.
Many OEM manufacturing processes do a poor job of lining up the thermal pads and/or the heatsinks themselves. Take a look at the FCC internal photos from the wikidevi FCC link to see what you're working with. Resetting the heatsink w/ better (or more) TIM might make a big difference (or adding or expanding ventilation holes). I've been meaning to do this to my EA6900 for this very reason; it's prone to not have the TIM lined up well. But it's not running 99degC either. Smile
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.3|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 44528: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.3: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
macexperts
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 May 2016
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 2:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
I would have been skeptical if someone told me a chip was running at this temperature without issues. The radios report 50 to 55C on average - much much lower. I appreciate all your feedback, - I saw the other posts on the poorly implemented thermal tape and maybe I'll get around to messing with it sometime and possibly cutting the case some to try to get more direct ventillation. That dual antenna mod with fan looked great also. Mine is a duct tape special at present but it did cool it some at least Very Happy

I'm not sure it's going to matter in the long run. They had to have had engineering samples and seen that they were running at this high temp right? At least I would assuem that would be the case before going to a full production run. The fact that it's been running so long w/o 'apparent' issues is another indicator that perhaps it's just OK for these chips?

All the best


PS: I forgot that I had underclocked it to 600mhz - I had lowered it intending to see if that dropped the temps and just realized I'd left it the other day - I returned it back to 800mhz with no increase in heat so underclocking doesn't seem to do much for this particular chip (in my case at least).
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2598
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 14:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
macexperts wrote:
PS: I forgot that I had underclocked it to 600mhz - I had lowered it intending to see if that dropped the temps and just realized I'd left it the other day - I returned it back to 800mhz with no increase in heat so underclocking doesn't seem to do much for this particular chip (in my case at least).
Or the underclock didn't work; many router models have locked CPU speeds. Did you check in dmesg or `cat /proc/cpuinfo` that it actually took?
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.3|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 44528: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.3: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
squeaky
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 May 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2018 9:26    Post subject: TEW-811DRU backup CFE? Reply with quote
I somehow managed to bork the bootloader on this device and failed to make a backup. I have a ch341a programmer and tried using a cfe for similar hardware (linksys ea6350) and was able to write it to the flash, now when it boots I at least get this over serial:

Code:

Digital core power voltage set to 0.9375V
Decompressing...error 1


Would any of you kind souls be willing to share a copy of your cfe.bin so I can bring this back to life?
squeaky
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 May 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 18:02    Post subject: Re: TEW-811DRU backup CFE? Reply with quote
squeaky wrote:

Would any of you kind souls be willing to share a copy of your cfe.bin so I can bring this back to life?


Putting this here just in case somebody else finds themselves in a similar situation in the future..



cfe.bin
 Description:
Trendnet TEW-811DRU cfe.bin

Download
 Filename:  cfe.bin
 Filesize:  256 KB
 Downloaded:  455 Time(s)

macexperts
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 May 2016
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2018 1:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just to let you guys know. I pulled out the 'spare' unit 811 I had with same firmware and settings as my unit that runs at nearly 100C without any fan help. The spare runs around 75C to 80C but performance between the two units is the same.
angler
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Feb 2012
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 10:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
after r36247 looks like size is under 8MB again
cobra82
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Dec 2016
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2019 18:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

I've tried to install last beta to my new TEW-811DRU v1.0R

ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2019/02-19-2019-r38840/trendnet-811DRU/

I've found a very unstable release.
Wifi 2.4Ghz crash and It's unstable. Internet download speed it's very slow (1/2 Mbit vs 7/9 with other access point)

I've added a VLAN
VLAN 2 <-- wan port 192.168.1.x
VLAN 3 <-- lan port 5, unbridged, 192.168.100.x with dhcp
VLAN 1 <-- other lan ports & Wifi, 192.168.99.x with BR0

Is there any stable release or this router it's crappy?

please help me... Sad
angler
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Feb 2012
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sun Apr 07, 2019 14:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
38326 works

the 811 is N300 so won't have as much throughput on 2.4Ghz as an AC1750 or N450

cobra82 wrote:
Hi,

I've tried to install last beta to my new TEW-811DRU v1.0R

ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2019/02-19-2019-r38840/trendnet-811DRU/

I've found a very unstable release.
Wifi 2.4Ghz crash and It's unstable. Internet download speed it's very slow (1/2 Mbit vs 7/9 with other access point)

I've added a VLAN
VLAN 2 <-- wan port 192.168.1.x
VLAN 3 <-- lan port 5, unbridged, 192.168.100.x with dhcp
VLAN 1 <-- other lan ports & Wifi, 192.168.99.x with BR0

Is there any stable release or this router it's crappy?

please help me... Sad
r00tb33r
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Apr 2008
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2019 5:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
40559 soft-bricked the router on update from DD-WRT web interface, soft-bricked from factory firmware as well. Done via direct Ethernet cable from a PC, and two browsers attempted, Chrome and IE11.

30-30-30 resets did not help on any attempt.

Why would that build be in the supported router database on the front page!? Mad

I recovered it using TFTP each time until it finally hard-bricked.

Now the emergency web server doesn't come up and TFTP client can't establish a connection.

The router is in a very rapid boot loop, reboots like every 5 seconds.

Ideas for recovery?

Basically I had a working build from ~2015 that worked adequately (but the web interface responded kind of slow). I was preparing for an installation of a new ISP so I figured I'd check for a firmware update to get the interface to respond quicker... Definitely a regret.

This router had an 80mm fan blowing through modified side panels and Arctic Silver thermal compound under the heatsink from day 1, so my temperatures were in the 30s for the CPU and radio. Kind of sad that a firmware update bricked it when it could have lasted me for years.

Would be nice to get it fixed. Ideas?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7270
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2019 18:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have a better question, if you had a build from 2015: Why did you use the router database for anything and not come to the forum to do your research? Even though it's been updated, the router database is and probably always will be trash.

Anyhow, if you can't use the reset button to reset nvram successfully, then you are likely going to have to do serial recovery. Google DD-WRT serial recovery. Also, that is a 4708, Broadcom ARM. You don't 30-30-30 it.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
aps_ddwrt
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Apr 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2020 21:33    Post subject: Unsuccessful Trendnet TEW-811DRU AC1200 upgrade Reply with quote
I should have left well enough alone Crying or Very sad

Tried upgrading my Trendnet TEW-811DRU AC1200
From: v3.0 [Beta] Build 36527 2018-08-09
To: v3.0 [Beta] Build 40559 2019-08-06

Usually the upgrades go great but this is the first time I broke something. The flashing part looked good ending with "successful" but on reboot unable to login or even ping it. (Tried using all ports and wireless)

Tried connecting using multiple cables and computers - no luck. It doesn't show up as wireless network either.

It powers up showing normal LED lights
-power light
-5G light
-2.4G light
-4 ports will light up when plugged/unplugged

Sometimes can see a quick port flash once or twice when pinging it but not the normal port activity flashing LED

I tried using the reset button and powering off/on - no joy

The router does have a USB port and was hoping I could use that to downgrade the firmware
on bootup somehow? but haven't found any info about using the usb port for this.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7270
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2020 21:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
^^^ Another victim of the router database. Now you have to recover and flash a known good build and then try a newer build to upgrade (or not). I would have to go back to that specific build thread to see if it bricked similar devices or not, but if memory serves, 40559 was a crap build. It should have only soft-bricked and a reset or reboot should've been all that was needed, perhaps, but likely you have gone past the point of know return.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 9 of 10
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum