New Kong's test build: DD-WRT 35550M - 2018/03/28

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2018 19:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
myersw wrote:
Noticed today that the wireless was slow on this build. Seemed slow yesterday, but did not pursue as I did not have the time. My Internet download tests normally at around 120mbps, but with this build only 24. Was done from a reset and then configure. Tried reset and reconfig, power reset, etc without any change.

Installed BS r35531, which I had run before installing this build and my wireless speeds are back where they should be.

--bill


Well don't blame the router blame the rest of your stuff, currently for broadcom models there are zero differences in wireless driver code between BS and my build. Thus if it suddenly works with BS builds, then it is simple magic or more likely something around the router, client hw, interference bluetooth etc.

Also since krack fix , there were zero changes regarding wireless for broadcom models, thus all these reports, one build is better then the other is plain nonsense. The problem is, that all those tests are not scientific, but short time tests where a lot of things play along and unlike tatsuya46 there are no actual errors proven, he often delivers info that prove there is a bug.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
Sponsor
myersw
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 1609
Location: SE Michigan USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 3:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:
Well don't blame the router blame the rest of your stuff, currently for broadcom models there are zero differences in wireless driver code between BS and my build. Thus if it suddenly works with BS builds, then it is siumple magic or more likely something around the router, client hw, interference bluetooth etc.

Also since krack fix , there were zero changes regarding wireless for broadcom models, thus all these reports, one build is better then the other is plain nonsense. The problem is, that all those tests are not scientific, but short time tests where a lot of things play along and unlike tatsuya46 there are no actual errors proven, he often delivers info that prove there is a bug.


@<kong>
Reinstalled as I do agree with you about no difference from a wireless driver standpoint between your build and Brainslayer's. Now things test ok. Go figure.

I do agree with you and the two builds are the same for me other then maybe something you or BS added or deleted. I have never seen where one build performed better then the other on my r8000. Can say this as things are ok now. Did not do anything different that I am aware of. Reset did new config. My config is very simple from a wireless standpoint and routing standpoint. No firewall rules for example.

Anyway, just wanted to let you know that I gave it another go and things are fine now.

As I said before, thanks for the builds you do. Know they have been tested unlike Brainslayer's builds. Just too many to test in his case.

--bill

_________________
Unifi Security Gateway: Unifi Firmware
Netgear r7800: Voxel Firmware
Modem:Netgear CM500V voice and Data.
ISP:Comcast
tutorial for flashing "WRT" series:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=287813
DD-WRT Installation, Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117
Kong DD-WRT Config Tutorial:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Install-and-Configure-a-DD-WRT-Kong-Router/
I tried to be normal once. Worst 2 minutes ever.
blenn
DD-WRT User


Joined: 02 May 2017
Posts: 87
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 5:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
myersw wrote:
<Kong> wrote:
Well don't blame the router blame the rest of your stuff, currently for broadcom models there are zero differences in wireless driver code between BS and my build. Thus if it suddenly works with BS builds, then it is siumple magic or more likely something around the router, client hw, interference bluetooth etc.

Also since krack fix , there were zero changes regarding wireless for broadcom models, thus all these reports, one build is better then the other is plain nonsense. The problem is, that all those tests are not scientific, but short time tests where a lot of things play along and unlike tatsuya46 there are no actual errors proven, he often delivers info that prove there is a bug.


@<kong>
Reinstalled as I do agree with you about no difference from a wireless driver standpoint between your build and Brainslayer's. Now things test ok. Go figure.

I do agree with you and the two builds are the same for me other then maybe something you or BS added or deleted. I have never seen where one build performed better then the other on my r8000. Can say this as things are ok now. Did not do anything different that I am aware of. Reset did new config. My config is very simple from a wireless standpoint and routing standpoint. No firewall rules for example.

Anyway, just wanted to let you know that I gave it another go and things are fine now.

As I said before, thanks for the builds you do. Know they have been tested unlike Brainslayer's builds. Just too many to test in his case.

--bill


I'm happy to hear it works now! Although a bit bitter I wrote that last long post in vain. Wink

Happy Easter to all if you!

_________________
Linksys WRT1900ACS V2 dd-wrt bs r35034
Netgear R8000 dd-wrt kongac r36440M
hurleyp
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Sep 2009
Posts: 281
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 14:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: Netgear R7000
Firmware: v3.0-r35530M kongac (03/25/18 )
Kernel: Linux 4.4.124 #542 SMP Sun Mar 25 23:32:52 CEST 2018 armv7l
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r35360M kongac (03/19/18 )
Mode/Status: Up and running for just over 3 days
Reset: Soft boot before and after ddup
Issues/Errors: none

Upgraded via ddup --flash-latest, no 'erase nvram' this time.

I'm still getting these log messages when I use the webif:

Mar 29 09:18:18 httpd[1169]: httpd login attempt from 192.168.254.64 . Sending authorization request.
Mar 29 09:18:18 httpd[1169]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Mar 29 09:26:42 httpd[1169]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Mar 29 09:26:43 httpd[1169]: Request Error Code 404: File not found.

The first two messages are innocuous, but the last two are a bit of a mystery. But since nothing seems to be amiss, I'm ignoring these notifications.

The temperatures are good: CPU 57.5 °C / WL0 45.3 °C / WL1 48.3 °C (The R7000 is wall-mounted.)

Current basic R7000 setup (subject to change of course):
- SFE - Off
- Static WAN IP
- LAN DHCP Enabled
- IPv4 only
- 1 wireless VLAN on wl0
- Encrypt DNS disabled
- Wireless: Regulatory Domain = UNITED_STATES, wl0 Mixed (ch. 1), wl1 NA-Mixed (ch. 161 + 159), AES
- SNMP enabled, SSH enabled, Telnet disabled
- Firewall enabled, Log Level high
- Syslog: remote to Logentries. klogd: disabled.
- USB support - Off
- NO: ttraf, VNC, Zabbix, VPN, Radius, OpenVPN
- NO: UPnP, DMZ, QoS
- NO: Samba, CIFS, JFFS2, miniDLNA, Entware, Optware

_________________
Netgear R7000: v3.0-r44340 std (09/10/20)
EdgeRouter-X: EdgeOS v2.0.8
pie1394
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 14:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Upgraded from r34790M and it is noticed that a different user's ssh connection cannot be established. It shows the access denied message on the terminal. There is no problem with the root account. For the "userA", The authorized key is stored in somewhere like /jffs/userA/.ssh/authorized_keys which owner is "userA"

Go back to r34790M and the "userA" can be logined again.

_________________
Buffalo WZR-1750DHP
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1579
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 16:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
I use YAMon3 with IPv6 enabled and it was working with Build 33770M that has BusyBox v1.27.2.

Now with Build 35550M with BusyBox v1.28.1 IPv6 with YAMon3 is broken or has missing commands.

To test if you have working 'ip' command the YAMon site says to use this command...

Code:
ip -6 neigh show


With Build 35550M I get...

Code:
BusyBox v1.28.1 (2018-03-28 09:48:38 CEST) multi-call binary.

Usage: ip [OPTIONS] address|route|link|tunnel|rule [COMMAND]

OPTIONS := -f[amily] inet|inet6|link | -o[neline]
COMMAND :=
ip addr add|del IFADDR dev IFACE | show|flush [dev IFACE] [to PREFIX]
ip route list|flush|add|del|change|append|replace|test ROUTE
ip link set IFACE [up|down] [arp on|off] | show [IFACE]
ip tunnel add|change|del|show [NAME]
        [mode ipip|gre|sit]
        [remote ADDR] [local ADDR] [ttl TTL]
ip rule [list] | add|del SELECTOR ACTION


The normal response would be a list of IPv6 with MAC addresses

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - 10GbE Copper Backbone
2x R7800 - Gateway & WiFi & 3xWireGuard - DDWRT r44406 Std
R7000 - Wired ISP 4K IPTV Gateway - DDWRT r44406 Std

Off Site 1

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi & WireGuard - DDWRT r44406 Std
WRT610Nv1 - Client Bridge - DDWRT r33679 Mega K2.4

Off Site 2

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi - DDWRT r44406 Std
E2000 - Wired ISP IPTV PVR Blocker - DDWRT r35531


YAMon 3.4.6 | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1579
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 16:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Luckily I fixed my above issue with Kong's package repository I installed ip-full and edited YAMon3's config file edited _path2ip='/opt/usr/sbin/ip' and have working IPv6 with YAMon3

NOTE: Also need _includeIPv6='1'

UPDATE: I been impressed how well Kong's 35550M Build has been operating compared to my last build 33770M. I have 2 openvpn client connections (with IPVanish), one for each R7000 and they have been the most stable compare to older builds. A happy Family is always a good thing. :)

Thanks KONG!!

UPDATE
To get opkg installed with Kong's Builds you need to be telnet/ssh into router and run the command bootstrap.

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - 10GbE Copper Backbone
2x R7800 - Gateway & WiFi & 3xWireGuard - DDWRT r44406 Std
R7000 - Wired ISP 4K IPTV Gateway - DDWRT r44406 Std

Off Site 1

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi & WireGuard - DDWRT r44406 Std
WRT610Nv1 - Client Bridge - DDWRT r33679 Mega K2.4

Off Site 2

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi - DDWRT r44406 Std
E2000 - Wired ISP IPTV PVR Blocker - DDWRT r35531


YAMon 3.4.6 | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2


Last edited by mac913 on Sat Apr 07, 2018 17:10; edited 1 time in total
ZzyzxTek
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 May 2013
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 23:58    Post subject: Can't Log into Guest Network Reply with quote
Router: Netgear R7000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r35550M kongac (03/28/18 )
Kernel: Linux 4.4.124 #548 SMP Wed Mar 28 09:52:34 CEST 2018 armv7l
Status: Mostly working, problem with guest network
Reset: No config reset, just firmware update
Errors: Can no longer log into guest network. Guest network worked under 35530M. Says incorrect password, but password entered exactly as appears on Wireless Security page.

Unsure how to debug, suggestions appreciated.

_________________
Netgear R7000 Kong 35550
D-Link DIR-632a (currently off-line)
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 6196
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 7:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Use the Command Line interface (telnet) to reset to defaults by issueing:
Code:
erase nvram
after that reboot and put settings in manually
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
Anglophile
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jun 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 14:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router: Buffalo WZR-1750DHP
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r35550M kongac (03/28/1Cool
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r33525M kongac (10/16/17)
Kernel: Linux 4.4.124 #548 SMP Wed Mar 28 09:52:34 CEST 2018 armv7l
Previous: Linux 4.4.92 #454 SMP Mon Oct 16 21:39:05 CEST 2017 armv7l
Status: No issues per syslog
Reset: Yes (upgrade via admin pages)

Uptime 35 min

So far, looking good.

Thanks Kong!
Fahrstufensensor
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jan 2017
Posts: 11
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:20    Post subject: Netgear R7000 + R8000 Reply with quote
Router: Netgear R7000 + R8000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r35550M kongac (03/28/18 )
Kernel: Linux 4.4.124 #548 SMP Wed Mar 28 09:52:34 CEST 2018 armv7l

Status: stable for 2 days

Upgraded: From 33675M via ddup --flash-latest

Reset: No

Errors: none; first stable R8000 version for my config since 33675M

R7000 config:

no DHCP
wl0 NG-Mixed WEP2/AES with fixed channels + one virtual i/f
wl1 AC/N-mixed WEP2/AES with auto channel + one virtual i/f
VLAN for guest WLAN separation


R8000:
same as R7000, plus
DHCP
QoS

Kong: Thanks for all your good work! If this release proofs stable for the next days some donation will come your way.

fahrstufensensor

_________________
2x Netgear R7000 - Kong 35550M
1x Netgear R8000 - Kong 35550M
ciscodlink
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 May 2014
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2018 17:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Needs an update to the new DNSCrypt v2 because more and more resolvers are dropping support for the old and non-developed DNSCrypt v1.

dnscrypt.info
https://github.com/jedisct1/dnscrypt-proxy
labo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 30 Jan 2015
Posts: 675
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2018 19:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
ciscodlink wrote:
Needs an update to the new DNSCrypt v2 because more and more resolvers are dropping support for the old and non-developed DNSCrypt v1.

dnscrypt.info
https://github.com/jedisct1/dnscrypt-proxy


FYI, I bumped the SVN ticket:
http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6246

_________________
ASUS RT-AX89X: Main gateway.
QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch
Nighthawk SX10 10GbE Switch
1 X RAX120 WAP Bridge
1 X RAX75 WAP Bridge
Archer AX11000 WAP Bridge
2 X R7800 DD-WRT Mesh
2 X R9000 DD-WRT Mesh
phinn
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Sep 2014
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 2:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can anyone comment on the speed/stable with SFE enabled? Need the bandwidth for my connection. Thanks.
blaser
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 499

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 12:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router: Asus AC68U
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r35550M
Status: Working
Reset: No
Previous: 35530M
Errors: No some on wifi
guest wifi on 2.4Ghz network.

I upgraded when the version came out everyting was working fine.
yesterday I enabled SFE to get more speed.
Today I noticed that not all the wireless connected clients are visible.
I cannot see them connected under
status --> LAN --> Active Clients
but I can see they are connected under
Status --> sys-info --> wireless - clients.

_________________
Netgear R8500
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 6
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum