WNDR3700v4 u-boot bootloader version ... ever updated?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2587
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 23:00    Post subject: WNDR3700v4 u-boot bootloader version ... ever updated? Reply with quote
I acquired a WNDR3700v4 last week that still had the original OEM firmware v1.0.1.32 (initial release) on it. The latest firmware v1.0.2.94 is from Dec 2017. I'm curious if the bootloader ever got updated thru OEM f/w on this model?

What I have now is...
    # strings /dev/mtd0|grep -i u-boot
    U-Boot 1.1.4 (Jun 21 2012 - 11:09:36)
    DNI HW ID: 29763948 flash 128MB RAM 128MB U-boot dni29 V1.0
    u-boot image

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.3|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 44528: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.3: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
Sponsor
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2587
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2018 14:53    Post subject: Re: WNDR3700v4 u-boot bootloader version ... ever updated? Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
strings /dev/mtd0|grep -i u-boot
@mrjcd @bdg2 @bushant, could you guys please run that command on your v4's, in telnet/ssh or Admin->Commands?
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.3|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 44528: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.3: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1440
Location: WCentral Indiana USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2018 15:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
It reads exactly same as yours. This router has been rockin on ddwrt for 2 1/2 years now.
_________________
STUBBY DoT install guide----Forum Guide Lines (Please read!) --- How to get help the right way
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5336
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 2:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Got 4 of these boxes and yea they don't tend to change the uboot .. well not on same model version.
You can monkey with this stuff yoursef but there is really no point.

U-Boot 1.1.4 (Jun 21 2012 - 11:09:36)
DNI HW ID: 29763948 flash 128MB RAM 128MB U-boot dni29 V1.0
u-boot image

Two of mine run 24/7.
One is just a switch with wifi turned off but he also is an ovpn server and has a USB share device attached.
The other is at far end of my network running as a WAP + guests on both radio.
I hardly ever look at them these days -- got tired messing with them with new builds and just installed r33555 on both ...now I never have to worry with them.

If/when to get yours tangled up messing with new builds just put it in recovery and TFTP r23503 to it at 192.168.1.1
Don't ever try to reset it or anything fancy (just a waste of time) TFTP 23503 wndr3700v4.img
After it boots then you can load webif (at whatever its last IP was) then install last working build you had on it and all should be good.

EDIT:
Old stuff I just run across seems to be when I got my last two wndr3700v4
https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1030144#1030144
Mile-Lile
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2013
Posts: 1516
Location: Belgrade

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 7:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
contact this guy https://github.com/pepe2k/u-boot_mod and send him one of yours unit... He'll update u-boot for you... and much more, you will get web server with u-boot...
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2154
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 14:23    Post subject: TFTP Recovery Reply with quote
I just added the WNDR3700 v4 Recovery info to the dd-wrt wiki.
_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - gateway, DHCP, QoS, VPN
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - not used
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2587
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 16:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the info guys!
Mile-Lile wrote:
contact this guy https://github.com/pepe2k/u-boot_mod and send him one of yours unit... He'll update u-boot for you... and much more, you will get web server with u-boot...
pepe2k github site wrote:
U-Boot 1.1.4 modification for routers
That is cool as hell. I'd do it if there was a pre-built image, as I'm running OpenWRT on it atm...been wanting to mess w/ it, and OpenWRT on Broadcom is schit. Plus it seems the recent DD builds have had issues (as also noted by mrjcd). So far it's working very well on a trunk build. LuCI and all is setup but still need to install the SFM QoS packages. But I digress...
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.3|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 44528: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.3: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2587
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 16:58    Post subject: resets Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
Don't ever try to reset it or anything fancy (just a waste of time)
ian5142 wrote:
I just added the WNDR3700 v4 Recovery info to the dd-wrt wiki.
Thanks @ian5142; a note on the reset part... @mrjcd, I presume you mean that resetting (hard or GUI) isn't needed, so that you can retain your settings, but also isn't necessarily bad?
WNDR3700 wiki wrote:
Don't ever try to reset it (no 30/30/30, just Factory Defaults) or anything fancy.
That insinuates that a reset can cause problems; should that just say, "Reset (30/30/30 or GUI) is not necessary" ?
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.3|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 44528: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.3: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1440
Location: WCentral Indiana USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 23:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:

Don't ever try to reset it or anything fancy (just a waste of time) TFTP 23503 wndr3700v4.img


I have not reset mine in a couple years. There was a lot of controversy a while back on that. Right or wrong it all seems to work fine.
tatsuya46 wrote:

wndr4300/3700v4 size is very close to being oversized


this is the same size as the last (35244) on wndr 3700v4 and this says this unit has 128MB of flash
https://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices
is there something I am missing here?

_________________
STUBBY DoT install guide----Forum Guide Lines (Please read!) --- How to get help the right way
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 0:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just because it has 128MB of flash doesn't mean it is all reserved for the firmware.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7373
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 0:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
bushant wrote:
mrjcd wrote:

Don't ever try to reset it or anything fancy (just a waste of time) TFTP 23503 wndr3700v4.img


I have not reset mine in a couple years. There was a lot of controversy a while back on that. Right or wrong it all seems to work fine.
tatsuya46 wrote:

wndr4300/3700v4 size is very close to being oversized


this is the same size as the last (35244) on wndr 3700v4 and this says this unit has 128MB of flash
https://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices
is there something I am missing here?


that would be cause the geniuses at netgear decided to neuter the bootloader so it cant use anything near it. i dont remember the exact number but i think we are within 0.1MB of the bricking size, as its happened at least 3 times prior. its probably fixable (as in to use bigger sizes) with a modified bootloader that is.. which apparently doesnt exist, & i assume if one was to revert to stock on it, stock fw wouldnt work

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ----> DD-WRT v3.0-r44583 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44586 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44586 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44586 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44583 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2587
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 0:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
bushant wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:

wndr4300/3700v4 size is very close to being oversized
this is the same size as the last (35244) on wndr 3700v4 and this says this unit has 128MB of flash
The boot log (oem) kernel command line shows mtd nand partitioned as:
256k(u-boot)ro,
256k(u-boot-env)ro,
256k(caldata),
512k(pot),
2048k(language),
512k(config),
3072k(traffic_meter),
1152k(kernel),
24448k(rootfs),
25600k@0x6c0000(firmware),
256k(caldata_backup),
-(reserved)


Where 'reserved' is:
    0x000002000000-0x000008000000 : "reserved"
Thus, 96 MB. caldata_backup prevents it from being extended beyond the firmware partition, and is the reason for the oversized firmware concern. There's a patch for openWRT to move caldata_backup to the end (then you copy your backup or caldata to it*), and extend the linux partition to 'reserved'; I had wondered what DD-WRT did with the partitions.
Anyone have a `cat /proc/mtd` handy? Smile

* This is because u-boot check caldata against the backup, but the partition location doesn't matter. Would be nice to have an optional DD build to do the same thing...keep dreaming, I know.

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.3|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 44528: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.3: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1440
Location: WCentral Indiana USA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 1:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
That is all very interesting. Might explain a brick I made quite some time ago. I really don't remember the particulars. Thank to all for the explanation.
_________________
STUBBY DoT install guide----Forum Guide Lines (Please read!) --- How to get help the right way
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5336
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 2:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
The size limitation is main reason
23503 wndr3700v4.img works so well to debrick (TFTP).
It is about the smallest size wndr3700v4 dd-wrt firmware you will find.
Most other (larger size) will stop several blocks from a successful TFTP.

About the reset - Post above refers to a non-resposive router after an install. Put it in recovery mode and TFTP to 192.168.1.1
After it fully boots it will have retained all previous settings --- note: this is where many think it is screwed because they cannot reach it at 192.168.1.1
IT WILL RETAIN ALL PREVIOUS SETTINGS so if it didn't have an IP of 192.168.1.1 you cannot reach it there .....IOW that address is set in uboot for TFTP and it don't give a damn what is in nvram.

Normal reset should use CLI 'erase nvram && reboot'
The GUI reset to factory don't work very good on 'bout half the builds and I wouldn't ever use the reset button -- besides there are several past builds where the reset button don't work anyways Razz
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5336
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 3:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
I had wondered what DD-WRT did with the partitions.
Anyone have a `cat /proc/mtd` handy? Smile


root@wndr3700v4-test:~# cat /proc/mtd
dev: size erasesize name
mtd0: 00080000 00020000 "RedBoot"
mtd1: 07940000 00020000 "linux"
mtd2: 01700000 00020000 "rootfs"
mtd3: 06100000 00020000 "ddwrt"
mtd4: 00080000 00020000 "nvram"
mtd5: 00040000 00020000 "board_config"
mtd6: 08000000 00020000 "fullflash"

from here http://mrjcd.com/junk/dd-wrt/WNDR3700v4/MTD_parts/
I put together for someone a while back --- the ReadMe is the log .... don't break your wndr3700v4 Twisted Evil
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum