New Build 35244 (BS): 03-05-2018-r35244

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 1846
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 16:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
BR07H3R wrote:
Can someone help a noob out? I have a Linksys wrt300n v1.1.. I've been running k24 builds can I run 26?
Only k2.4; the WRT300N v1.x are corerev wl0=11.
-----------------------------
Edit:
Router/Version: Netgear R6300
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r35244 giga ( 03/05/18 )
Kernel: Linux 3.10.108-dd #17960 Mon Mar 5 14:16:44 CET 2018 mips
Previous: 34929
Mode/Status: GW router inside my LAN for testing
Reset: no
Issues/Errors: Not yet tested wireless, which seems to be generally poor on recent builds.

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: Builds, Types, Modes, Changelog, Peacock, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 18.7b238|EA6900v1.1 Xwrt 380.70|DD: 36079 WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353, R6300v1,
2*E2500, WRT54*@250: GLv1.1 nks, GSv6 µ
|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.70|OEM: WGR614v10@400-WNR1000v3 mod


Last edited by jwh7 on Sun Mar 11, 2018 23:19; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
BR07H3R
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2017
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 18:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
BR07H3R wrote:
Can someone help a noob out? I have a Linksys wrt300n v1.1.. I've been running k24 builds can I run 26?
Only k2.4; the WRT300N v1.x are corerev wl0=11.


Ty I would have bricked it probably
pekkleminer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jun 2017
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 20:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: TP-Link Archer C9 v1
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r35244 std (03/05/1Cool
Kernel: Linux 4.4.120 #2687 SMP Mon Mar 5 08:20:58 CET 2018 armv7l
Previous: r35034
Mode/Status: AP only; DHCP and firewall disabled
Reset: No
Issues/Errors: None so far; uptime 5 days+; scheduled reboot executed as expected.
skaendo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jul 2017
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 23:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Cannot test mega build (ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2018/03-05-2018-r35244/broadcom/dd-wrt.v24_mega_wrt600n.bin) on WRT600N because it is the same bin file as r35034.

Does this happen often? Is this normal?
BR07H3R
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2017
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 23:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
skaendo wrote:
Cannot test mega build (ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2018/03-05-2018-r35244/broadcom/dd-wrt.v24_mega_wrt600n.bin) on WRT600N because it is the same bin file as r35034.

Does this happen often? Is this normal?


You sure it's not too big?
smask
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jan 2016
Posts: 40
Location: The sofa

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 4:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
skaendo wrote:
Cannot test mega build (ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2018/03-05-2018-r35244/broadcom/dd-wrt.v24_mega_wrt600n.bin) on WRT600N because it is the same bin file as r35034.

Does this happen often? Is this normal?


This is usually a sign that the firmware file is too large to fit on your machine. It has happened to me on several different routers.

_________________
R7000 BS K4.4 r35681 (Home)
--- Spares ---
WNDR4000 BS K3.10 r31899 (Loaned out to tenant who lives in my old home)
WNDR3700v3 BS K3.10 r33555
WNR2000v2 BS K2.6 r31221
+ A bunch of WRT54GL:s

I use my routers with pretty basic configuration. Only having WiFi + BT coexist enabled.
I don't have any USB devices connected.
jem1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Apr 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 6:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: Asus RT-AC68U A1
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r35244 std (03/05/18 )
Kernel: Linux 4.4.120 #2685 SMP Mon Mar 5 08:03:45 CET 2018 armv7l
Operating Mode: Gateway
Reset: Yes

Connection Type: Mobile Broadband
Modem: Sierra 330U

Issues/Errors: Several unknown symbols in log:


sierra_net: Unknown symbol usbnet_set_msglevel (err 0)
sierra_net: Unknown symbol usbnet_write_cmd (err 0)
sierra_net: Unknown symbol usbnet_change_mtu (err 0)
sierra_net: Unknown symbol usbnet_get_msglevel (err 0)
sierra_net: Unknown symbol usbnet_open (err 0)
sierra_net: Unknown symbol usbnet_skb_return (err 0)
sierra_net: Unknown symbol usbnet_tx_timeout (err 0)
sierra_net: Unknown symbol usbnet_read_cmd (err 0)
sierra_net: Unknown symbol usbnet_get_settings (err 0)
sierra_net: Unknown symbol usbnet_suspend (err 0)
sierra_net: Unknown symbol usbnet_start_xmit (err 0)
sierra_net: Unknown symbol usbnet_get_drvinfo (err 0)
sierra_net: Unknown symbol usbnet_status_start (err 0)
sierra_net: Unknown symbol usbnet_get_endpoints (err 0)
sierra_net: Unknown symbol usbnet_nway_reset (err 0)
sierra_net: Unknown symbol usbnet_status_stop (err 0)
sierra_net: Unknown symbol usbnet_stop (err 0)
sierra_net: Unknown symbol usbnet_disconnect (err 0)
sierra_net: Unknown symbol usbnet_link_change (err 0)
sierra_net: Unknown symbol usbnet_set_settings (err 0)
sierra_net: Unknown symbol usbnet_probe (err 0)
sierra_net: Unknown symbol usbnet_resume (err 0)
usbcore: registered new interface driver option
usbserial: USB Serial support registered for GSM modem (1-port)
usbcore: registered new interface driver qcserial
usbserial: USB Serial support registered for Qualcomm USB modem
usbcore: registered new interface driver sierra
usbserial: USB Serial support registered for Sierra USB modem
sierra 1-1:1.0: Sierra USB modem converter detected
usb 1-1: Sierra USB modem converter now attached to ttyUSB0
sierra 1-1:1.1: Sierra USB modem converter detected
usb 1-1: Sierra USB modem converter now attached to ttyUSB1
sierra 1-1:1.2: Sierra USB modem converter detected
usb 1-1: Sierra USB modem converter now attached to ttyUSB2
sierra 1-1:1.3: Sierra USB modem converter detected
usb 1-1: Sierra USB modem converter now attached to ttyUSB3
sierra 1-1:1.4: Sierra USB modem converter detected
usb 1-1: Sierra USB modem converter now attached to ttyUSB4
skaendo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jul 2017
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 6:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
BR07H3R wrote:
You sure it's not too big?


It shouldn't be, I'm running r33772 right now, and according to *just* the bin sizes r35244 (r35034) is almost 80KB smaller.

That doesn't mean that the build that was made is not too large.

smask wrote:
This is usually a sign that the firmware file is too large to fit on your machine. It has happened to me on several different routers.


That does make sense. I'll try again next time I guess.

I would try one of the different builds like 'std' or 'usb', but I don't want to lose the features that I use.

Thanks for the feedback.
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 1846
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 13:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
skaendo wrote:
I'm running r33772 right now, and according to *just* the bin sizes r35244 (r35034) is almost 80KB smaller.
smask wrote:
This is usually a sign that the firmware file is too large to fit on your machine. It has happened to me on several different routers.
Did you reset prior to flashing? This can also happen if the router runs out of memory prepping to flash. This is why install instruction say to reset prior to flashing, so that all the extra user-enabled memory-hogging features are disabled.

That said, I couldn't get my F7K8302 to flash 34929 when I was also running 33772. I ended up wget'ing and manually writing it from telnet. However, when I updated to 35244 from the GUI, it worked fine, so maybe it was a 33772 issue for some models.

If a reset doesn't help, nor flashing a smaller type first (then retry mega), and you want to try the wget route, it would also be a good idea to `stopservice httpd` first, for the memory aspect.

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: Builds, Types, Modes, Changelog, Peacock, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 18.7b238|EA6900v1.1 Xwrt 380.70|DD: 36079 WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353, R6300v1,
2*E2500, WRT54*@250: GLv1.1 nks, GSv6 µ
|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.70|OEM: WGR614v10@400-WNR1000v3 mod
skaendo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jul 2017
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 17:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
skaendo wrote:
I'm running r33772 right now, and according to *just* the bin sizes r35244 (r35034) is almost 80KB smaller.
smask wrote:
This is usually a sign that the firmware file is too large to fit on your machine. It has happened to me on several different routers.
Did you reset prior to flashing? This can also happen if the router runs out of memory prepping to flash. This is why install instruction say to reset prior to flashing, so that all the extra user-enabled memory-hogging features are disabled.

That said, I couldn't get my F7K8302 to flash 34929 when I was also running 33772. I ended up wget'ing and manually writing it from telnet. However, when I updated to 35244 from the GUI, it worked fine, so maybe it was a 33772 issue for some models.

If a reset doesn't help, nor flashing a smaller type first (then retry mega), and you want to try the wget route, it would also be a good idea to `stopservice httpd` first, for the memory aspect.


I think that you skipped over a bit of the conversation, I had mentioned that I cannot test this build (dd-wrt.v24_mega_wrt600n.bin) because the bin file is the same as r35034. That in turn led them to mention that the build intended to be released might have been too big to flash since my WRT600N has only a 8MB flash.
BR07H3R
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2017
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 21:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Not bad for ole Bessie.


Router/Version: Linksys Wrt300n v1.1
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r35244 std (03/05/18)
Kernel: Linux 2.4.37 #48448 Mon Mar 5 06:37:12 CET 2018 mips
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r34929 std (02/12/18)
Mode/Status: GATEWAY-AP WAN/WLAN-DHCP
Reset: no
Issues/Errors: good so far


Last edited by BR07H3R on Wed Mar 14, 2018 23:03; edited 4 times in total
Drek
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Sep 2008
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 21:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Not a big deal, but the button to hide the "please check out our new features" isn't working.
_________________
ASUS RT-AC68U
Rogers Ignite Cable
150mbps down/15mbps up
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 1846
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 0:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
skaendo wrote:
I think that you skipped over a bit of the conversation
No, I didn't. The firmware is more likely to have not flashed, when it appeared to have done so. That is what started the discussion of the file possibly being too big (it isn't) and my comments thereafter. Smile

That said, a hex edit compare of 35034 and 35244 would quickly determine if they really are the same or not. The non-mega file sizes did change, so maybe mega did just fail.

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: Builds, Types, Modes, Changelog, Peacock, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 18.7b238|EA6900v1.1 Xwrt 380.70|DD: 36079 WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353, R6300v1,
2*E2500, WRT54*@250: GLv1.1 nks, GSv6 µ
|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.70|OEM: WGR614v10@400-WNR1000v3 mod
skaendo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jul 2017
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 1:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
No, I didn't. The firmware is more likely to have not flashed, when it appeared to have done so. That is what started the discussion of the file possibly being too big (it isn't) and my comments thereafter. Smile

That said, a hex edit compare of 35034 and 35244 would quickly determine if they really are the same or not. The non-mega file sizes did change, so maybe mega did just fail.


I think you did. My first post on this page/in this thread is:
Quote:
Cannot test mega build (ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2018/03-05-2018-r35244/broadcom/dd-wrt.v24_mega_wrt600n.bin) on WRT600N because it is the same bin file as r35034.

Does this happen often? Is this normal?


I didn't even flash r35244 because it is the same as r35034. It would have been a waste of time since it is not r35244 but it is in fact r35034.

While I did not mention that I did check and compare the checksums, that is how I verify if the build has changed. This is not the first time that I have come across 600N builds that have not changed. See: https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=313092&highlight=&sid=19942eeee707dd3decea6c251e897281

_________________
Linksys WRT600N
DD-WRT r35452
Whammy
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Aug 2007
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 13:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: Netgear WNR3500L (V1)
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r35244 std (03/05/18 )
Kernel: Linux Linux 3.10.108-dd #17976 Mon Mar 5 14:32:56 CET 2018 mips (k3 Build)
Operating Mode: Gateway
Reset: No
Connection Type: Cable Broadband
Modem: Motorola Router

Issues/Errors: Several unknown symbols in log:
NTP
Jan 1 00:00:15 router daemon.err ntpclient[1383]: Failed resolving address to hostname 1.us.pool.ntp.org: Try again
Jan 1 00:00:15 router daemon.err ntpclient[1383]: Failed resolving server 1.us.pool.ntp.org: Network is down
Jan 1 00:00:15 router daemon.err process_monitor[1382]: cyclic NTP Update failed (servers 1.us.pool.ntp.org)
Jan 1 00:00:15 router daemon.err process_monitor[1382]: Last update failed, we need to re-update after 30 seconds
Jan 1 00:00:15 router daemon.debug process_monitor[1382]: We need to re-update after 3600 seconds
Jan 1 00:00:15 router daemon.info process_monitor[1382]: set timer: 3600 seconds, callback: ntp_main()
Jan 1 00:00:51 router daemon.err ntpclient[1484]: Failed resolving address to hostname 1.us.pool.ntp.org: Try again
Jan 1 00:00:51 router daemon.err ntpclient[1484]: Failed resolving server 1.us.pool.ntp.org: Network is down
Jan 1 00:00:51 router daemon.err process_monitor[1382]: cyclic NTP Update failed (servers 1.us.pool.ntp.org)

radvd
Jan 1 00:00:04 router daemon.warn radvd[1164]: invalid all-zeros prefix in /tmp/radvd.conf, line 11

Other Issues
I have also noticed the router will "drop" a wifi connection even though the connection is still active. This causes devices to not connect to a given site. In order to fix the issues, you have to disconnect, then re-connect the device in order for it to work. Extremely frustrating.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 4 of 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum