May have buggered my R7000 during reset..

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
windyboi
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Dec 2015
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 19:40    Post subject: May have buggered my R7000 during reset.. Reply with quote
Hi all

The build I have on my R7000 is the latest Kong build from http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/

I messed up some VLAN configs on my R7000 and did a reset using the reset button. I held for around 30 seconds as I have in the past but this time the router didn't come back up with 192.168.1.1 accessible Sad

When I ping the router from my laptop connected via ethernet, and turn it on, I do see around 25 pings go through with a TTL of 100, which I saw means the bootloader is responding. It then goes back to "Request timeout" 've since tried a 30-30-30 hard reset to no avail. Based on what I've read in the stickies, this doesn't mean it's bricked but I should try TFTP flashing..

Unfortunately this doesn't seem to do anything (I start the tftp command when the pings start going through, but it times out. I also tried with a TFTP Client GUI for MacOS and this also didn't transfer past 0 bytes.

I don't think I'm as knowledgable as most when it comes to DD-WRT but am really trying to learn. Appreciate any advice for how I can get back to a working DD-WRT router or if I'm stuffed and I've bricked it?

Thank you
Sponsor
awm34x
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Jan 2018
Posts: 98
Location: Sarasota

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 20:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've read recently that the 30-30-30 is inoperative on many routers and the R7000 (mine also) is one of them.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 22:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Google r7000 serial recovery.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
slidermike
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 1487
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
You could find the answer to how to use serial to recover the R7000 in the R7000 sticky.
https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=264152

Find "Serial". There should be 4 hits on page one and the 2nd is going to show you what you want.

As for the 30-30-30 method,
that has been obsolete for arm based routers since the early days (couple years now) and is common knowledge on the forums.

The best way to reset an arm router is via the command line.
Again, thats covered in the R7000 sticky.
""erase nvram && reboot"
minus the "" & it will reset the arm router & reboot it to a clean config.

_________________
Router currently owned:
Netgear R7800 - Router
Netgear R7000 - AP mode

R7000 specific Tips/Tricks.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=264152
windyboi
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Dec 2015
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 10:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks guys, I'll look at the serial recovery. My understanding from the Announcement thread was that because I could still ping it during bootup it meant it wasn't bricked, so I assumed the TFTP should have worked. Quite a lot of Announcements/ stickys to trawl through and some conflicting information so just wanted to get the confirmation.

Will crack on with the USB Serial recovery.

Thank you
r6300v2usr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jan 2017
Posts: 49
Location: Lindau, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 17:51    Post subject: Re: May have buggered my R7000 during reset.. Reply with quote
windyboi wrote:
Based on what I've read in the stickies, this doesn't mean it's bricked but I should try TFTP flashing..

Unfortunately this doesn't seem to do anything (I start the tftp command when the pings start going through, but it times out. I also tried with a TFTP Client GUI for MacOS and this also didn't transfer past 0 bytes.

One remark regarding the tftp process: It sounds you are running a tftp client. But you need to run a server to use the tftp feature on boot-up.
https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=304398&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

I had a similar issue with my R7000 Router: I could ping it for a few seconds then the boot process proceeded until the router froze.
During this short period the router assigns itself the IP 192.168.1.1 and tries to download a vmlinuz file via tftp from the IP address 192.168.1.2. To use this feature you have to install a tftp server which has a vmlinuz file available. This file is loaded by the router and executed as firmware. You can then log in to the router and erase the NVRAM.
As I did that I was wondering that the firmware was not flashed (after reset the original dd-wrt firmware was still available).

But be careful: When I did this with the vmlinuz file from the link above even the MAC addresses (and maybe other variables) where erased SadSadSad which never occurred when erasing nvram under dd-wrt.

So from my point of view a serial recovery is a better choice than living with corrupted MAC addresses (or re-creating the MAC addresses manually, what I did).
windyboi
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Dec 2015
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2018 22:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
I did the exact steps listed here
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1052590&sid=0e479cbada4213d8a5c61bce4de51e05#1052590

transferred the stock R7000 firmware zip using tftp, all blocks successfully completed transfer:

CFE> tftpd
Start TFTP server
Reading :: Done. 31924581 bytes read

But then after rebooting router I am in exact same problem (ping 192.168.1.1 only works for first 20 pings). Looks like the firmware didn't update.

On the plus side, I guess I now have access to the CFE> command line. I tried to "erase nvram" as someone above said but was told this was an "invalid command". Anything else I am able to do to recover my R7000? Shall I try TFTPing Kongs latest .chk instead of this R7000 zip?

Thank you
slidermike
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 1487
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2018 22:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Lol
Yeah the zip file won't do the router any good.

_________________
Router currently owned:
Netgear R7800 - Router
Netgear R7000 - AP mode

R7000 specific Tips/Tricks.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=264152
r6300v2usr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jan 2017
Posts: 49
Location: Lindau, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 6:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
windyboi wrote:
I did the exact steps listed here
I tried to "erase nvram" as someone above said but was told this was an "invalid command". Anything else I am able to do to recover my R7000? Shall I try TFTPing Kongs latest .chk instead of this R7000 zip?

As I remember correctly the following command worked:
Code:
mtd erase nvram

Again it is from the following post:
https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=304398&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

But be aware: The results are given in my previous post (even erased MAC addresses).
So good luck.
windyboi
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Dec 2015
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
slidermike wrote:
Lol
Yeah the zip file won't do the router any good.


I followed the exact steps that have been linked from the R7000 kong sticky which you told me to go to and follow. Step 9 shows to configure the TFTP Client as follows:


Is this incorrect then?

You've also told me to run erase nvram && reboot but this shows me "Invalid command"
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 9:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
That is incorrect. You have to unzip the file and only use the firmware from it.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 6356
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Frrom the CFE it is :
Code:
nvram erase

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum