New Kong test build r35030M 02-19-18 (updated)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 21:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
habeIchVergessen wrote:
hardware: EA8500

issues/errors:
- freeradius doesn't start
Code:

first
/jffs/etc/freeradius/radiusd.conf[334]: Too many closing braces

second
/jffs/etc/freeradius/radiusd.conf[278]: Configuration item "allow_core_dumps" is deprecated
/jffs/etc/freeradius/radiusd.conf[0]: Cannot use deprecated configuration item "allow_core_dumps"

radiusd starts and works after fixing radiusd.conf

- minidlna crash when windows media player queries the database (no other client tested)


Radiusd was updated you can't use an old config.
I tested minidlna just a few days ago and it worked fine a few builds ago it was broken it needed an compile clean, thus not sure if you really tested latest build. Maybe you need to clean your minidlna db.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
Sponsor
MrDoh
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Dec 2012
Posts: 647

PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 22:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Using an R7800 with DD-WRT v3.0-r35030M kongat 02/19/18. Did a reset to factory defaults via GUI, then restored my settings from r34900M.

This version is looking good except for the fact that the ntp communication (ntpclient) tries IPv6 address first. Since IPv6 isn't enabled in the firmware, this is doomed to fail, and I get a nice red bar in the log. The next try, using IPv4 works fine. Connects in the end, just those lovely red bars in the log *smile*. Flashy, but distracting.

Update: Reverted to r33770M again. Still waiting for a firmware release without a lot of red lines in the log. Too hard to see what's interesting/useful there.


Last edited by MrDoh on Wed Feb 21, 2018 9:44; edited 2 times in total
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5399
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 3:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Linksys EA8500
DD-WRT v3.0-r35030M kongat [02/19/18]
Linux 3.18.95-rc1 #281 SMP PREEMPT Mon Feb 19 22:32:49 CET 2018

working --- need to fix NTP ..maybe couple other ticks

ovpn serv good
dnscrypt good
dnssec good
port forwards good
local dns good
static leases on main & br1 good
radios good
vlan4, ath0.1, ath1.1 on br1 good
QOS good
if you want to know how to make it all work on a previous conf router you'll have to read
https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1118682#1118682
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1301

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 3:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
Linksys EA8500
DD-WRT v3.0-r35030M kongat (02/19/1Cool
Linux 3.18.95-rc1 #281 SMP PREEMPT Mon Feb 19 22:32:49 CET 2018

working --- need to fix NTP ..maybe couple other ticks

ovpn serv good
dnscrypt good
dnssec good
port forwards good
local dns good
static leases on main & br1 good
radios good
vlan4, ath0.1, ath1.1 on br1 good
QOS good
if you want to know how to make it all work on a previous conf router you'll have to read
https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1118682#1118682

oh I see Mr. K has a new build --- alrightthen I'll have to go get a beer first Rolling Eyes


Stupid question- where is the dnscrypt option? Is it in the service tab dnsmasq section? Can't find it on my r7500v2 Confused
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5399
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 3:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Forgot to mention USB SAMBA share working okyfine too

jerrytouille wrote:
Stupid question- where is the dnscrypt option? Is it in the service tab dnsmasq section? Can't find it on my r7500v2 Confused

yes sir that is where she is
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1301

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 4:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Bummer my r7500v2 doesn’t have any of those, just Enable dnsmasq, Cache dnssec data, then Local dns Sad The hardware is certainly capable.
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5399
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 4:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
jerrytouille wrote:
Bummer my r7500v2 doesn’t have any of those, just Enable dnsmasq, Cache dnssec data, then Local dns Sad The hardware is certainly capable.

hmmm, didn't know that. You aint missing much really twas a headache lately.

I would really rather just use unbound but everyone has it all screwed up these days.
You could still use dnscrpyt-proxy if you wanted. Just put it in the DNSMasq options. You'll have to dig around for the correct form -- I don't know it offhand

You could always ditch that fretgrear and get an EA8500 Mr. Green
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1301

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 5:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Another question... are you using both Mixed or AC/N & N/G-Mixed? Also CTS/RTS threshold enabled? My internet has been dropping a lot lately so just trying to tweak a few things Sad
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7456
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 5:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
internet (wan) drops or wifi drops, which one is it?
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ------> r46390 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r46390 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r46390 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r46350 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r46329 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1301

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 5:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
internet (wan) drops or wifi drops, which one is it?


Internet. Chrome kept “Resolving host...” then back online after a minute or two. I’m using Google dns
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5399
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 7:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
jerrytouille wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
internet (wan) drops or wifi drops, which one is it?


Internet. Chrome kept “Resolving host...” then back online after a minute or two. I’m using Google dns

are you IPV4 or 6 ???

also there were some issues with root DNS servers couple days back that caused what you described but has been resovled AFAIK
labo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 30 Jan 2015
Posts: 675
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 7:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
Forgot to mention USB SAMBA share working okyfine too

jerrytouille wrote:
Stupid question- where is the dnscrypt option? Is it in the service tab dnsmasq section? Can't find it on my r7500v2 Confused

yes sir that is where she is


Mrjcd,
I see you are using dnscrypt.ca site. Are you ok with that? I see it is not the fastest one for Texas Geo locations. I'm using d0wn or anatomical which are faster than the Canada server.

https://github.com/bitbeans/dnscrypt-measurement

Any comments?
Thanks

_________________
ASUS RT-AX89X: Main gateway.
QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch
Nighthawk SX10 10GbE Switch
1 X RAX120 WAP Bridge
1 X RAX75 WAP Bridge
Archer AX11000 WAP Bridge
2 X R7800 DD-WRT Mesh
2 X R9000 DD-WRT Mesh
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5399
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 8:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
labo wrote:
mrjcd wrote:
Forgot to mention USB SAMBA share working okyfine too

jerrytouille wrote:
Stupid question- where is the dnscrypt option? Is it in the service tab dnsmasq section? Can't find it on my r7500v2 Confused

yes sir that is where she is


Mrjcd,
I see you are using dnscrypt.ca site. Are you ok with that? I see it is not the fastest one for Texas Geo locations. I'm using d0wn or anatomical which are faster than the Canada server.

https://github.com/bitbeans/dnscrypt-measurement

Any comments?
Thanks

I don't have any problems with dnscrypt.ca plus all three also do dnssec. I run 11 days w/r34800M and dnscrypt.ca 3 never missed a beat.
Plus the guy running them is just a good ol boy Cool
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1301

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 8:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
jerrytouille wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
internet (wan) drops or wifi drops, which one is it?


Internet. Chrome kept “Resolving host...” then back online after a minute or two. I’m using Google dns

are you IPV4 or 6 ???

also there were some issues with root DNS servers couple days back that caused what you described but has been resovled AFAIK


IPv4. v6 disabled. 34800M also dropped :/
habeIchVergessen
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 May 2010
Posts: 418

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 10:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:

Radiusd was updated you can't use an old config.
I tested minidlna just a few days ago and it worked fine a few builds ago it was broken it needed an compile clean, thus not sure if you really tested latest build. Maybe you need to clean your minidlna db.

i bought the router less than 2 weeks ago.
installed build r34900M (02-12-18) initially. updated to r35030M yesterday.

i configured networking, wifi, openvpn and smb via gui.
just copied (nvram set) lists of mac-addresses for dhcp bindings and access list.

with the modified config radiusd doesn't start on boot.
starting as deamon requires the log-file parameter.
'startservice freeradius' doesn't work.

i recreated the minidlna database (32 MB on USB). this config is a copy from WZR-HP-AG300H.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 6
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum