Netgear R7800 (Nighthawk X4S – AC2600) - status

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 132, 133, 134 ... 153, 154, 155  Next
Author Message
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 695

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2018 6:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
This may be handy... I found the NetGear factory firmware full sources here:
https://www.downloads.netgear.com/files/GDC/2649_GPLv1.html

The latest firmware for R7800 1.0.2.44 source:
https://www.downloads.netgear.com/files/GPL/R7800-V1.0.2.44_gpl_src.tar.bz2.zip
Sponsor
faxxe
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Dec 2017
Posts: 2
Location: Graz, Austria

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2018 13:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
look at EdgeOS, drool worthy qos user options)


Was a not favourable hint Wink Bought a Router from Ubi and now i´m really happy. Really good stuff. R7800 is on his way to a new owner. Thanks this forum for some good informations and support finally

-faxxe
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 6302
Location: WPG, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 1:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
kong's r34790m is much better on qos but thats cause its back to k3.18

cpu temp is still broken on it CPU 0.48 °C / ath0 26 °C / ath1 19 °C

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36500M kongat
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36645 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36645 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36645 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36440M kongac

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
draigun
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Mar 2016
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 22:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
New ath10k firmware released: https://github.com/kvalo/ath10k-firmware/blob/master/QCA9984/hw1.0/3.5.3/firmware-5.bin_10.4-3.5.3-00053
_________________
-NETGEAR X4S R7800
-ARRIS SURFboard SB8200
---
Defunct:
-WRT1900ACv1 @ r31100M kongmv
Retired due to lackluster mac80211 driver development
-Cisco DPC3008
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 2056
Location: London,UK

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
i ve noticed my R7800 has a kind of delay/latency on
online test's and few smart phones but barely noticeable on PC's or any other devices...it goes away on router restart and builds up in a day or two...
I believe its very ISP dependant cause it works great on my PPPoE connection...no latency or so,
sadly i had very limited time to test it but i ll do some other tests with different ISP soon...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv4 .......DD-WRT 33986 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 36154 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 36410 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,No Wi-Fi)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2.......... Gargoyle OS 1.10 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 ------------DD-WRT 36500M Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP Isolation, Firewall,DNSCrypt x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---------DD-WRT 36410 Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP Isolation, Firewall,DNSCrypt x4)
Others
Netgear ProSAFE-GS105Ev2 ....(LAN Switch)


Last edited by Alozaros on Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:51; edited 1 time in total
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 6302
Location: WPG, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
maybe this is why qca k4.x qos is shit?

broadcom dir-860L a1 on the left with k4.4 r34841, qualcomm atheros r7800 on the right with k4.9 r34841

both have the exact same qos settings htb+fq_codel, same custom entries entered. the broadcom has usual latency same as k3.18 here..

https://i.imgur.com/QYBQMvP.png

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36500M kongat
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36645 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36645 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36645 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36440M kongac

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 3713
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 12:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
maybe this is why qca k4.x qos is shit?

broadcom dir-860L a1 on the left with k4.4 r34841, qualcomm atheros r7800 on the right with k4.9 r34841

both have the exact same qos settings htb+fq_codel, same custom entries entered. the broadcom has usual latency same as k3.18 here..

https://i.imgur.com/QYBQMvP.png

Does this mean it is actually limiting itself (qos memory) like constantly running into a brick wall over & over & over ???
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 6302
Location: WPG, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 23:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
i dont know, maybe, kong tried up to 16mb before but did nothing, but 16mb isnt 32mb. or the order of the list might mean something
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36500M kongat
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36645 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36645 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36645 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36440M kongac

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
stalonge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1767
Location: Fortaleza Ce Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 12:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
CPU
CPU Model
QCA IPQ806X
CPU Cores
2
CPU Features
VFP VFPv4 NEON EDSP
CPU Clock
800 MHz / 800 MHz
Load Average
1%
0.01, 0.04, 0.00
CPU Temperature
CPU 54.0 °C / ath0 55 °C

Fortaleza's Temperature 29 Censius


Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
DDwrt ...it rocks ....
1 R8500 36070 Kac CB & webserver Pydio
1 R7800 36527 AP VPN webserver JFFS & SAMBA FTP & usb HD
1 R7800 36500 Kat wifi client
1 R7000 36440 AP & webserver JFFS
1 WZR1750 36440 Kac YAMon
1 TL WR841NDv8 36168 Client Bridge
1 DDx86 Vmware 36168
1 E3000 36168 K3 @500
1 E2000 36168 K3 Wifi Client bridge
labo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 30 Jan 2015
Posts: 585
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 1:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
stalonge wrote:
CPU
CPU Model
QCA IPQ806X
CPU Cores
2
CPU Features
VFP VFPv4 NEON EDSP
CPU Clock
800 MHz / 800 MHz
Load Average
1%
0.01, 0.04, 0.00
CPU Temperature
CPU 54.0 °C / ath0 55 °C

Fortaleza's Temperature 29 Censius


Very Happy Very Happy


Stalonge,
In your signature, you have mentioned that you have a working R8500 in repeater bridge mode:
1 R8500 34900 Kac RB

Do you have this configuration working still? If you could you please pm or post the settings of the wireless radios?

I have issues in setting the R8500 as RB. As soon as I set the wireless in RB mode the router is on boot loop .
Thanks,

_________________
2 X R9000: Main router & WDS- STA
1 X R7800 WDS-STA
1 X R8000: Repeater bridge 1
1 X R7000: Repeater bridge 2
1 X RT-AC68U: Repeater bridge 3

Unused (Due to Lack of RB support in DD-WRT, currently):
R8500 MP2 version as RB.
ASUS RT-AC5300 as RB.
DLINK DIR895L as RB.
stalonge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1767
Location: Fortaleza Ce Brazil

PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 14:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
TRAC

seems like wifi led will finally works ...


Thanks devs


Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
DDwrt ...it rocks ....
1 R8500 36070 Kac CB & webserver Pydio
1 R7800 36527 AP VPN webserver JFFS & SAMBA FTP & usb HD
1 R7800 36500 Kat wifi client
1 R7000 36440 AP & webserver JFFS
1 WZR1750 36440 Kac YAMon
1 TL WR841NDv8 36168 Client Bridge
1 DDx86 Vmware 36168
1 E3000 36168 K3 @500
1 E2000 36168 K3 Wifi Client bridge
draigun
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Mar 2016
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 19:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
People over at OpenWRT/LEDE are saying Brainslayer's WiFi LED patch does work for 5GHz, but not for 2.4GHz.

The relevant OpenWRT/LEDE patch they are using: https://gist.github.com/hnyman/f4b1634613f994cc6afa6111aaf8b47e

_________________
-NETGEAR X4S R7800
-ARRIS SURFboard SB8200
---
Defunct:
-WRT1900ACv1 @ r31100M kongmv
Retired due to lackluster mac80211 driver development
-Cisco DPC3008
stalonge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1767
Location: Fortaleza Ce Brazil

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 22:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Kong 34900 wifi leds are working as should be

Blinking when have activity ...


Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
DDwrt ...it rocks ....
1 R8500 36070 Kac CB & webserver Pydio
1 R7800 36527 AP VPN webserver JFFS & SAMBA FTP & usb HD
1 R7800 36500 Kat wifi client
1 R7000 36440 AP & webserver JFFS
1 WZR1750 36440 Kac YAMon
1 TL WR841NDv8 36168 Client Bridge
1 DDx86 Vmware 36168
1 E3000 36168 K3 @500
1 E2000 36168 K3 Wifi Client bridge
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 6302
Location: WPG, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
draigun wrote:
People over at OpenWRT/LEDE are saying Brainslayer's WiFi LED patch does work for 5GHz, but not for 2.4GHz.

The relevant OpenWRT/LEDE patch they are using: https://gist.github.com/hnyman/f4b1634613f994cc6afa6111aaf8b47e


r35021 both leds are working fine

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36500M kongat
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36645 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36645 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36645 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36440M kongac

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 695

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 14:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
In the latest Kong 34900M, the WPS and WiFi leds are switched.

Also the USB3 and eSATA ports should only be on when there are devices attached, currently both USB3 leds are on and eSATA is off.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 132, 133, 134 ... 153, 154, 155  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 133 of 155
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum