Netgear R7800 (Nighthawk X4S – AC2600) - status

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 117, 118, 119 ... 146, 147, 148  Next
Author Message
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 1607
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 2:55    Post subject: Speed test Reply with quote
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest

This will test a gigabit connection. They have tested up to a 3 gigabit connection actually.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - WDS Station
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 - WDS Station (Entware 3X)
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - Client Bridge
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 (Entware-3X) - Client Bridge
MediaTek
Ubiquiti EdgeRouter X - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
Sponsor
stalonge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1766
Location: Fortaleza Ce Brazil

PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:08    Post subject: Re: USB modem 4g Reply with quote
Giuliano1969 wrote:
stalonge wrote:
@kong

31815 is first time that my usb 4g modem works in r7800..

Thanks kong and BS ...

Very Happy Very Happy


Hi Stalonge,
I use the R7800 with firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r32470M kongat (06/27/17).
So far I haven't experienced any problem...so I didn't upgraded to higher version.. Wink

I read that your are using the Kong version 31815
AND
a usb modem 4G.


-Can your confirm that your can manage a mobile connection with the R7800 & a usb 4g key ?
-May I ask you which Brand&model of usb 4g have your tested ?
-Does my Kong Version r32470M support the Usb 4g too?
-Which menus I need to set up ? Only Service->USB->UsbSupport, or have I to set up some OTHER parameters to set the WAN port as the usb 4g ?


Thanks in advance,
Giuliano


Hi ,

First of all i always try newest dd-wrt's builds .. so now i am using 33770 .

Actually i already tried my Modem Huavei E3276 with dd-wrt in some routers , most of then works flawless with last 6 mouths builds ..

Now it is installed in a R7000 ( build 33770 kong ) in my office providing support for surveillance cameras , so i cant confirm now that it can work with r7800 too, but i could bet that yes ..

For usb mobile modem device for get wan connections you just setup ... WAN CONNECTION TYPE >>>> MOBILE BROADCOM >>> and setup your proper isp parameters .. ANd it works

R7800 works fine and realible with last kong build ( 33770 ) , so you could upgrade to this one and test with your usb modem ..


luck

_________________
DDwrt ...it rocks ....
1 R8500 36070 Kac CB & webserver JFFS2
1 R7800 36175 Kat VPN webserver JFFS & SAMBA FTP & usb HD
1 R7000 36070 4G
1 WZR1750 36070 Kac YAMon
1 TL WR841NDv8 36168 Client Bridge ( LZMA test )
1 DDx86 Vmware 36168
1 E3000 36168 K3 @500
1 E2000 36168 K3 Wifi Client bridge
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1150

PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:14    Post subject: Re: Speed test Reply with quote
ian5142 wrote:
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest

This will test a gigabit connection. They have tested up to a 3 gigabit connection actually.


Aside from Cox's internally generated test they were the better of the externals.

Going for real world data Google was at 500 with phone images and battle net hit the 800's dl'ing a 26gb game.

More than happy with results especially since the cost for the gb service is the same as my 300 mb was.

Never saw the R7800 go above 17% load average. Had YAMon and a game running during dl.

_________________
Segment 1 R9000 Kong/BS
Wired AP 1 R9000 Kong/BS
Wired AP 2 R9000 Kong/BS
Wired AP 3 R9000 Kong/BS
www.desipro.de/ddwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 6158
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 11:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
r7800 cant do gigabit, nothing can unless its a custom built pc with ddwrt x64 on it...
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36175M kongat
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36168 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36168 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r35927 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36168 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 1963
Location: London,UK

PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 14:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
r7800 cant do gigabit, nothing can unless its a custom built pc with ddwrt x64 on it...


well what about if WAN is ipv6 and there is no NAT to care about can you get closer to Giga with R7800 i think ive seen a guy here that has that speed on DD-WRT router with Kong build, im not sure was it R7000 or R7800... well it could be a lie or WAP mode...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv4 .......DD-WRT 33986 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 36154 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 36168 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,No Wi-Fi)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2.......... Gargoyle OS 1.10 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 ------------DD-WRT 36175M Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP Isolation, Firewall,DNSCrypt x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---------DD-WRT 36070 Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP Isolation, Firewall,DNSCrypt x4)
Others
Netgear ProSAFE-GS105Ev2 ....(LAN Switch)
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1150

PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 14:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
r7800 cant do gigabit, nothing can unless its a custom built pc with ddwrt x64 on it...


Don't expect to either. Just happy to see the 800 area with SFE disabled. Using 5 Samsung 960 Pro NVME SSD's whose write speeds are faster than the gb pipe so no choking there either. Happy camper.

_________________
Segment 1 R9000 Kong/BS
Wired AP 1 R9000 Kong/BS
Wired AP 2 R9000 Kong/BS
Wired AP 3 R9000 Kong/BS
www.desipro.de/ddwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 3552
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 15:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
ddaniel51 wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
r7800 cant do gigabit, nothing can unless its a custom built pc with ddwrt x64 on it...


Don't expect to either. Just happy to see the 800 area with SFE disabled. Using 5 Samsung 960 Pro NVME SSD's whose write speeds are faster than the gb pipe so no choking there either. Happy camper.


Raw test across the WAN of the EA8500 I can hold above 900 using SFE.
SFE disabled less than 800 Mbps.
Yea the r7800 should do a little better Smile with its 1.7 CPU vs my 1.4

You'd also probably do somewhat better on fiber rather than cable.
All in all I think you are getting about all you can Smile

And keep in mind the normal home network with cat5e most people will never see over 945 Mbps straight thru.

Tests I done a while back.
computer1 >> EA8500 Test Router > WAN >> EA8500 Main Router >> computer2 (iPerf-server)
http://mrjcd.com/test/EA8500-speed.html
To squeeze out everything terminal / iperf3 is run on each computer --- not two terminal windows on one.

I see all this high speed stuff and .... damn, I'd kill if I had 100 Mbps .... might kill several for a gigabit connection Twisted Evil
Nilugeator
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jul 2016
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 13:35    Post subject: SFE + OpenVPN bug Reply with quote
hi,

Is the SFE bug incompatibility with Routing Policy going to be corrected?
still KO with the last release

thx in advance
Nilugeator
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jul 2016
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 14:17    Post subject: Re: SFE + OpenVPN bug Reply with quote
hi,

Is the SFE bug incompatibility with Policy Based Routing going to be corrected?
still KO with the last release

http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/5986

thx in advance
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 6158
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 20:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
like all of these dirty nat related tricks, its looking pretty dead (and buggy in its existing state). knew this would happen thats why i had zero hope for it when it appeared.. still no pbr fix, no downlink qos fix etc.. the real fix will remain as it has been, brute cpu power
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36175M kongat
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36168 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36168 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r35927 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36168 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
TXTornados
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Nov 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 15:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
If I want to return my X4S to factory settings, what are the steps that I need to follow when I use Kong's "dd-wrt-to-netgear-fw-R7800.bin" file?

I have been working with dd-wrt on my X4S and found that my ISP speed is about 100Mbps when I had 250Mbps before the flash. I have worked with the wireless settings and continue to get too many errors coming up and speeds of 50Mbps.

So I want to return to factory settings and reevaluate. I don't want to brick my router.

Thanks.
05dyna
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 769

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 17:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
TXTornados wrote:
If I want to return my X4S to factory settings, what are the steps that I need to follow when I use Kong's "dd-wrt-to-netgear-fw-R7800.bin" file?

I have been working with dd-wrt on my X4S and found that my ISP speed is about 100Mbps when I had 250Mbps before the flash. I have worked with the wireless settings and continue to get too many errors coming up and speeds of 50Mbps.

So I want to return to factory settings and reevaluate. I don't want to brick my router.

Thanks.


you might want to take a look at the FAQ.

_________________

ASUS RT‑AC86U -primary router/ Merlin build 384.5 <--Speedtest
Linksys EA8500 DD-WRT v3.0-r36175M {06/21/2018} OVPN 2.4GHz Speedtest
Linksys WRT3200ACM - out of service
ISP info: Verizon Fios | Alcatel I-211M-L
Not a Guru, just a dd-wrt aficionado...
TXTornados
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Nov 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 18:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
05dyna wrote:
TXTornados wrote:
If I want to return my X4S to factory settings, what are the steps that I need to follow when I use Kong's "dd-wrt-to-netgear-fw-R7800.bin" file?

I have been working with dd-wrt on my X4S and found that my ISP speed is about 100Mbps when I had 250Mbps before the flash. I have worked with the wireless settings and continue to get too many errors coming up and speeds of 50Mbps.

So I want to return to factory settings and reevaluate. I don't want to brick my router.

Thanks.


you might want to take a look at the FAQ.


Do I flash the bin 1st, then reset to defaults, then issue the console command "mtd erase netgear"?
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 6158
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 23:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://svn.dd-wrt.com/changeset/34039

Shocked

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36175M kongat
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36168 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36168 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r35927 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36168 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 3552
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 0:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
http://svn.dd-wrt.com/changeset/34039

Shocked

'bout damn time Cool
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 117, 118, 119 ... 146, 147, 148  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 118 of 148
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum