PROBLEMS WITH UPGRADE/DOWNGRADE from build 33375 (SOLVED)

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Author Message
alfon_sico
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Feb 2014
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 22:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
TP Link 1043 v1.8 stuck at Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r33607 std (10/25/17)

Cant upgrade or downgrade

Tried via web (traditional) and SSH (write tl-wr1043nd-webflash.bin linux) without luck

Edit: I can’t copy the firmware in tmp folder inside router. I use wget command but nothing is downloaded
Sponsor
vulgovulto
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 May 2012
Posts: 73
Location: Rio Grande do Sul / Brasil

PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 13:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router: TP-Link TL-WR941ND v2/v3
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r33555 std (10/20/17)
Kernel: Linux 3.10.107 #41928 Fri Oct 20 03:11:43 CEST 2017 mips

Errors: No, but i have not upgraded to 33375 on my tp-link 941 v2/v3, but I am no longer able to upgrade over the web. A vs 3555 already had to update with serial ... some idea of ​​what happens ... it simply resets with the webUpdate ...


Last edited by vulgovulto on Tue Nov 21, 2017 18:40; edited 1 time in total
rscm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 16:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
eladb wrote:
RSCM has the same router and version and since his "cat /proc/mtd" command gave the same results as mine (mtd7 = fullflash), I assumed my bootloader size was also 131072 as shown below:

> root@DD-WRT:~# cat /proc/mtd

> dev: size erasesize name
> mtd0: 00040000 00010000 "RedBoot"
> mtd1: 007a0000 00010000 "linux"
> mtd2: 006ae000 00010000 "rootfs"
> mtd3: 00030000 00010000 "ddwrt"
> mtd4: 00010000 00010000 "nvram"
> mtd5: 00010000 00010000 "FIS directory"
> mtd6: 00010000 00010000 "board_config"
> mtd7: 00800000 00010000 "fullflash
> root@DD-WRT:~# dd if=/dev/mtdblock7 of=/tmp/boot.bin bs=1 count=131072

> i got 131072 using a hexeditor from a dump of mtd7 (read above @epsilon) (wr1043nd_v1.8 )

I don't understand why it's bricked either since as fizkz pointed out, "nothing was written back to fullflash yet. All the writing was done to files in tmp. Assuming no typos"...there weren't any!


btw in my case i wrote the boot.bin in a linux machine (my desktop) because the router didn't have enough space to handle all the operation
i got the dump and then "scp-it" from the router, used the firmware and cat command on it and then i trasfered it back to the router. that way i could bypass the free space issue

are you sure you don't have response? ping? access via ssh/telnet? have you hard-reset it? there's plenty to test before thinking on serial cables or flash chips

ps:
i did brick my router in the past and saved it, bc of that i have cables and pins attached to the port that way in the future i could connect the serial ttl usb adapter easy
vulgovulto
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 May 2012
Posts: 73
Location: Rio Grande do Sul / Brasil

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2017 3:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
vulgovulto wrote:
Router: TP-Link TL-WR941ND v2/v3
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r33555 std (10/20/17)
Kernel: Linux 3.10.107 #41928 Fri Oct 20 03:11:43 CEST 2017 mips

Errors: No, but i have not upgraded to 33375 on my tp-link 941 v2/v3, but I am no longer able to upgrade over the web. A vs 3555 already had to update with serial ... some idea of ​​what happens ... it simply resets with the webUpdate ...
eladb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Feb 2008
Posts: 38
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 9:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Guys,

could any one out there who has a TP-Link TL-WR1043ND V1.8 router please help me out by sending me a copy of their 128KB bootloader?

You just need PUTTY and PSCP installed on your PC and then run the following commands:

On PUTTY SSH:

cat /proc/mtd

and you should see something like this:

dev: size erasesize name
mtd0: 00040000 00010000 "RedBoot"
mtd1: 007a0000 00010000 "linux"
mtd2: 006ae000 00010000 "rootfs"
mtd3: 00030000 00010000 "ddwrt"
mtd4: 00010000 00010000 "nvram"
mtd5: 00010000 00010000 "FIS directory"
mtd6: 00010000 00010000 "board_config"
mtd7: 00800000 00010000 "fullflash"

I need the first 128kb of fullflash at mtd7 (128KB=131072)

Then execute:

dd if=/dev/mtdblock7 of=/tmp/bootloader.bin bs=1 count=131072

and you should see:

131072+0 records in
131072+0 records out

If you don't have it already, download and install pscp.exe on your pc from here:
https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/latest.html

Install it into it's own PSCP directory.

Then from a normal CLI on your PC, CD to the PSCP directory where you have installed pscp.exe and execute the following, not forgetting to insert your router's IP if different from the following IP:

pscp.exe -scp root@192.168.1.1:/tmp/bootloader.bin bootloader.bin

After a few seconds, you should find 128KB of bootloader.bin in your PSCP directory.

Please let me know once done so I can give you an email address.

If anyone sees a problem in the above commands, please advise.

Cheers in advance...
rscm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 20:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
eladb wrote:
Guys,

could any one out there who has a TP-Link TL-WR1043ND V1.8 router please help me out by sending me a copy of their 128KB bootloader?
[...]

Cheers in advance...

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Niv1jIchkoh0AzhC4IkZscYvaqtkwMDH
rscm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 21:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
nope you have to manually fix it if you want to upgrade...
once you fix it, it will be ok to update to new builds...


I did manually fix it (multiple times) but still can't update normally and I have to continue extracting and injecting the bootloader into the "factory" version

Is there a way to patch something to be able to upgrade via web in the future?
eladb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Feb 2008
Posts: 38
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 23:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks very much RSCM for that bootloader.

Sorry I can't help you with your web upgrade problem. I'll be very interested to read what anyone suggests as a fix.

Cheers...
rafalB
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Oct 2015
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 21:43    Post subject: Not possible to upgrade from v3.0-r33679 Reply with quote
Hi,
I have a similar problem to the one described here in this thread.
TP-Link 1043ND v1 running version r33679 (11/04/2017)
When flashing any next release it saying unusual quickly (after 2-3 seconds) that the Upgrade is successful and device is rebooting. Once reboot is completed it shows still version r33679.
I was trying to upgrade from r33679 to version released on 2017-11-16, 2017-12-04, 2017-12-14. All attempts are ended with the same message: "Upgrade successful, Device is rebooting" but version remain the same.
Any suggestion?
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3957
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
well, it seems v1 are problematic even after those steps
did you try to erase nvram prior to update...
also if firmware size is too big it will happen like that...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44715 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44772 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 44849 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 44849 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
DAC324
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Sep 2017
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 14:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the instructions in this thread.

I can now upgrade again via web interface.
Recently, I upgraded to 34080 which works without any notable glitches.
On my device, the LEDs are now lighting green, and there is no 5 GHz WLAN available. 2.4 GHz WLAN works well.

Router Name TP-WA901ND
Router-Modell TP-Link TL-WA901ND v3
Firmware-Version DD-WRT v3.0-r34080 std (12/14/17)
Kernel Version Linux 3.18.87 #3670 Thu Dec 14 10:21:42 CET 2017 mips

Kind regards,
DAC324
rafalB
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Oct 2015
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 19:20    Post subject: Question how first DD-WRT flash will work Reply with quote
Another questions.
1) Let assume I have a new TP-Link TL-WR1043ND v3 purchased.
Would it be possible to flash DD-WRT latest firmware without problem? If yes, then what about next DD-WRT releases?
2) What is the root cause of all those problems that upgrade is not possible? Do I understand correctly that this is because BrainSlayer changed a string in firmware: "in older firmwares the string isnt tp-link but dd-wrt. i changed that string to tp-link in that firmware and this all caused the bug since my mtd partition code was looking for the wrong string to detect the bootloader size"? Would it be possible that it is reverted back to the previous string so we can do upgrades as usually we do since years instead of doing quite difficult manual manipulations?
ddwrtsv
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Dec 2017
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 7:07    Post subject: I am desperate! Reply with quote
Hi all,
I registered on this site just to beg for help. I've been battling this problem for WEEKS.

My TP-Link Archer C7 v2 is stuck at build 33375. I have another problem that might be solved with future firmware, but I can't upgrade. I am desperate- please help!


I have read the specific thread about the issue, but the instructions are incredibly unclear, even for an advanced user. I don't need to be spoon fed, but can anyone advise on how I can force the upgrade via other method (cmd line? ) so I can upgrade to future versions.

Again, I am desperate. The only other solution is to buy new hardware and money is very tight right now due to medical bills. Sad

I need instructions on how to recover from the Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std (09/19/17)
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3957
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:13    Post subject: Re: I am desperate! Reply with quote
ddwrtsv wrote:
Hi all,
I registered on this site just to beg for help. I've been battling this problem for WEEKS.

My TP-Link Archer C7 v2 is stuck at build 33375. I have another problem that might be solved with future firmware, but I can't upgrade. I am desperate- please help!


I have read the specific thread about the issue, but the instructions are incredibly unclear, even for an advanced user. I don't need to be spoon fed, but can anyone advise on how I can force the upgrade via other method (cmd line? ) so I can upgrade to future versions.

Again, I am desperate. The only other solution is to buy new hardware and money is very tight right now due to medical bills. Sad

I need instructions on how to recover from the Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std (09/19/17)


shortly how to for TL-Link WR1043NDv2 and all routers with 131072 bootloader size

1. Enable SSHd on your device

2.from Win CLI both files pscp.exe and factory in the same directory than issue this command:

pscp.exe factory-to-ddwrt.bin root@192.168.1.1:/tmp/factory-to-ddwrt.bin

or if you have internet just wget ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2017/10-10-2017-r33492/your router/factory-to-ddwrt.bin

4.than log on via ssh to routers CLI usually at 192.168.1.1

5. dd if=/dev/mtdblock6 of=/tmp/boot.bin bs=1 count=131072

6. cd /tmp

7. cat factory-to-ddwrt.bin >> boot.bin

8. mtd -f write boot.bin fullflash

9. wait for 3-5 min until W/E stops

10. reboot


to identify partition size
well, I did it in this way
1) cat /dev/mtdX > /tmp/mtdX.bin
where X is number of fullflash partition

I have tplink_tl-wr841ndv8 and in my case
it was /dev/mtd6

2) copy mtdX.bin with scp to your PC

3) download (on your PC) factory-to-ddwrt.bin (build 33375)
but I think that every firmware build for your router
should start with the same string

4) open factory-to-ddwrt.bin with ghex editor/viewer
I used a viewer in midnight commander
in my tp-link router it starts with

01 00 00 00 │ 54 50 2D 4C │ 49 4E 4B 20 │ 54 65 63 68 │ 6E 6F 6C 6F │ 67 69 65 73 ....TP-LINK Technologies

5) open mtdX.bin on your PC with ghex editor/viewer,
search some characteristic string
in my case it was "TP-LINK"
when I found that string
I moved cursor to the first number "01" before "TP-LINK"
(because firmware starts with "01")
and viewer showed the offset equals 20000 in HEX
after converting to DEC I got 131072
so my tplink_tl-wr841ndv8's bootloader size = 131072

nothing more clear and easy that that....
and dont be lazy and read all the thread if you need....

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44715 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44772 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 44849 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 44849 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
ddwrtsv
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Dec 2017
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi there,
Thanks for the quick reply. Using one of the instructions in one of these thread using Putty via telnet I bricked my Archer C7. Sad
I used the youtube video to debrick it and restored to Tp-Link US stock firmware and then used latest beta for factory-to-ddwrt.bin. I am on the newest version now!

For those who are wondering: I followed this video: Debrick TP-Link Archer C7 AC1750 WiFi router using TFTP with serial console monitor
It's a shitty video, but it works if you follow diredctions.

THANK YOU for the directions. Very nice of you to take time to write all that out. Hopefully it help someone
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 4 of 9
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum