IPv6 Configuration Issues

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Advanced Networking
Author Message
WayneV
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jun 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 20:47    Post subject: IPv6 Configuration Issues Reply with quote
HW: Netgear R6400
FW: DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std (09/19/17)
ISP: Unity Media - Stateless, X:Y:Z:c900::/64

IPv6 Type is DHCPv6 with Prefix Delegation.

With dhcp6c custom config of
Code:
interface vlan2 {
 send ia-pd 1;
 send ia-na 0;
 send rapid-commit;
 request domain-name-servers;
 script "/sbin/dhcp6c-state";
};
id-assoc pd 1 {
 prefix-interface br0 {
  sla-id 1;
  sla-len 4;
 };
};
id-assoc na 0 { };


I get a X:Y:Z:C900::/64 IP assigned to vlan2 and a X:Y:Z:C9f1::/60 IP assigned to br0. Linux boxes connected to br0 also get X:Y:Z:C9f1:: addresses.

dd-wrt routes:
Code:

X:Y:Z:c900:cf21:d288:3c14:9e96 dev vlan2  proto kernel  metric 256
X:Y:Z:c900::/64 dev vlan2  proto kernel  metric 256  expires 534122sec
X:Y:Z:c9f1::/64 dev br0  proto kernel  metric 256
fe80::/64 dev eth0  proto kernel  metric 256
fe80::/64 dev vlan1  proto kernel  metric 256
fe80::/64 dev eth1  proto kernel  metric 256
fe80::/64 dev eth2  proto kernel  metric 256
fe80::/64 dev br0  proto kernel  metric 256
fe80::/64 dev vlan2  proto kernel  metric 256
default via fe80::ae22:5ff:fe1d:4a78 dev vlan2  proto ra  metric 1024  expires 1798sec hoplimit 64
unreachable default dev lo  proto kernel  metric -1  error -101
ff00::/8 dev eth0  metric 256
ff00::/8 dev vlan1  metric 256
ff00::/8 dev eth1  metric 256
ff00::/8 dev eth2  metric 256
ff00::/8 dev br0  metric 256
ff00::/8 dev vlan2  metric 256
unreachable default dev lo  proto kernel  metric -1  error -101


Node routes:
Code:

X:Y:Z:c9f1::/64 dev enp0s31f6 proto kernel metric 256  expires 3575sec pref medium
fe80::/64 dev enp0s31f6 proto kernel metric 256  pref medium
default via fe80::526a:3ff:fec0:168c dev enp0s31f6 proto ra metric 1024  expires 1775sec hoplimit 64 pref medium


dnsmasq is used for all RAs:

Code:

interface=br0
bogus-priv
no-resolv
no-poll

dhcp-range=192.168.1.100,192.168.1.200,168h

dhcp-range=::,constructor:br0, ra-names, ra-stateless

enable-ra



All internal nodes are able to communicate with no problem. Internal nodes are able to ping the global ipv6 address of both br0 and vlan2. The router is able to ping all internal nodes AND ipv6.google.com.

The problem: internal nodes are not able to ping externally. The built in ping tool on the Unity Media modem is also not able to ping the br0 IP (the vlan2 IP is OK). So it appears there are still some routing issues on one or both of the router and modem. Any ideas? Note, there is no ability to set static routes on the Unity Media modem.
Sponsor
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 6868
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 7:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Why did you change from "sla-id 0" to "sla-id 1"?
WayneV
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jun 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 16:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried that because I was seeing "update_ia: status code for PD-1: no prefixes" in the log. It didn't help but I never changed back to sla-id 0.

An update -- after about 3 days all of a sudden everything started working. But as soon as I rebooted the router it was back to the same problem. I played around with doing factory resets on both the modem and the router in various orders and was able to get it to work once more, but never consistently. Right now it is back in the original state (LAN nodes can not reach internet). I see no difference between the NIC configurations and ip -6 routes on either the LAN nodes or the routers between when it is working and when it is not. radvd output seems identical as well. At a loss.
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 6868
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 18:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is my config:
Code:
interface vlan2 {
send rapid-commit;
send ia-pd 1;
request domain-name-servers, domain-name;
};

id-assoc pd 1 {
     prefix ::/48 infinity;
     prefix-interface br0 {
          sla-id 0;
         sla-len 16;
     };
     prefix-interface br1 {
          sla-id 1;
         sla-len 16;
     };
     prefix-interface vlan3 {
          sla-id 2;
         sla-len 16;
     }; 
};


You don't have the prefix length in your config.
WayneV
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jun 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 11:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
I had actually tried adding "prefix ::/60 infinity" but it didn't change anything.

I switched to the Advanced Tomato build (1.28.0000 -3.4-140 K26ARM USB AIO-128K) and everything just works -- been running for almost 48 hours with multiple reboots and zero issues. So there appears to be some issue between dd-wrt (dhcp6c?) and UnityMedia's Connect Box.

I have an old Linksys WRT400N I may try dd-wrt on when I get a little time. Now that I have a working config to test against.
a_l
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Jun 2011
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 12:07    Post subject: Wireshark Reply with quote
I have had a similar issue, but not sure if this is the same problem though.

Please may I ask you to check if Wireshark ( https://www.wireshark.org/ ) finds 'Router Advertisement' packets ( https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neighbor_Discovery_Protocol )

You can use this display filter:
ipv6 and icmpv6

Now, I have only started investigating the issue, which I have experienced that vanished after a reboot of my router.
For me the problem was that the default ipv6 route vanished in Ubuntu. If I requested to get the network connection setup again for my Ubuntu-computer, then it worked, but only for some time (minutes) and the route was gone again.

I poked around a lot but according to my initial search it 'seems' that the first 'Router Advertisement' first came after 400 seconds into my wireshark session - but I had started to poke to the router so I am not completely sure of all my steps before it started to work again besides rebooting the router.
Should it happen for me again I will continue from there. But it is actually a good situation that your experience is that the problem keeps showing up as it might be easier then to pinpoint where the problem is.

If you use Linux on your computer or maybe Mac you might want to run a:
Code:
netstat -nr -6


On Linux you would need to have a route that looks like:
Code:
::/0                           fe80::2332:0101:abcd:ef12  UG   100 3     3 eth0


If that route is gone, then you will no access outside of your LAN via ipv6.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Advanced Networking All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum