New Kong's test build: DD-WRT 32735M - 2017/07/18

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
CloneVince
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 May 2014
Posts: 219

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 4:55    Post subject: New Kong's test build: DD-WRT 32735M - 2017/07/18 Reply with quote
Kong's DD-WRT test build 32735M - 2017/07/18 has been released: http://desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/TEST/

Your reports for Broadcom units are greatly appreciated !
Router:
Firmware:
Kernel:
Status:
Reset:
Errors:

This build thread is for reporting successes and problem with loading this experimental test build. This is important info for developers and users. Always state your hardware and SPECIFIC build (e.g. 29440_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega-nv64k.bin). Do not ask questions about your specific router or how to configure it in this thread; create your own thread to discuss any specific problems you have or need resolved. Please also do not respond to such questions. This thread is to report info, not to seek it. Posts that do not add to understanding this build will be deleted. Make sure you know how to flash properly and the risk before using this build. It is important to adhere to these requirements, to keep this thread from becoming impossibly long and useless. If you don't know what build to flash and how to flash properly and have a means of recovery if things should go wrong, do NOT flash this experimental test build.

_________________
Unofficial Kong's release repository : http://ddwrt-kong.clonevince.fr/
Sponsor
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4354
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 5:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
There is a setting now for SFE (shortcut forwarding engine)on the Basic Setup page. By default SFE is disabled. Enabling Qos does not turn it off, at current implementation qos will not fully work, e.g. downstream limiting is currently not working. Thus be aware, that enabling it might influence your qos results.

P.S. For those who do not know about SFE yet. It accelerates NAT and thus increases WAN - LAN throughput, it is still esxperimental, only turn it on if you need it e.g. because you have a super fast subscription e.g. > 300MBit/s

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 2722
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 6:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router Model Netgear R7000
Firmware Version DD-WRT v3.0-r32735M kongac (07/18/17)
Kernel Version Linux 4.4.77 #366 SMP Tue Jul 18 01:06:33 CEST 2017 armv7l

reset: NO
update: ddup
status: operational
errors: NONE so far

ive noticed some floating speeds today, i have 100Mbit
and with SFE its there but turned off goes down to 70mbit
this is not very typical for my ISP, but consider the heavy rains around it could be the reason... so far this build works fine...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------ DD-WRT 33772 BS WAP/Switch (wired)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 40009 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 40784 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Wi-Fi OFF,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2.......... Gargoyle OS 1.11.0 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 ------------DD-WRT 40270M 4.9 Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP&Net Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DNSCrypt v2 x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---------DD-WRT 40270M Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 via Entware by mac913
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3682
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 8:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router Model: Netgear R6400

Firmware Version: DD-WRT v3.0-r32735M kongac (07/18/17)
Kernel Version: Linux 4.4.77 #366 SMP Tue Jul 18 01:06:33 CEST 2017 armv7l
Upgraded: from 32700M via ddup --flash-latest (that version crashed)
Reset: Yes, Erase NVRAM

Status: Up and running for 1 hour, basic setup as AP, 2,4GHz and 5Ghz working. SFE is off
Will test later with OpenVPN, USB, DLNA and SFE on and will report back

Errors: non so far

Temp: 64C



Big Thanks to Kong and BrainSlayer!!

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
Simple PBR (Policy Based Routing) script: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318662
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN server setup guide:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
pie1394
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 12:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Upgraded to this version with SFE-on for testing. The router hangs just after some burst web page data requests from single computer's waterfox browser. I think it requested at least 30 image files in parallel.

Now the SFE option is disabled, and the issue does not happen again with even more heavy / burst traffic.

_________________
Buffalo WZR-1750DHP
sideup66
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 14:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
router: netgear r6300v2
previous firmware: 32700m
current: 32735m

Reset: YES
errors: none so far

Not really noticing a speed difference with sfe turned on vs off as of yet. I did a reset after the issue with 32700, as i figured maybe the addition of sfe made the nvram settings unhappy somehow. After re configuring things seem stable however with it on. Im going to continue to run it and watch for a difference.
Bernadoe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Dec 2014
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 15:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router: Netgear R7000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r32735M kongac (07/18/17)
Kernel: Linux 4.4.77 #366 SMP Tue Jul 18 01:06:33 CEST 2017 armv7l
Status: Working
Reset: No
Previous: 32170
Errors: No

CPU Temperature : CPU 56.9 °C / WL0 45.8 °C / WL1 50.2 °C

OpenVPN 2.4.3 works
library versions: OpenSSL 1.0.2l 25 May 2017 LZO 2.09

Shortcut Forwarding Engine Disable If enable Wifi wl1 lost
ARP Spoofing Protection Enable

Working very well :
Router mode : DHCP
DNSMasq
Encrypt DNS
SPI Firewall
Usb
Nas, Samba, JFFS2, miniDLNA,
wl0, wl1
Vpn

Kong and BS: Thanks for all your good work!

without VPN



with VPN


Last edited by Bernadoe on Thu Jul 20, 2017 15:02; edited 4 times in total
dragonC
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 May 2015
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 16:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:
There is a setting now for SFE (shortcut forwarding engine)on the Basic Setup page. By default SFE is disabled. Enabling Qos does not turn it off, at current implementation qos will not fully work, e.g. downstream limiting is currently not working. Thus be aware, that enabling it might influence your qos results.

P.S. For those who do not know about SFE yet. It accelerates NAT and thus increases WAN - LAN throughput, it is still esxperimental, only turn it on if you need it e.g. because you have a super fast subscription e.g. > 300MBit/s


Hi <Kong>

My family is taking a R6300v2 out of the country in two days. I have upgraded it from R32170 to the R32735.

I am setting up with DHCP, OpenVPN and Samba. Does this unit (R6300v2) need a 'earse nvram' after this update (again R32170->R32735), or I may just leave the configurations intact without reset?
sideup66
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 16:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
dragonC wrote:
<Kong> wrote:
There is a setting now for SFE (shortcut forwarding engine)on the Basic Setup page. By default SFE is disabled. Enabling Qos does not turn it off, at current implementation qos will not fully work, e.g. downstream limiting is currently not working. Thus be aware, that enabling it might influence your qos results.

P.S. For those who do not know about SFE yet. It accelerates NAT and thus increases WAN - LAN throughput, it is still esxperimental, only turn it on if you need it e.g. because you have a super fast subscription e.g. > 300MBit/s


Hi <Kong>

My family is taking a R6300v2 out of the country in two days. I have upgraded it from R32170 to the R32735.

I am setting up with DHCP, OpenVPN and Samba. Does this unit (R6300v2) need a 'earse nvram' after this update (again R32170->R32735), or I may just leave the configurations intact without reset?


Personally, if a feature is added, I like to just to be safe. In my experience after flashing to this build from previous and erasing, I have no issue with stability now.
freebird317
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 17:17    Post subject: Losing GW Reply with quote
I just upgraded to DD-WRT v3.0-r32700M kongac (15/07/17)
and now, at random and not sure why, my gateway will disappear and I lose all access to the router ssh\web. I have to bounce my R8000 in order to get comm back. My syslog is not helpful.

1. how do I figure out why my gateway IP disappears (icmp timeout)
2. would it be better to reset instead of trying to fix?
3. Is there an issue with r32700m that this ver might fix?
diogosena
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 17:25    Post subject: Re: Losing GW Reply with quote
freebird317 wrote:
I just upgraded to DD-WRT v3.0-r32700M kongac (15/07/17)
and now, at random and not sure why, my gateway will disappear and I lose all access to the router ssh\web. I have to bounce my R8000 in order to get comm back. My syslog is not helpful.

1. how do I figure out why my gateway IP disappears (icmp timeout)
2. would it be better to reset instead of trying to fix?
3. Is there an issue with r32700m that this ver might fix?

3. yes, upgrade asap
freebird317
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 1:43    Post subject: cron err Reply with quote
updated to current, no reset. i am seeing cron.info cron[1799]: (crontabs) ORPHAN (no passwd entry)

I am not sure but it might have been there before upgrade. Ive seen the links about cron user. But, I am not sure if there is a pw problem, cron seems to be working. I paste echo '*/1 * * * * root logger This is a test script run at `date`' > /etc/cron.d/testcron in SSH and syslog replays it with correct date/time.

I real do not want to run a script at startup to fix it.
merrow75
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Jan 2016
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 3:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
With regards to the SFE feature.

Is it designed to benefit a client-bridge (back haul to 5 Ghz ISP router) with AP (2 Ghz) configuration?

I'm using a R6300v2 and the SFE option is not available when I set client-bridge.

Kudos to the developers for adding new features and constantly working to get the best out of the hardware.

Thank you.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3682
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 9:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
Router Model: Netgear R6400

Firmware Version: DD-WRT v3.0-r32735M kongac (07/18/17)
Kernel Version: Linux 4.4.77 #366 SMP Tue Jul 18 01:06:33 CEST 2017 armv7l
Upgraded: from 32700M via ddup --flash-latest (that version crashed)
Reset: Yes, Erase NVRAM

Status: Up and running for 1 hour, basic setup as AP, 2,4GHz and 5Ghz working. SFE is off
Will test later with OpenVPN, USB, DLNA and SFE on and will report back

Errors: non so far

Temp: 64C

Big Thanks to Kong and BrainSlayer!!


Up time without SFE now 24 hours and running great.

Some speedtesting ( I use LAN<>WAN<>LAN and a simple windows filecopy with a 2 GB large file)

Build 32170: 40 MByte/s
Build 32735 no SFE: 31 MByte/s
Build 32753 with SFE: 75 MByte/s

However after a while with SFE on, the router hangs.

So SFE indeed seems to speed things up quite a bit, but seems not stable yet.

Furthermore without SFE the router seems slower than previous versions, I will retest and report back.

EDIT:Just retested also with build 32170 and can confirm the above mentioned figures. SFE is working but buggy and speed with SFE turned off is slower than in previous versions without SFE.

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
Simple PBR (Policy Based Routing) script: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318662
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN server setup guide:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3682
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 12:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
Router Model: Netgear R6400

Firmware Version: DD-WRT v3.0-r32735M kongac (07/18/17)
Kernel Version: Linux 4.4.77 #366 SMP Tue Jul 18 01:06:33 CEST 2017 armv7l
Upgraded: from 32700M via ddup --flash-latest (that version crashed)
Reset: Yes, Erase NVRAM

Status: Up and running for 1 hour, basic setup as AP, 2,4GHz and 5Ghz working. SFE is off
Will test later with OpenVPN, USB, DLNA and SFE on and will report back

Errors: non so far

Temp: 64C


Big Thanks to Kong and BrainSlayer!!


When enabling USB NAS and after applying, the GUI became unresponsive however after closing webbrowser and login in again, the GUI was again responsive.
The following lines in syslog:
<78>1 2017-07-19T13:58:00+02:00 r6400.lievensb cron 2645 - - cron[2645]: (crontabs) ORPHAN (no passwd entry)
<14>1 2017-07-19T14:00:01+02:00 r6400.lievensb - - - : Maybe httpd had died, we need to re-exec it

Normal respone of GUI is much snappier than previous versions Smile

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
Simple PBR (Policy Based Routing) script: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318662
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN server setup guide:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum