Can't reach speed of my ISP

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
o0kane0o
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 May 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 1:10    Post subject: Can't reach speed of my ISP Reply with quote
Hi,

I've been using my Asus RT-AC66U and DD-WRT since two years without any trouble. It alway been configure correctly and everything was fine. I just needed to upgrade it once to be able to SSH into it, a 2016 beta release, I don't remember which one exactly.

Anyway, recently, my ISP upgraded my download speed to 300mbps, for free! So I wanted to enjoy this speed, so I did a speed test on Ookla, I reached around 70mbps, then I went in my config to see what's wrong, and I disabled my QoS, retested the speed, again, same speed. Then I switch from PPPoE to DHCP, I was to reach around 105mbps. Then I did some research to try to find if I'd configured something wrong, couldn't find nothing.

I then connected my computer directly in my ISP router, did a speed test, bang 280 mbps! Now I know the my router is the culprit. I did some more research on my router to make sure that it can handle this speed, and there was no problem.

So I reset the whole DD-WRT config to default and got the same result on Ookla, around 70mbps on PPPoE and 100mbps on DHCP.

Next I re-flashed the router to the default Asus firmware and test it again. With PPPoE I can reach 160mbps and on DHCP I reach 260mbps.

Obviously, there's something going on with DD-WRT (and PPPoE, but that another story I guess). Did you guys ran into this kind of problem too, and were you be able to find how to fix it. I really, really like DD-WRT and I would like to use it again. But right now, I'm running on the manufacturer latest release.
Sponsor
fatalhalt
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Oct 2015
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 3:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm not an expert, but your Asus RT-AC66U is most likely held back by CPU speed as DD-WRT does NAT translations in software and there's no hardware acceleration that I'm aware of.
leadboots5
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 4:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
As fatalhalt said its ddwrt doing software nat where as the asus firmware does hardware. You could try merlin firmware. I think it has hardware nat?

note: don't go between merlin and ddwrt. always go back to the stock between.

_________________
Linksys E3000
ASUS RT-AC68U
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3868
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 5:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
well the first version of ASUS RT-AC66U has only 600Mhz CPU
where the second version of ASUS RT-AC66U (B1) has dual core
800Mhz but is not DD-WRT supported ...
so if you have the first one slow speed is certain...
DD-WRT does not do CTF (cut trough forwarding) due to security reasons, it performs without it and to utilise good speeds using DD-WRT you'd need better router....not that old, something in range of R7000, R7500, R7800
otherwise use the stock firmware or so..

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 1281

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 6:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
well the first version of ASUS RT-AC66U has only 600Mhz CPU
where the second version of ASUS RT-AC66U (B1) has dual core
800Mhz but is not DD-WRT supported ...
so if you have the first one slow speed is certain...
DD-WRT does not do CTF (cut trough forwarding) due to security reasons, it performs without it and to utilise good speeds using DD-WRT you'd need better router....not that old, something in range of R7000, R7500, R7800
otherwise use the stock firmware or so..

R8000 not R7800. The later is for 1gbps. With an 7000 or 6400 if you don't want to spend much money you are good.
PS. Well actually R8000 is more expensive so unless it's really needed a dual 5ghz band then it's not worth it.

_________________
R6400v2 (boardID:30) - Kong 36480 running since 03/09/18 - (AP - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7800 - BS 31924 running since 05/26/17 - (AP - OpenVPN Client - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7000 - BS 30771 running since 12/16/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - OpenVPN Server - Transmission - DDNS - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R6250 - BS 29193 running since 03/20/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - DNSMasq - AdBlocking)
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 8:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
leadboots5 wrote:
As fatalhalt said its ddwrt doing software nat where as the asus firmware does hardware. You could try merlin firmware. I think it has hardware nat?

note: don't go between merlin and ddwrt. always go back to the stock between.


You can go straight to rmerlin. I've done it many times. For all intents and purposes rmerlin is stock firmware with fixes.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3868
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 8:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Xeon2k8 wrote:

R8000 not R7800. The later is for 1gbps. With an 7000 or 6400 if you don't want to spend much money you are good.
PS. Well actually R8000 is more expensive so unless it's really needed a dual 5ghz band then it's not worth it.


"Xeon2k8"
except R9000 (too expensive), R7800 is the best router/CPU/price among Netgear R series Smile
R8000 has same CPU like R7000 so not much idea to compare as its price is high
and performance is same....so that's why i didnt mention R8000.R8500

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 1281

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 8:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
Xeon2k8 wrote:

R8000 not R7800. The later is for 1gbps. With an 7000 or 6400 if you don't want to spend much money you are good.
PS. Well actually R8000 is more expensive so unless it's really needed a dual 5ghz band then it's not worth it.


"Xeon2k8"
except R9000 (too expensive), R7800 is the best router/CPU/price among Netgear R series Smile
R8000 has same CPU like R7000 so not much idea to compare as its price is high
and performance is same....so that's why i didnt mention R8000.R8500

Yeap true true, now with the R7800 being cheaper than both unless you REALLY need some special feature those two have (link aggregation(R8500), dual 5ghz band, etc) then is not worth it at all.

_________________
R6400v2 (boardID:30) - Kong 36480 running since 03/09/18 - (AP - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7800 - BS 31924 running since 05/26/17 - (AP - OpenVPN Client - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7000 - BS 30771 running since 12/16/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - OpenVPN Server - Transmission - DDNS - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R6250 - BS 29193 running since 03/20/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - DNSMasq - AdBlocking)
hubermania
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Aug 2012
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 13:40    Post subject: Re: Can't reach speed of my ISP Reply with quote
o0kane0o wrote:
...Asus RT-AC66U and DD-WRT since two years without any trouble.
Anyway, recently, my ISP upgraded my download speed to 300mbps, for free! ... I reached around 70mbps, ...I switch from PPPoE to DHCP, I was to reach around 105mbps.

AC66U gen 1 with a 600MHz CPU, you'd be lucky to hit 150mbps. "Brainslayer's Approximation" for DD-WRT says Mbps=CPU/4. Like others have said, DD-WRT does NAT in software, not hardware CTF "cut-through forwarding". Add a router-side PPTP or VPN tunnel, and it'll be even slower.

_________________
[Broadcom] Asus rt-ac66u r35531 ('66 should only be factory reset through the DD UI)
Fix RT-AC66U "wl1 [2.4 GHz TurboQAM]". DD-WRT failsafe UI @ http|https://169.254.255.1/
o0kane0o
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 May 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 3:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks guy, you really help me there. I'll try rmerlin. But I think I just go and see for a R7800.
hubermania
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Aug 2012
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 0:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Happy Shopping. Routers are like cars and boats: Upgrade-itis is contagious. Even though I have pitiful 30mbps service, my '66 struggles to pull 15mbps through the OpenVPN client.
_________________
[Broadcom] Asus rt-ac66u r35531 ('66 should only be factory reset through the DD UI)
Fix RT-AC66U "wl1 [2.4 GHz TurboQAM]". DD-WRT failsafe UI @ http|https://169.254.255.1/
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum