Convert Netgear R6700 to R7000 WORKS!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
nonsence
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Oct 2006
Posts: 25
Location: Chicago USA & Berlin Germany

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 17:16    Post subject: Convert Netgear R6700 to R7000 WORKS! Reply with quote
I went ahead and converted my R6700 to an R7000. The reason I did it is because OpenVPN is broken with PIA on all Kong firmwares that I tested on the R6700. The R7000 is better supported and people on the forum have reported that OpenVPN is broken on the 2016-12-02 build, but earlier firmware versions work well. I have had zero problems and am running Kong DD-WRT v3.0-r30870M kongac (11/10/16) for the R7000.

To do the conversion the first thing you need is the board ID's so here they are:

R6700 Board ID: U12H270T10_NETGEAR
R6900 Board ID: U12H270T11_NETGEAR
R7000 Board ID: U12H270T00_NETGEAR

1) I first dumped DD-WRT and loaded the original (initial release) Netgear firmware for the R6700. The firmware is available on Netgear's site.

2) I then followed the instructions to unlock telnet on the R6700. The R6700 requires the probe packets on UDP port 23 so I used the New TelnetEnable on Windows.

Instructions:
https://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/netgear/telnet.console

New TelnetEnable for Windows:
https://github.com/LuKePicci/NetgearTelnetEnable/tree/master/binaries/windows

To use TelnetEnable open a command prompt and then type the following (assuming your R6700 is using Netgear firmware factory defaults):
Quote:
telnetenable.exe 192.168.1.1 LanMacAdd admin password

Where LanMacAdd is the LAN MAC address for your router. Don't screw up and use the WAN MAC address like I did and waste two hours. Also, the MAC address must be entered without any of the colons (no :'s ) and all uppercase letters. Here is an example:
Quote:
telnetEnable.exe 192.168.1.1 000FB5A2BE26 admin password

Then press enter.

3) Once telnet is enabled, use your telnet program of choice (putty is mine) and establish a connection to 192.168.1.1. Then type:
Quote:
burnboardid U12H270T00_NETGEAR

Press enter and then type:
Quote:
nvram erase && reboot

and press enter.

4) After that, log back into the router web GUI and install your DD-WRT R7000 build of choice.

Hope this is helpful to somebody.
non

_________________
Netgear R6700 converted to R7000 with Kong: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=306430
Upgrade WRT54GL 1.1 with 32 Meg Memory http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=26174

Precision Video Calibration
Craig Rounds CIR-Engineering
www.cir-engineering.com
Sponsor
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4354
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 20:21    Post subject: Re: Convert Netgear R6700 to R7000 WORKS! Reply with quote
nonsence wrote:
I went ahead and converted my R6700 to an R7000. The reason I did it is because OpenVPN is broken with PIA on all Kong firmwares that I tested on the R6700. The R7000 is better supported and people on the forum have reported that OpenVPN is broken on the 2016-12-02 build, but earlier firmware versions work well. I have had zero problems and am running Kong DD-WRT v3.0-r30870M kongac (11/10/16) for the R7000.


Openvpn is working fine in all of my builds, only custom configs are broken, since custom configs need to be updated for the new openvpn.

The R6700 build (and hw) is 100% identical to the R7000, only the boardid and ident string are different.

Thus whatever you did is completely unnecessary.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
nonsence
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Oct 2006
Posts: 25
Location: Chicago USA & Berlin Germany

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 23:59    Post subject: Re: Convert Netgear R6700 to R7000 WORKS! Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:
nonsence wrote:
I went ahead and converted my R6700 to an R7000. The reason I did it is because OpenVPN is broken with PIA on all Kong firmwares that I tested on the R6700. The R7000 is better supported and people on the forum have reported that OpenVPN is broken on the 2016-12-02 build, but earlier firmware versions work well. I have had zero problems and am running Kong DD-WRT v3.0-r30870M kongac (11/10/16) for the R7000.


Openvpn is working fine in all of my builds, only custom configs are broken, since custom configs need to be updated for the new openvpn.

The R6700 build (and hw) is 100% identical to the R7000, only the boardid and ident string are different.

Thus whatever you did is completely unnecessary.

Well I have your R7000 version DD-WRT v3.0-r30870M kongac (11/10/16), and for the first time PIA has not lost connection. I could not maintain connection with any of the R6700 builds. I'll let time go by and see if the connection to PIA stays solid.

https://www.myopenrouter.com/forum/open-vpn-broken-dd-wrt-kong-mod-netgear-r7000-2016-12-18

Best,
non

_________________
Netgear R6700 converted to R7000 with Kong: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=306430
Upgrade WRT54GL 1.1 with 32 Meg Memory http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=26174

Precision Video Calibration
Craig Rounds CIR-Engineering
www.cir-engineering.com
nonsence
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Oct 2006
Posts: 25
Location: Chicago USA & Berlin Germany

PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 16:11    Post subject: Re: Convert Netgear R6700 to R7000 WORKS! Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:
nonsence wrote:
I went ahead and converted my R6700 to an R7000. The reason I did it is because OpenVPN is broken with PIA on all Kong firmwares that I tested on the R6700. The R7000 is better supported and people on the forum have reported that OpenVPN is broken on the 2016-12-02 build, but earlier firmware versions work well. I have had zero problems and am running Kong DD-WRT v3.0-r30870M kongac (11/10/16) for the R7000.


Openvpn is working fine in all of my builds, only custom configs are broken, since custom configs need to be updated for the new openvpn.

The R6700 build (and hw) is 100% identical to the R7000, only the boardid and ident string are different.

Thus whatever you did is completely unnecessary.

Seems you are quite right. I came home last night to my WAN down because PIA had stopped working. I'm really not sure why OpenVPN is giving me so much trouble.

This morning it dropped the connection three times according to the log, but reconnected its self.

Frustrating Sad

non

_________________
Netgear R6700 converted to R7000 with Kong: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=306430
Upgrade WRT54GL 1.1 with 32 Meg Memory http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=26174

Precision Video Calibration
Craig Rounds CIR-Engineering
www.cir-engineering.com
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 1324

PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 20:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
You can delete this thread now Very Happy
nonsence
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Oct 2006
Posts: 25
Location: Chicago USA & Berlin Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 21:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, at least with the new board ID I was able to flash the Netgear R7000 firmware and unlock the features of the R7000 on Netgear's firmware.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1060040#1060040

Quote:

So I went through network hell today trying to get my TiVo service to connect and it turns out that Xfinity is now blocking the ports that TiVo needs...

Anyway, during my diagnostics I flashed back to the Netgear firmware. I was able to use the newest R7000 firmware and the 600 Mbps option was available and I was able to turn it on. The router is an R7000 as far as Netgear is concerned. So if you want to run the R7000 firmware, just change the board ID to the R7000.

non


non

_________________
Netgear R6700 converted to R7000 with Kong: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=306430
Upgrade WRT54GL 1.1 with 32 Meg Memory http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=26174

Precision Video Calibration
Craig Rounds CIR-Engineering
www.cir-engineering.com
wholeeo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Feb 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 1:59    Post subject: Re: Convert Netgear R6700 to R7000 WORKS! Reply with quote
nonsence wrote:
I went ahead and converted my R6700 to an R7000. The reason I did it is because OpenVPN is broken with PIA on all Kong firmwares that I tested on the R6700. The R7000 is better supported and people on the forum have reported that OpenVPN is broken on the 2016-12-02 build, but earlier firmware versions work well. I have had zero problems and am running Kong DD-WRT v3.0-r30870M kongac (11/10/16) for the R7000.

To do the conversion the first thing you need is the board ID's so here they are:

R6700 Board ID: U12H270T10_NETGEAR
R6900 Board ID: U12H270T11_NETGEAR
R7000 Board ID: U12H270T00_NETGEAR

1) I first dumped DD-WRT and loaded the original (initial release) Netgear firmware for the R6700. The firmware is available on Netgear's site.

2) I then followed the instructions to unlock telnet on the R6700. The R6700 requires the probe packets on UDP port 23 so I used the New TelnetEnable on Windows.

Instructions:
https://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/netgear/telnet.console

New TelnetEnable for Windows:
https://github.com/LuKePicci/NetgearTelnetEnable/tree/master/binaries/windows

To use TelnetEnable open a command prompt and then type the following (assuming your R6700 is using Netgear firmware factory defaults):
Quote:
telnetenable.exe 192.168.1.1 LanMacAdd admin password

Where LanMacAdd is the LAN MAC address for your router. Don't screw up and use the WAN MAC address like I did and waste two hours. Also, the MAC address must be entered without any of the colons (no :'s ) and all uppercase letters. Here is an example:
Quote:
telnetEnable.exe 192.168.1.1 000FB5A2BE26 admin password

Then press enter.

3) Once telnet is enabled, use your telnet program of choice (putty is mine) and establish a connection to 192.168.1.1. Then type:
Quote:
burnboardid U12H270T00_NETGEAR

Press enter and then type:
Quote:
nvram erase && reboot

and press enter.

4) After that, log back into the router web GUI and install your DD-WRT R7000 build of choice.

Hope this is helpful to somebody.
non


Hi,

What operating system did you use for telnetenable? I am getting an error on Windows 10 where it states the app is incompatible.
nonsence
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Oct 2006
Posts: 25
Location: Chicago USA & Berlin Germany

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 16:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Probably I used one of my Windows 7 machines.

non

_________________
Netgear R6700 converted to R7000 with Kong: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=306430
Upgrade WRT54GL 1.1 with 32 Meg Memory http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=26174

Precision Video Calibration
Craig Rounds CIR-Engineering
www.cir-engineering.com
BriNoLie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Mar 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:19    Post subject: Enable Telnet on Windows 10 Reply with quote
If you want to do this on the r6700, you have to use the telnetenable.py script (running python 2.7--3.x doesn't work due to problems with the libraries from my trials)

You can download it from:
https://github.com/insanid/netgear-telenetenable

it worked just fine with admin password on a stock r6700 router.
(Don't forget to import pycrypto though!)

Good luck!
r6700v2-hacker
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 May 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 5:19    Post subject: No burnboardid binary in R6700V2 Reply with quote
I bought the R6700V2 from Amazon and it came with stock firmware v1.1.0.24. However it doesn't have the burnboardid binary in it.

Any pointers on either getting the binary from somewhere (another firmware build?), or some way to echo <board id> > /proc/something?

I really want to convert to R7000 so I can try more firmwares on it.
TODSP
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jun 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2018 20:09    Post subject: Re: Convert Netgear R6700 to R7000 WORKS! Reply with quote
nonsence wrote:
I went ahead and converted my R6700 to an R7000. The reason I did it is because OpenVPN is broken with PIA on all Kong firmwares that I tested on the R6700. The R7000 is better supported and people on the forum have reported that OpenVPN is broken on the 2016-12-02 build, but earlier firmware versions work well. I have had zero problems and am running Kong DD-WRT v3.0-r30870M kongac (11/10/16) for the R7000.

To do the conversion the first thing you need is the board ID's so here they are:

R6700 Board ID: U12H270T10_NETGEAR
R6900 Board ID: U12H270T11_NETGEAR
R7000 Board ID: U12H270T00_NETGEAR

1) I first dumped DD-WRT and loaded the original (initial release) Netgear firmware for the R6700. The firmware is available on Netgear's site.

2) I then followed the instructions to unlock telnet on the R6700. The R6700 requires the probe packets on UDP port 23 so I used the New TelnetEnable on Windows.

Instructions:
https://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/netgear/telnet.console

New TelnetEnable for Windows:
https://github.com/LuKePicci/NetgearTelnetEnable/tree/master/binaries/windows

To use TelnetEnable open a command prompt and then type the following (assuming your R6700 is using Netgear firmware factory defaults):
Quote:
telnetenable.exe 192.168.1.1 LanMacAdd admin password

Where LanMacAdd is the LAN MAC address for your router. Don't screw up and use the WAN MAC address like I did and waste two hours. Also, the MAC address must be entered without any of the colons (no :'s ) and all uppercase letters. Here is an example:
Quote:
telnetEnable.exe 192.168.1.1 000FB5A2BE26 admin password

Then press enter.

3) Once telnet is enabled, use your telnet program of choice (putty is mine) and establish a connection to 192.168.1.1. Then type:
Quote:
burnboardid U12H270T00_NETGEAR

Press enter and then type:
Quote:
nvram erase && reboot

and press enter.

4) After that, log back into the router web GUI and install your DD-WRT R7000 build of choice.

Hope this is helpful to somebody.
non



is it possible to convert an r7000 to an r7000p
BR07H3R
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Dec 2017
Posts: 121

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2018 20:31    Post subject: Re: Convert Netgear R6700 to R7000 WORKS! Reply with quote
TODSP wrote:
nonsence wrote:
I went ahead and converted my R6700 to an R7000. The reason I did it is because OpenVPN is broken with PIA on all Kong firmwares that I tested on the R6700. The R7000 is better supported and people on the forum have reported that OpenVPN is broken on the 2016-12-02 build, but earlier firmware versions work well. I have had zero problems and am running Kong DD-WRT v3.0-r30870M kongac (11/10/16) for the R7000.

To do the conversion the first thing you need is the board ID's so here they are:

R6700 Board ID: U12H270T10_NETGEAR
R6900 Board ID: U12H270T11_NETGEAR
R7000 Board ID: U12H270T00_NETGEAR

1) I first dumped DD-WRT and loaded the original (initial release) Netgear firmware for the R6700. The firmware is available on Netgear's site.

2) I then followed the instructions to unlock telnet on the R6700. The R6700 requires the probe packets on UDP port 23 so I used the New TelnetEnable on Windows.

Instructions:
https://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/netgear/telnet.console

New TelnetEnable for Windows:
https://github.com/LuKePicci/NetgearTelnetEnable/tree/master/binaries/windows

To use TelnetEnable open a command prompt and then type the following (assuming your R6700 is using Netgear firmware factory defaults):
Quote:
telnetenable.exe 192.168.1.1 LanMacAdd admin password

Where LanMacAdd is the LAN MAC address for your router. Don't screw up and use the WAN MAC address like I did and waste two hours. Also, the MAC address must be entered without any of the colons (no :'s ) and all uppercase letters. Here is an example:
Quote:
telnetEnable.exe 192.168.1.1 000FB5A2BE26 admin password

Then press enter.

3) Once telnet is enabled, use your telnet program of choice (putty is mine) and establish a connection to 192.168.1.1. Then type:
Quote:
burnboardid U12H270T00_NETGEAR

Press enter and then type:
Quote:
nvram erase && reboot

and press enter.

4) After that, log back into the router web GUI and install your DD-WRT R7000 build of choice.

Hope this is helpful to somebody.
non



is it possible to convert an r7000 to an r7000p

I don't recall that being possible Sad
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7231
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2018 21:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Different hardware.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum