Quick Netgear R6700 question

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
MrPickles
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jan 2017
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2017 23:13    Post subject: Quick Netgear R6700 question Reply with quote
Knowing that the R7000 is very popular in the forum, as well as supported really well by kong's builds, I've read online that the R6700 is "almost" the same device give or take a couple of ports or so.

It's also running about $50 less expensive on the net.

From reading the forums, it looks like the R7000 can be overclocked if needed and has a great wifi driver.

Just wondering if anyone has had good experience with the R6700, or if there's a performance & ddwrt advantage to the R7000.

Thanks for any advice,
MP
Sponsor
jimfree
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Apr 2011
Posts: 196
Location: Sacramento CA

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 1:12    Post subject: R6300v2 Reply with quote
I can't speak to a direct comparison between the R7000 and R6700v2. I have had the R6700v2 for well over a year now and have been using both builds from BS and Kong. At least until recently when the Brainslayer's builds got too big for the R6700v2. Just to clarify the original R6700(v1) is not the same as v2.

I have been using Kong's builds almost since day 1 before they went into the DD-WRT SVN and were included in the BS builds. Except for a few rocky paths in the early days they all have been pretty solid. The most specific differences between the R7000 and R6700v2 that I see as a novice reading the specs and the forums is the R7000 has a faster CPU (1000 vs 800) and external antennas. Otherwise the "guts" appear to be the same. Looking at pictures of the R7000 board layout, it is pretty much identical to the R6700v2.

I have seen postings were some have increased the clock speed on the R6700v2 but I don't see that the performance increase is that great. I don't have high speed internet, stuck with DSL speed of 15mbs. That kind of negates the need for additional speed gained by overclocking the R7000.

I do a lot of DLNA video streaming and that has been relatively trouble free. I have a 4TByte drive attached and have no problems with SAMBA or miniDLNA. The rare instances with the streaming has been a problem it has been wifi issues. I can't tell if it is the client or the router but usually just restarting the client fixes it. But that is rare, less than one a month.

I also have 4 IP camera's connected via wifi. One of them frequently drops but the other 3 are rock solid. The one that drops is the oldest one I have, also happens to be the farthest from the router.

I have one LG smart tv, a ps3, xbox360 and two bluray players attached via wifi. Even the refrigerator is connected. Several Apple and Android devices connected using the 5GHz wifi. Everything runs smoothly. In short, I'm happy with the R6700v2.

Currently using Kong's 31870M build.
MrPickles
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jan 2017
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 4:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks, jimfree.

Some really great information on v2. Appreciate your time & reply!

Very helpful.

Cheers,
MP
nolimitz
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 7:23    Post subject: Re: R6300v2 Reply with quote
jimfree wrote:
I can't speak to a direct comparison between the R7000 and R6700v2. I have had the R6700v2 for well over a year now and have been using both builds from BS and Kong. At least until recently when the Brainslayer's builds got too big for the R6700v2. Just to clarify the original R6700(v1) is not the same as v2.

I have been using Kong's builds almost since day 1 before they went into the DD-WRT SVN and were included in the BS builds. Except for a few rocky paths in the early days they all have been pretty solid. The most specific differences between the R7000 and R6700v2 that I see as a novice reading the specs and the forums is the R7000 has a faster CPU (1000 vs 800) and external antennas. Otherwise the "guts" appear to be the same. Looking at pictures of the R7000 board layout, it is pretty much identical to the R6700v2.

I have seen postings were some have increased the clock speed on the R6700v2 but I don't see that the performance increase is that great. I don't have high speed internet, stuck with DSL speed of 15mbs. That kind of negates the need for additional speed gained by overclocking the R7000.

I do a lot of DLNA video streaming and that has been relatively trouble free. I have a 4TByte drive attached and have no problems with SAMBA or miniDLNA. The rare instances with the streaming has been a problem it has been wifi issues. I can't tell if it is the client or the router but usually just restarting the client fixes it. But that is rare, less than one a month.

I also have 4 IP camera's connected via wifi. One of them frequently drops but the other 3 are rock solid. The one that drops is the oldest one I have, also happens to be the farthest from the router.

I have one LG smart tv, a ps3, xbox360 and two bluray players attached via wifi. Even the refrigerator is connected. Several Apple and Android devices connected using the 5GHz wifi. Everything runs smoothly. In short, I'm happy with the R6700v2.

Currently using Kong's 31870M build.


i think you mean R6300v2 (which is in your subject), not R6700. OPs question is about R6700

Amazon was shipping R6700 (or v1) earlier, but by the end of March 2017, Netgear silently released v2 and some forum members received R6700 v2 from Amazon, which did not flash dd-wrt.

i spoke to Netgear Representative on Amazon and he/she confirmed its same CPU and same wireless chips as R6700 v1. i was about to buy one but then i changed plans so i have no idea if its been supported yet. just be careful if you're looking for one and want it to work out of the box.
jimfree
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Apr 2011
Posts: 196
Location: Sacramento CA

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 14:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sheesh! I did it again, saw what I wanted to see instead of what is actually there. Sorry to all, I have the R6300v2 not R6700. Now you know why I don't have thousands of posts! I need to start reading a few times before popping off a reply. Lets call it a "senior moment" Remember, THINK before putting keyboard in action!
MrPickles
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jan 2017
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 16:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
No worries, fellas. It happens...

I appreciate your well intentions & information.

I'll likely go with a r7000. Price difference not a big deal.

MP
nolimitz
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 17:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
MrPickles wrote:
No worries, fellas. It happens...

I appreciate your well intentions & information.

I'll likely go with a r7000. Price difference not a big deal.

MP


why R7000? few days back, R7500v2 was at the same price, around $160. more processing power, do some research about R7500v2/R7800 and choose what fits your needs
MrPickles
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jan 2017
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 20:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sure, I can do that. Will take a look at both options you recommended.

Thanks for the info nolimit,
MP
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 1320

PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2017 7:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
@nolimitz, isn't the R7000 more well supported and one of the most rock solid on ddwrt? I'm buying another netgear apart from the ones on my signature and I was going certainly by the R7000 but now your post have made me wonder once again if I should go for R7800 or R7500. My fear was that they weren't so trouble-free as R7000 is. I just need more wifi power not CPU though..
_________________
R6400v2 (boardID:30) - Kong 36480 running since 03/09/18 - (AP - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7800 - BS 31924 running since 05/26/17 - (AP - OpenVPN Client - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7000 - BS 30771 running since 12/16/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - OpenVPN Server - Transmission - DDNS - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R6250 - BS 29193 running since 03/20/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - DNSMasq - AdBlocking)
nolimitz
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 19:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Xeon2k8 wrote:
@nolimitz, isn't the R7000 more well supported and one of the most rock solid on ddwrt? I'm buying another netgear apart from the ones on my signature and I was going certainly by the R7000 but now your post have made me wonder once again if I should go for R7800 or R7500. My fear was that they weren't so trouble-free as R7000 is. I just need more wifi power not CPU though..


what are you trying to do with the new router exactly?

you might not need R7000 if its only for wifi coverage, it really depends what you'd like to cover, maybe you'll be fine with R6300v2/R6250 etc.

what i've seen is that, difference of coverage and performance as an AP for R6300v2 vs R7000 is not that much, at least in the house i tested in. YMMV, walls and construction material make a huge difference.
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 1320

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 21:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
nolimitz wrote:
Xeon2k8 wrote:
@nolimitz, isn't the R7000 more well supported and one of the most rock solid on ddwrt? I'm buying another netgear apart from the ones on my signature and I was going certainly by the R7000 but now your post have made me wonder once again if I should go for R7800 or R7500. My fear was that they weren't so trouble-free as R7000 is. I just need more wifi power not CPU though..


what are you trying to do with the new router exactly?

you might not need R7000 if its only for wifi coverage, it really depends what you'd like to cover, maybe you'll be fine with R6300v2/R6250 etc.

what i've seen is that, difference of coverage and performance as an AP for R6300v2 vs R7000 is not that much, at least in the house i tested in. YMMV, walls and construction material make a huge difference.

Yeah I understand what you mean. Now that I'm in Germany and here they are pretty severe with torrenting I think I will have to buy a vpn and start using it so probably will need more cpu power than an R7000. About the coverage it's true, maybe it's better to buy an AP since moving from R7000 to 7800 won't make much difference, and yes the walls are made of thick solid bricks.

_________________
R6400v2 (boardID:30) - Kong 36480 running since 03/09/18 - (AP - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7800 - BS 31924 running since 05/26/17 - (AP - OpenVPN Client - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7000 - BS 30771 running since 12/16/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - OpenVPN Server - Transmission - DDNS - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R6250 - BS 29193 running since 03/20/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - DNSMasq - AdBlocking)
r6700v2-hacker
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 May 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 5:32    Post subject: R6700v2 Reply with quote
I got the r6700V2 from Amazon and it came with firmware v1.1.0.24. It doesn't have burnboardid. Thinking whether to downgrade to R6700 firmware to update the boardid to R7000 (per http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1078269#1078269).

Any ideas?
nolimitz
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 10:36    Post subject: Re: R6700v2 Reply with quote
r6700v2-hacker wrote:
I got the r6700V2 from Amazon and it came with firmware v1.1.0.24. It doesn't have burnboardid. Thinking whether to downgrade to R6700 firmware to update the boardid to R7000 (per http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1078269#1078269).

Any ideas?


you might as well try and get it supported if possible, you might open a new thread for this, if you have serial access you can get more details
Mr_Neato
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 May 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 18:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
For what it's worth, my experience with the R6700v2 was horrible.

Like many, I received it from Amazon when I ordered the R6700. I tried tweaking the stock firmware for days, but finally gave up and sent it back.

The good news is Amazon assures me they are sending me a "R6700" to replace it. I'll find out for sure when it arrives tomorrow.
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4225
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 19:36    Post subject: Re: R6700v2 Reply with quote
r6700v2-hacker wrote:
I got the r6700V2 from Amazon and it came with firmware v1.1.0.24. It doesn't have burnboardid. Thinking whether to downgrade to R6700 firmware to update the boardid to R7000 (per http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1078269#1078269).

Any ideas?


If it does not have burnboardid it may not even be a broadcom based unit:-)

But I have not seen any serial bootlog.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum