Netgear R7800 (Nighthawk X4S – AC2600) - status

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 55, 56, 57 ... 186, 187, 188  Next
Author Message
solidservo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Mar 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 16:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello! I would like to try out dd-wrt on my R7800, but I am kinda lost when it comes to what build I should use and what is the process of installing it - and possibly reverting back to the original firmware.

I supposed this is the firmware to use? http://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2017/03-21-2017-r31722/netgear-r7800/

Anyone can point me towards a guide that explains how to install and how to revert back to the stock firmware?

Thank you! Smile
Sponsor
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1293

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 17:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
solidservo wrote:
Hello! I would like to try out dd-wrt on my R7800, but I am kinda lost when it comes to what build I should use and what is the process of installing it - and possibly reverting back to the original firmware.

I supposed this is the firmware to use? http://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2017/03-21-2017-r31722/netgear-r7800/

Anyone can point me towards a guide that explains how to install and how to revert back to the stock firmware?

Thank you! Smile


- Flash factory-to-ddwrt.img
- Wait until it FULLY boots up
- admin, admin, admin
- Flash dd-wrt-webupgrade.bin with reset to defaults
- Wait until it FULLY boots up
- Power off router
- Wait 1 min
- Power it back on
- Wait until it FULLY boots up
- Now setup your things
solidservo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Mar 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 6:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
jerrytouille wrote:
solidservo wrote:
Hello! I would like to try out dd-wrt on my R7800, but I am kinda lost when it comes to what build I should use and what is the process of installing it - and possibly reverting back to the original firmware.

I supposed this is the firmware to use? http://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2017/03-21-2017-r31722/netgear-r7800/

Anyone can point me towards a guide that explains how to install and how to revert back to the stock firmware?

Thank you! Smile


- Flash factory-to-ddwrt.img
- Wait until it FULLY boots up
- admin, admin, admin
- Flash dd-wrt-webupgrade.bin with reset to defaults
- Wait until it FULLY boots up
- Power off router
- Wait 1 min
- Power it back on
- Wait until it FULLY boots up
- Now setup your things


Thank you! Do you also know how I can revert back to the stock firmware in case I run into problems with dd-wrt? Smile
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1293

PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 18:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
solidservo wrote:
Thank you! Do you also know how I can revert back to the stock firmware in case I run into problems with dd-wrt? Smile


Follow this guide: https://kb.netgear.com/22688/How-to-upload-firmware-to-a-NETGEAR-router-using-TFTP
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7246
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 23:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
It is stated in this thread. To go back to stock hold on the reset button while powering up. Hold the reset button in for 15 seconds then tftp the netgear firmware.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
MrDoh
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Dec 2012
Posts: 650

PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 18:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
solidservo wrote:

Thank you! Do you also know how I can revert back to the stock firmware in case I run into problems with dd-wrt? Smile


There's also this image to flash from Kong's repository, assuming that your router is still working well enough to be able to flash firmware images. I've used it a couple of times (no tftp needed) and it works just fine to go from dd-wrt to stock firmware:

http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-IPQ806X/NetgearFW/ddwrt-to-netgear-fw-R7800.bin
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7246
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 18:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Last time I tried it it didn't work. Must have been changed.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
MrDoh
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Dec 2012
Posts: 650

PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 19:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Okay, it hasn't not worked for me.

How's that for twisted logic?
glenb2
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Mar 2017
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 20:40    Post subject: intel 8265ngw hanging network Reply with quote
I can reproduce hanging across my network whenever my spectre x360 connects (intel 8265ngw). How can I capture this event so it can be fixed? I bought my new r7800 specifically for ddwrt yesterday, so a bit bummed and would love not to go back to stock
TrueAudio
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Mar 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 16:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
r31500M on the EA8500 running QAM256 + single & multi BF all clients are still fine after 8+ hours - no dropouts ... but these are not QAM256 capable clients.

Hi, can you upload and/or put up a link to Kong's r31500M for the EA8500 because I cannot find that older version anywhere, only the latest one. It looks like this firmware was the only one so far with QAM 256 working and I wanted to try it out. Thanks.
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 4862
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 21:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
TrueAudio wrote:
mrjcd wrote:
r31500M on the EA8500 running QAM256 + single & multi BF all clients are still fine after 8+ hours - no dropouts ... but these are not QAM256 capable clients.

Hi, can you upload and/or put up a link to Kong's r31500M for the EA8500 because I cannot find that older version anywhere, only the latest one. It looks like this firmware was the only one so far with QAM 256 working and I wanted to try it out. Thanks.
These are only for EA8500
'some KONG builds'

EDIT: FYI- 'bout ea8500
New Kong r31780M kongat (03/26/17)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1072701#1072701
cinory
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Mar 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 8:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Has anyone tested the speed of the VPN client? How fast is it?
I wanted to buy that router for turning it into a VPN router.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7141
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 22:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
cinory wrote:
Has anyone tested the speed of the VPN client? How fast is it?
I wanted to buy that router for turning it into a VPN router.


65mbps+, i heard around 75-80mbps from kong i think, and k4.9 is supposed to be faster than 3.18 whenever we get it..r7800.

for ea8500..55mbps+ should be for sure, about 65mbps as a guess.

Mbps not MBps

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150 ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] R7800 -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41631 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
mooninite
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Sep 2008
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 23:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
cinory wrote:
Has anyone tested the speed of the VPN client? How fast is it?
I wanted to buy that router for turning it into a VPN router.


65mbps+, i heard around 75-80mbps from kong i think, and k4.9 is supposed to be faster than 3.18 whenever we get it..r7800.

for ea8500..55mbps+ should be for sure, about 65mbps as a guess.

Mbps not MBps


You can use a 4.9 kernel today if you use LEDE.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7141
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 1:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
mooninite wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
cinory wrote:
Has anyone tested the speed of the VPN client? How fast is it?
I wanted to buy that router for turning it into a VPN router.


65mbps+, i heard around 75-80mbps from kong i think, and k4.9 is supposed to be faster than 3.18 whenever we get it..r7800.

for ea8500..55mbps+ should be for sure, about 65mbps as a guess.

Mbps not MBps


You can use a 4.9 kernel today if you use LEDE.


do not like lede/openwrt at all, tried them already multiple times over the years. i mean 4.9 in ddwrt.

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150 ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] R7800 -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41631 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 55, 56, 57 ... 186, 187, 188  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 56 of 188
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum