WRT3200ACM back to stock

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
ATHF
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 14 Dec 2015
Posts: 681
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 19:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
dbman wrote:
I cannot use telnet since on Windows 10, they only give you the option for telnet client, not telnet server.

So I was trying to use telnet via putty, but that fails with "Network error: Connection refused".

Putty:
hostname: 192.168.1.1
connection type: Telnet
port: 23

what am I missing here using putty?


Is telnet enabled in DD-WRT? It's under the services tab.

_________________
Tutorial for flashing WRT series
WRT Installation,Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes
DD-WRT Firmware: r39144: WRT3200ACM, WRT1200ACv1, WRT1900ACv1
Velop:3 WHW0101, RE6500, RE9000
TWC/Spectrum - 300/25
SysLog Watcher 5, Security Onion on Virtual Box, Fingboxes, PiHoles
Sponsor
dbman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 19:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
I was talking about accessing the router in stock mode, not dd-wrt.
ATHF
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 14 Dec 2015
Posts: 681
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 20:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry, didn't realize you were asking about stock, stock does not have telnet or ssh in it.
_________________
Tutorial for flashing WRT series
WRT Installation,Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes
DD-WRT Firmware: r39144: WRT3200ACM, WRT1200ACv1, WRT1900ACv1
Velop:3 WHW0101, RE6500, RE9000
TWC/Spectrum - 300/25
SysLog Watcher 5, Security Onion on Virtual Box, Fingboxes, PiHoles
dbman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 20:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
dag, another reason i want to get to dd-wrt asap, freakin sooo flexible.

But still scared to death due to instability for dd-wrt FW for wrt3200ACM.
LookingForMyMojo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2014
Posts: 693

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 0:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
you wont know until you try it.

I have no instability on my WRT3200ACM
Sphexi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Feb 2017
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 4:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just did this, took a while and there were several things that tripped me up.

1. My 3200 for whatever reason would not boot (not even go into U-Boot, the terminal window just sat blank) until I plugged in Ethernet to my laptop. Once I did that it instantly booted, but prior to that it sat for over 10m doing nothing

2. Again for some reason my laptop wouldn't allow inbound connections for TFTP, firewall off and all that and just couldn't ping it or connect. Went downstairs to my main workstation, fired up TFTP on that and worked like a charm. Fuck me, right?

3. I rebooted the router after the flash and it brought up my wifi, turns out Linksys auto populated all the settings from when I had it setup before DD-WRT, man that was confusing for a minute while I thought that the flash failed.


Ultimately this worked, but goddamn what a PITA it was. At least no more dropping WiFi for now, maybe I'll go back to DD-WRT once the new Marvel driver is actually finished and built into a stable release, but until then I'm fine with Linksys.

Thanks for the detailed instructions on this, I ended up with the USB to TTL cable someone linked to, plus an adapter off ebay (maybe that other guy who threw a bunch up, was he in Florida?), those were great and I put them in my work kit now Smile
Wag
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Mar 2015
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 4:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
I know this has probably been posted a million times but I need some clarification.

I flashed DD-WRT to my 3200ACM, and then booted back to the stock partition. How do I switch back to DD-WRT from stock? Do I need to reflash?
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7125
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 8:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Under troubleshooting there is an option to boot to previous firmware.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
spuriousoffspring
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 983
Location: South of Heaven, USA

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 19:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
I came across this in a search for a USB to TTL Cable. The pins and pitch seem to be correct for the Linksys WRT Routers, but I haven't tried it yet.
Considering the price - it may be too go to be true.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/401090868113?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

_________________
DD-WRT Installation & Setup TUTORIAL
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117

WRT32X DD-WRT Installation Procedure
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=315569

IPVanish OpenVPN Client Setup TUTORIAL
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=308565

FIRMWARE: OpenWrt SNAPSHOT r8217-2cc821e / LuCI Master (git-18.276.41146-280dd33)
MODEM: ARRIS SURFBoard SB8200
ROUTER: Linksys WRT32X
USB NAS: Western Digital BLACK 1 TB Hardrive + Startech USB 3.0 External SATA III Enclosure
mattdm92
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Jun 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 23:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just tried to do this and get a /bin/sh permission denied error at the chroot step. Im not super familiar with linux...

WRT3200ACM

ATHF wrote:
Here is a way to get back to stock (Without using USB to TTL)assuming you have overwritten both partitions, written by Chadster766 (towards the bottom):

http://community.linksys.com/t5/Wireless-Routers/WRT3200ACM-with-dd-wrt-leds-issue/m-p/1080111#M332179

I figured out a way to reload the WRT3200ACM Linksys firmware from DD-WRT.

It's a bit advanced and do at your own risk. In the worst case a USB to TTL cable will still be able to recover the router.

Create a McDebian WRT3200ACM V1 rootfs USB Key\Drive - https://github.com/Chadster766/McDebian/wiki/3.-Make-Root-File-System
Copy FW_WRT3200ACM_1.0.5.176416_prod.img to the USB Key\Drive
Enable SSH to Telnet in DD-WRT
Enable Core USB Support, USB Storage and Automount in DD-WRT
Plug the McDebian rootfs USB Key into the router and reboot
SSH or Telnet into DD-WRT
Run the "mount" commad to see where the USB Drive was automounted (Ex: /tmp/mnt/sda1)
Run the below commands one at a time substituting if needed the path for the USB key



Code:

mount -t proc none /tmp/mnt/sda1/proc
mount -o bind /dev /tmp/mnt/sda1/dev

chroot /tmp/mnt/sda1

flash_erase /dev/mtd5 0 0
flash_erase /dev/mtd6 0 0
flash_erase /dev/mtd7 0 0
flash_erase /dev/mtd8 0 0

nandwrite -p /dev/mtd5 FW_WRT3200ACM_1.0.5.176416_prod.img
nandwrite -p /dev/mtd7 FW_WRT3200ACM_1.0.5.176416_prod.img 
MyNose
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Jun 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 0:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
elvisimprsntr wrote:

6. CoolTerm

Port: usbserial
Baudrate: 115200
Connect

Power router
Hit space within 3 seconds when prompted

setenv ipaddr 192.168.69.200 # modify for your LAN
setenv netmask 255.255.255.0
setenv serverip 192.168.69.30 # modify for your TFTP server
ping 192.168.69.30 # confirm LAN
run flash_pri_image # or flash_alt_image
reset


I canot ping the serverip. Can someone please help?

ping failed; Host 192.168.69.30 is not alive
ATHF
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 14 Dec 2015
Posts: 681
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 3:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
MyNose wrote:

I canot ping the serverip. Can someone please help?

ping failed; Host 192.168.69.30 is not alive


And your computer has its ethernet ip set to 192.168.69.30?

_________________
Tutorial for flashing WRT series
WRT Installation,Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes
DD-WRT Firmware: r39144: WRT3200ACM, WRT1200ACv1, WRT1900ACv1
Velop:3 WHW0101, RE6500, RE9000
TWC/Spectrum - 300/25
SysLog Watcher 5, Security Onion on Virtual Box, Fingboxes, PiHoles
MyNose
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Jun 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 13:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks. I found the problem. My DHCP was partially turn on.
ziomo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jun 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2017 13:00    Post subject: WRT3200ACM back to stock Reply with quote
Hey,
I have a problem with TTL connection to my router. I used the PL-2303 and CH340.
If I connect my router with my computer and when I press any key after power on, the router boots in service mode but nothing appears on the computer screen.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B8Silv-wE4XjcXgyQ1lJcXZuUEk

When I do not press any key, the router boots normally
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B8Silv-wE4XjVDRsSUczMjg3SEk

Images:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B8Silv-wE4XjSWhEM3lrMDdhLVk
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B8Silv-wE4XjZmZXZXdiZnRsSlU
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B8Silv-wE4XjR01LZlhSd0FSdXM

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

PS Sorry for my English
mikesal57
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2017 15:25    Post subject: Re: WRT3200ACM back to stock Reply with quote
ziomo wrote:
Hey,
I have a problem with TTL connection to my router. I used the PL-2303 and CH340.
If I connect my router with my computer and when I press any key after power on, the router boots in service mode but nothing appears on the computer screen.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B8Silv-wE4XjcXgyQ1lJcXZuUEk

When I do not press any key, the router boots normally
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B8Silv-wE4XjVDRsSUczMjg3SEk

Images:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B8Silv-wE4XjSWhEM3lrMDdhLVk
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B8Silv-wE4XjZmZXZXdiZnRsSlU
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B8Silv-wE4XjR01LZlhSd0FSdXM

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

PS Sorry for my English


did you change your PC address..?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 6 of 8
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum