No internet connection

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> X86 based Hardware
Author Message
haSec
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Sep 2016
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2016 17:44    Post subject: No internet connection Reply with quote
Hi




I have a PC which I'd like make a OpenVPN router.
I successfully flashed a hdd andhave two NICs installed(one extension card and one onboard).

I have ADSL modem/router connected to onboard ethernet card of Router PC and my Home PC connected to NIC extension card.
I can connect to DD-WRT using WebGUI.
Windows shows connected to network but a yellow triangle with internet.

When checking WAN IP address it says disabled.
If I select either Static IP or Automatic DHCP from Setup tab and select apply settings DD-WRT Webgui hangs telling applying settings, please wait.

After that I cannot connect using Webgui.


I noticed that when I turn my OpenVPN PC on there are three times the following message(A picture attached):
Connect: Network is unreachable .


After I enable WAN IP my Router PC shows multiple "not found" and "No such file or directory" messages(A picture attached).



I set my Router PC the same way I set my E2000.
The problem with E2000 was that it cut my internet speed too much.


My Router PC has AMD Athlon x2 5000+, 2512MB DDR2 and 40gb IDE HDD.



Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.
Sponsor
flood404
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Dec 2013
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2016 7:42    Post subject: Setting it up Reply with quote
It sounds like your onboard is the WAN port and the expansion card is the LAN port.

You got the connection backwards.

Once you get to the webgui page you have to tell it to use the onboard NIC as the WAN connection.

That is on the setup tab under networking.
set the WAN as eth0 and save and apply.

Hopefully the eth0 is your onboard NIC.

Then once you apply it. Reboot the system from the webgui under admin on the bottom of the page. Then once its rebooting. Reboot your DSL modem too. Wait 5 to 6 mins. Then open the page 192.168.1.1 and see if your WAN shows an ip and your all set to configure it some more to your liking.
haSec
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Sep 2016
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 14:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi


Thanks for your reply and
sorry about replying so late.

Anyway, if I changed WAN to eth1 it connects.
However the internet connection is about 0.25 of the speed that is when using software vpn client.

If I change WAN to eth0 it won't even let me log into webgui.
flood404
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Dec 2013
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:01    Post subject: Chipset for Ethernet controllers Reply with quote
DO you know what brand is your Ethernet Controllers?
Like Intel, Reaktek, Marvell, SMC, Yukon, etc wtc?


This also applies to your second card. What bus is it using like PCI-E or PCI or Onboard.

Your speeds should be similar like if it was direct connected to the modem on that kind of system. Im only using a Intel Dual core 1.6Ghz x2 with 2GB DDR2 Ram and I get what I paid for in my service.

I got a friend with a Pentium 3 1Ghz with 256MB ram and he gets almost 200Mbps speed too.
haSec
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Sep 2016
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi



My VPN computer has the following components:
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T
8GB of DDR3
ASUS M4N68T(according to ASUS it has GB LAN)
The secondary ethernet card is Accton EN1207d-TX/WOL PCI
The VPN computer works by setting Eth1 as WAN.

My VPN computer should have enough juice to run 256bit encrypted OpenVPN.


This is the only thing preventing me to move completely into Debian environment.
flood404
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Dec 2013
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 21:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
WOW overkill system for this setup.
I do not understand why a 6 core 8GB ram and to bottleneck it with a a 10/100 Mbps card.

I think the PCI SMC card is working but the onboard is not.

The last time I used the 32bit version of DD-WRT it did not support the realtek gigabit cards and the onboard ones. But the x64 one did.

I believe this board is using a Nforce Ethernet controller. Might not have support for it yet. Brainslayer will have to add the driver for this device before it will work.


Are you willing to buy two PCI cards that I know that work and both are capable of 1Gbps speed?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-ENCORE-Gigabit-Ethernet-32-bit-NIC-Network-Adapter-10-100-1000Mbps-/272519052537?hash=item3f7366bcf9:g:rysAAOSwFdtXx5uy

These work on my system and only with the 64bit version of DD-wrt.
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/12-15-2016-r30949/x86_64/dd-wrt_x64_public_vga.image or if you planning on buying a license and have wifi support and more ports ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/12-15-2016-r30949/x86_64/dd-wrt_x64_full_vga.image

I still wonder if you loaded the x86 32 bit version. Can you verify that for me?
haSec
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Sep 2016
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 22:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yeah, it is overkill system.
I got a new setup so I recycled the old one.

Earlier I had an older computer but because it has the same problem as the current VPN computer I chose to use the current one.

Anyway, I'm not sure if it's 32bit or 64bit.
Image file that is installed is called dd-wrt_public_vga.image .
I assume it's 32bit?

I had tried to search x64 version but couldn't find one.
Thanks for posting such file Smile .

I heard that one can get a free code for full version if it is for private use.
Can this be confirmed?


I'll let you know how things work out.
flood404
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Dec 2013
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 20:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
haSec wrote:
Yeah, it is overkill system.
I got a new setup so I recycled the old one.

Earlier I had an older computer but because it has the same problem as the current VPN computer I chose to use the current one.

Anyway, I'm not sure if it's 32bit or 64bit.
Image file that is installed is called dd-wrt_public_vga.image .
I assume it's 32bit?

I had tried to search x64 version but couldn't find one.
Thanks for posting such file Smile .

I heard that one can get a free code for full version if it is for private use.
Can this be confirmed?


I'll let you know how things work out.



Ok I can confirm your using an outdated DD-wrt.
I can confirm your using 32bit version which can't access all the available ram on this overkill rig. Also the 32bit is missing drivers for some gigabit cards. I want you to try loading the free 64bit version which I linked to you to see if the Nforce Ethernet works. Then you can try using your codes to unlock it then. If it does not work pay the $20 and download the latest beta 64 bit versions here.

ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/12-15-2016-r30949/x86_64/

The free version has been stable for me. The ones of course marked with x64 is the 64bit ones.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> X86 based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum