Linksys WRT 1900AC V1 - VLAN set-up

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
taberg
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Nov 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2016 23:05    Post subject: Linksys WRT 1900AC V1 - VLAN set-up Reply with quote
Hi!

Sorry, this question may be very basic, but I am just out of energy to solve this Smile

I have a Linksys WRT 1900AC V1 router, and I want to replace my ISP router.

The set-up is as follows:

1. The fiber goes through the wall into a splitter.
2. The ISP router is currently in bridge mode for internet, and shares TV to the decoder.
3. My WRT1900AC has the bridged ISP router connected to the WAN connection, and the WRT1900AC takes care of routing internet.

This kind of works, but now I want more TVs and less cables.

So, what I want to do:

1. Connect the cable from the fiber splitter to the WAN of my WRT1900AC
2. Use VLAN to distribute the traffic in lan ports 1-4 as follows:
Port 1: Internet
Port 2: TV
Port 3: Internet
Port 4: TV
WIFIs: Internet

I have read that my ISP uses the following tags:
IPTV: 101
Internett: 102

Then I'd like to have an option to separate the networks connected to port 1 and 2 from the networks connected to 3 and 4 (because they will be routed to a rental appartment in the house). But for now, just the ports above.

If anyone can help it would be great!

I understand I need to put it in the startup script somehow?

Kindly,
Tomas
Sponsor
RomanG
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2016 15:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have been struggling to get this to work in past few days, without success.
There are several posts by <Kong> and Per Yngve Berg that say "it should work exactly the way it does under openwrt" by using swconfig utility.
I think the key word in that statement is should.
All those posts seem to be suggestions only, but I believe they have not been tried and proven to work by their authors.
I may be wrong in my assumption and would love to hear from someone who tried and was successful in getting it to work on WRT1900AC by using swconfig utility.

Another confusion is that there is no good resference showing default configuration, which port is on which VLAN by default.
The OpenWRT wiki has some information on WRT1900AC v1, but I think it may be incorrect.

https://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/linksys/wrt1x00ac_series#switch_layout

It shows LAN ports on VLAN1 and WAN port on VLAN0, which contradicts what's in nvram on my WRT19000AC v1:
Code:

nvram show | grep vlan.*ports

size: 24914 bytes (40622 left)
vlan0ports=1 2 3 4 5*
vlan1ports=0 5


On the other hand, the port numbering as shown on OpenWRT wiki is correct, which can be proven and tested with
Code:

swconfig dev switch0 show


I will continue trying, if I have some time tonight I will try to do it with
Code:

nvram set

and
Code:

ifconfig

commands.
Will post results here.

Cheers,

_________________
Roman
______________________________________________
Linksys WRT1900AC v1 +++ Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r30880M kongmv (11/14/16)
Linksys E2000 +++ Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (10/07/10) big
Linksys E2500 +++ Firmware: DD-WRT v24-23598 NEWD-2 K3 mega
Linksys WRT150N with SD card modification +++ Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/12/10) std-nokaid
RomanG
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2016 15:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
What I forgot to add is that it should be doable.
VLANs work on the stock FW so it should be possible to do it in DD-WRT.

_________________
Roman
______________________________________________
Linksys WRT1900AC v1 +++ Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r30880M kongmv (11/14/16)
Linksys E2000 +++ Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (10/07/10) big
Linksys E2500 +++ Firmware: DD-WRT v24-23598 NEWD-2 K3 mega
Linksys WRT150N with SD card modification +++ Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/12/10) std-nokaid
Inigo2b
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Nov 2016
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 20:44    Post subject: Setup -> VLAN GUI on WRT1900 Reply with quote
I am trying to setup several VLANs (preferably tagged by IP Subnet), but the tutorials that I am finding are either command line or reference using the Setup -> VLANs tab, but on my recent build (v3.0-r30880M kongmv (11/14/16)), this tab doesn't exist. What was it replaced by?
_________________
Linksys WRT1900ASC V2 DD-WRT v3.0-r30880M kongmv (11/14/16)
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 6867
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 23:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
You have to put the commands into the startup script.

E.g. working example for the 1900AC V1:

swconfig dev switch0 set reset 1
swconfig dev switch0 set enable_vlan 1
swconfig dev switch0 vlan 1 set ports "5t 0 1 2 3"
swconfig dev switch0 vlan 2 set ports "5t 4"
swconfig dev switch0 set apply
ifconfig eth0 up
ifconfig eth1 up
vconfig set_name_type VLAN_PLUS_VID_NO_PAD
vconfig add eth0 1
vconfig add eth0 2
RomanG
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 5:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
You have to put the commands into the startup script.

E.g. working example for the 1900AC V1:

swconfig dev switch0 set reset 1
swconfig dev switch0 set enable_vlan 1
swconfig dev switch0 vlan 1 set ports "5t 0 1 2 3"
swconfig dev switch0 vlan 2 set ports "5t 4"
swconfig dev switch0 set apply
ifconfig eth0 up
ifconfig eth1 up
vconfig set_name_type VLAN_PLUS_VID_NO_PAD
vconfig add eth0 1
vconfig add eth0 2


Have you actually tried above in the startup script on a WRT1900AC v1 and it was working for you?

If so, can you please tell us which build you used for that?

Thanks,

_________________
Roman
______________________________________________
Linksys WRT1900AC v1 +++ Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r30880M kongmv (11/14/16)
Linksys E2000 +++ Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (10/07/10) big
Linksys E2500 +++ Firmware: DD-WRT v24-23598 NEWD-2 K3 mega
Linksys WRT150N with SD card modification +++ Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/12/10) std-nokaid
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 6867
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 9:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't have the router. The example is from a post by Kong.
RomanG
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 14:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, I do have a WRT1900AC and I did try it and I can tell you that it does not work.

Besides, I am not sure that if following would accomplish anything:

Code:

swconfig dev switch0 vlan 1 set ports "5t 0 1 2 3"
swconfig dev switch0 vlan 2 set ports "5t 4"


On fresh install, nvram shows that ports 1,2,3,4 (LAN) are on VLAN0 and port 0 (WAN) is on VLAN1.
Port 5 (CPU) is on both VLAN0 and VLAN1, tagged, tying them both together.
Code:

nvram show | grep vlan.*ports

size: 24914 bytes (40622 left)
vlan0ports=1 2 3 4 5*
vlan1ports=0 5


The swconfig on WRT1900AC enumerates ports a bit differently, I tested them one by one and they are enumerated as follows:

LAN ports are 0, 1, 2, 3
WAN port is 4
CPU ports are 5,6

LAN ports appear to be on one VLAN with port 5
WAN port appears to be on one VLAN with port 6

So above two lines of swconfig would move LAN ports on to VLAN 1 and WAN port on VLAN2, so essentially it will be the same as before, all LAN ports on the same VLAN.

Or maybe I am missing something?

_________________
Roman
______________________________________________
Linksys WRT1900AC v1 +++ Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r30880M kongmv (11/14/16)
Linksys E2000 +++ Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (10/07/10) big
Linksys E2500 +++ Firmware: DD-WRT v24-23598 NEWD-2 K3 mega
Linksys WRT150N with SD card modification +++ Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/12/10) std-nokaid
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 6867
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 18:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Code:
nvram show | grep vlan.*ports

vlan0ports=1 2 3 4 5*
vlan1ports=0 5


Disregard these variables as they are used on Broadcom units only.
RomanG
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 21:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
Code:
nvram show | grep vlan.*ports

vlan0ports=1 2 3 4 5*
vlan1ports=0 5


Disregard these variables as they are used on Broadcom units only.


If above nvram variables are invalid, how are then ports allocated to VLANs on clean, new DD-WRT install on WRT1900AC (Marvell)?
Are they on VLAN0 and VLAN1 or VLAN1 and VLAN2?

Thanks,

_________________
Roman
______________________________________________
Linksys WRT1900AC v1 +++ Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r30880M kongmv (11/14/16)
Linksys E2000 +++ Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (10/07/10) big
Linksys E2500 +++ Firmware: DD-WRT v24-23598 NEWD-2 K3 mega
Linksys WRT150N with SD card modification +++ Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/12/10) std-nokaid
RandomJerk
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Jun 2016
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2016 23:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm also interested in assigning one of my LAN ports to a separate VLAN, tried all the above including Kongs commands and never got it to work. Definitely looking for some help here.
funkman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Mar 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 1:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am also trying to create a separate VLAN on the 1900AC v1, but am not having any luck either. Has anyone found a workable solution?
chuckn246
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jan 2017
Posts: 1
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 12:31    Post subject: WRT1900ac v1 Reply with quote
Count me in. Can't seem to figure it out either

Edit:
    -WRT1900ac v1
    -DD-WRT v3.0-r31100M kongmv (01/08/17)
e123enitan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Mar 2017
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 18:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Has anyone figure out the step to VLAN creation, if so could you create settings steps.

Cheers!
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 6867
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 19:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Have you tried these commands to find the current configuration?

swconfig list
swconfig dev switch0 show
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum