New Kong's build: DD-WRT 30840M - 11/04/2016

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
decompiled
DD-WRT User


Joined: 02 Jan 2008
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2016 17:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tarv wrote:
decompiled wrote:
Tarv wrote:
decompiled wrote:
Router: R7000
Firmware: Kong 30840

Upgraded, soft reboot.

Wired, wireless and QOS working as expected.

What is your max downstream from your ISP and are you limiting it in QoS? If your ISP provides > 100Mbps and you are using QoS, what do you speed test at?


Spectrum 30/3.5 with

QOS settings of:
28000/3400
HTB
FQ_Codel

DDWRT gets my desired speeds and straight A's on the dsl reports speedtest. I can saturate the line and still have a great browsing experience. I have tried tomato, merlin and stock fw with no luck. I am loving 30000 series from Kong.

Yeah, when I was running 60/6 from my ISP, my experience was the same as you described. I did not see this issue at all until i moved to 150/15.

The issue disappears when QoS is disabled. I see Kong mentioned a different WAN being the issue, but wouldn't this suggest otherwise?

My ISP provides a Hitron CGNM-2250 which is put into passthru to bypass their router.


I would test as Kong suggested by faking the wan with a local device capable of gigabit through put and test with iperf.
Sponsor
hurleyp
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Sep 2009
Posts: 317
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2016 21:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router: Netgear R7000
Firmware: v3.0-r30840M kongac (11/04/16)
Kernel: Linux 4.4.30 #140 SMP Fri Nov 4 12:59:43 CET 2016 armv7l
Status: Up and running for just over 24 hours
Reset: Soft boot before and after ddup
Errors: Sort of...

Upgraded via ddup --flash-latest from r30815. I rebooted proir to the ddup via SSL, but the R7000 hung during the reboot. All was well after a power-cycle. But because this lockup was rather unusual, after the ddup I performed "erase nvram" for the first time in about 3 months - just to be sure.

Temperatures are good: CPU 55.8 °C / WL0 44.5 °C / WL1 47.5 °C (My R7000 is wall-mounted.)


Current basic R7000 setup (subject to change of course):
- Static IP
- DHCP Enabled
- No VLANS
- Wireless: Regulatory Domain = UNITED_STATES, wl0 G-Only, wl1 NA-Mixed, AES
- SSH enabled, Telnet disabled
- Firewall enabled, Log Level high
- Syslog: remote to Logentries
- USB Flashdrive mounted as JFFS, adblocking via pixelserv
- NO: SNMP, ttraf, VNC, Zabbix, VPN, Radius
- NO: Port forwarding, UPnP, DMZ, QoS
- NO: Samba, CIFS, miniDLNA, Entware, Optware

_________________
Netgear R7000: v3.0-r46974 std (06/18/21)
EdgeRouter-X: EdgeOS v2.0.9-hotfix 2
Roy2001
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Oct 2006
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 0:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Any one has tried with R8000? I installed and did the factory resetting, but 2 5G channels are weak, within a few feet, my laptop can connect but iphone cannot see them.
_________________
RT-AC68U (Moded from TM-AC1900) with Merlin, 2 HDD's attached
Netgear R8000 - with 30225 Kong build
TM-AC1900 still with Tmobile FW
HalfBit
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2009
Posts: 766
Location: AR, USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 4:38    Post subject: Re: New Kong's build: DD-WRT 30840M - 11/04/2016 Reply with quote
Router: Netgear R7000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r30840M kongac
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r30700M kongac for 2 days
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r29300M-3 and -6 kongac for several months prior to 30700M
Kernel: Linux 4.4.30 #140 SMP Fri Nov 4 12:59:43 CET 2016 armv7l
Status: Up and running for a few hours
Reset: From 29300M builds (K3) to 30700M (K4), but not from 30700M to 30840M
Errors: Still monitoring.

All I can say so far is wow! This build is snappier, and runs my configuration better with little to no CPU utilization. I typically don't early adopt new builds lately, but due to extenuating circumstances I decided to at least go to 30700M. Once I saw how well 30700M was running I decided to go to 30840M. I wonder if the OPKG repo Kong manages are compiled to run better on the K4 builds because they seem to be doing so compared to the K3 build(s) I was on.

I am still wondering if Privoxy is working. The ads on this forum are typically blocked, but some are still showing. Sometimes cache on the client comes into play so I will monitor. Other than that, nothing major or any issues really to report.

_________________
R7000 Nighthawk - DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongac (07/11/19)
R7000 Nighthawk - DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongac (07/11/19)
~~~~~~~~~~Dismantled for learning opportunities~~~~~~~~~~
WRT54Gv2
WRT54Gv8.2
stalonge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1870
Location: Fortaleza Ce Brazil

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 11:21    Post subject: Re: New Kong's build: DD-WRT 30840M - 11/04/2016 Reply with quote
HalfBit wrote:
Router: Netgear R7000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r30840M kongac
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r30700M kongac for 2 days
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r29300M-3 and -6 kongac for several months prior to 30700M
Kernel: Linux 4.4.30 #140 SMP Fri Nov 4 12:59:43 CET 2016 armv7l
Status: Up and running for a few hours
Reset: From 29300M builds (K3) to 30700M (K4), but not from 30700M to 30840M
Errors: Still monitoring.

All I can say so far is wow! This build is snappier, and runs my configuration better with little to no CPU utilization. I typically don't early adopt new builds lately, but due to extenuating circumstances I decided to at least go to 30700M. Once I saw how well 30700M was running I decided to go to 30840M. I wonder if the OPKG repo Kong manages are compiled to run better on the K4 builds because they seem to be doing so compared to the K3 build(s) I was on.

I am still wondering if Privoxy is working. The ads on this forum are typically blocked, but some are still showing. Sometimes cache on the client comes into play so I will monitor. Other than that, nothing major or any issues really to report.



Half .. i will waiting for your news about this build .. i have one r7000 working for 35 days just because steady situation ...

this r7000 works with pppoe / webserver / ftp / samba / HD 1 Gb ext4 / some static leases / some ports forward / around 15 clients ( wireless / hard wired ) ..


Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
DDwrt ...it rocks ....

1 R7800 46069 AP Wireguard webserver JFFS SAMBA FTP usb HD Mesh
1 R7800 46069 Cli Mesh
1 WZR1750 45690 AP Webserver OpenVPN Wireguard
1 DDx86 Vmware 40260
1 E3000 41027 K3 @500 WAP wifi client
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 7749
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 12:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router Name: EA6900
Router Model: Linksys EA6900 (XVortex CFE)
Firmware Version: DD-WRT v3.0-r30840M (11/04/16)
Kernel Version: Linux 4.4.30 #140 SMP Fri Nov 4 12:59:43 CET 2016 armv7l

Upgraded: from 30700M via telnet (upgrade via WebGui or DDUP not possible) which had uptime more than 25 days!
Reset: Yes, before and after (Erase NVRAM and WPS reset)

Configuration: AP, DHCP server, 2,4GHz and 5Ghz wireless running, some static leases and some port range forwarding, NVRAM size just below 32K (NVRAM size should not be a problem with the Xvortex CFE)

Status: Up and stable for 4h, excellent wireless speed and range, WAN throughput 40/4 (is my ISP's maximum)

Errors: none so far

Kong, any chance that you could add a switch to DDUP to flash to linux partition instead of linux2 partition?

Thanks Kong and BrainSlayer!!

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 14:10    Post subject: Re: New Kong's build: DD-WRT 30840M - 11/04/2016 Reply with quote
HalfBit wrote:
Router: Netgear R7000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r30840M kongac
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r30700M kongac for 2 days
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r29300M-3 and -6 kongac for several months prior to 30700M
Kernel: Linux 4.4.30 #140 SMP Fri Nov 4 12:59:43 CET 2016 armv7l
Status: Up and running for a few hours
Reset: From 29300M builds (K3) to 30700M (K4), but not from 30700M to 30840M
Errors: Still monitoring.

All I can say so far is wow! This build is snappier, and runs my configuration better with little to no CPU utilization. I typically don't early adopt new builds lately, but due to extenuating circumstances I decided to at least go to 30700M. Once I saw how well 30700M was running I decided to go to 30840M. I wonder if the OPKG repo Kong manages are compiled to run better on the K4 builds because they seem to be doing so compared to the K3 build(s) I was on.

I am still wondering if Privoxy is working. The ads on this forum are typically blocked, but some are still showing. Sometimes cache on the client comes into play so I will monitor. Other than that, nothing major or any issues really to report.


Some pages now using https and some ads slip through in case transparent proxy is enabled without explicitly setting the proxy on the client device.

Some may have noticed, that I added a new option to privoxy:

Provide Proxy Autoconfig

I tested it with my Ipad. With this option you just have to enable proxy auto config on your client device and it will automatically pick up the proxy settings from the router and configure http + https proxy on the client and therefore filter also ads on https pages.


I just ran a test with dnssec. Next build will have dnssec enabled dnsmasq:-)

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
HalfBit
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2009
Posts: 766
Location: AR, USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 17:16    Post subject: Re: New Kong's build: DD-WRT 30840M - 11/04/2016 Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:
HalfBit wrote:
Router: Netgear R7000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r30840M kongac
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r30700M kongac for 2 days
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r29300M-3 and -6 kongac for several months prior to 30700M
Kernel: Linux 4.4.30 #140 SMP Fri Nov 4 12:59:43 CET 2016 armv7l
Status: Up and running for a few hours
Reset: From 29300M builds (K3) to 30700M (K4), but not from 30700M to 30840M
Errors: Still monitoring.

All I can say so far is wow! This build is snappier, and runs my configuration better with little to no CPU utilization. I typically don't early adopt new builds lately, but due to extenuating circumstances I decided to at least go to 30700M. Once I saw how well 30700M was running I decided to go to 30840M. I wonder if the OPKG repo Kong manages are compiled to run better on the K4 builds because they seem to be doing so compared to the K3 build(s) I was on.

I am still wondering if Privoxy is working. The ads on this forum are typically blocked, but some are still showing. Sometimes cache on the client comes into play so I will monitor. Other than that, nothing major or any issues really to report.


Some pages now using https and some ads slip through in case transparent proxy is enabled without explicitly setting the proxy on the client device.

Some may have noticed, that I added a new option to privoxy:

Provide Proxy Autoconfig

I tested it with my Ipad. With this option you just have to enable proxy auto config on your client device and it will automatically pick up the proxy settings from the router and configure http + https proxy on the client and therefore filter also ads on https pages.


I just ran a test with dnssec. Next build will have dnssec enabled dnsmasq:-)

I noticed. Smile My team at work manages the PAC files among other things, so I am keenly aware/familiar with them. I will try to test it out and let you know. I think I want to reset the router and start from scratch when I do, though.

DNSSEC will be awesome, I'll test it out for you. Although I'll have to find a different DNS server to use for that since OpenDNS doesn't have DNSSEC enabled--at least not last time I checked.

Also, Kong, would it be possible to talk about implementing DNSCrypt in the UI? I've been running it for a couple of months now, and think it would be easy to implement/integrate into DD-WRT.

Oh, and thanks again, Kong, for implementing IPv6, that has been great as well.

_________________
R7000 Nighthawk - DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongac (07/11/19)
R7000 Nighthawk - DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongac (07/11/19)
~~~~~~~~~~Dismantled for learning opportunities~~~~~~~~~~
WRT54Gv2
WRT54Gv8.2
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1649
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 18:12    Post subject: Re: New Kong's build: DD-WRT 30840M - 11/04/2016 Reply with quote
HalfBit wrote:
Also, Kong, would it be possible to talk about implementing DNSCrypt in the UI? I've been running it for a couple of months now, and think it would be easy to implement/integrate into DD-WRT.

Oh, and thanks again, Kong, for implementing IPv6, that has been great as well.


That is one reason I still use a Tomato Router with Shibby Build that has a simple GUI for DNSCrypt. If DNSCrypt can be incorporated into DDWRT's GUI would be nice and 'maybe' one less router to power.

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - 10GbE Copper Backbone
2x R7800 - Gateway & WiFi & 3xWireGuard - DDWRT r46979 Std
R7000 - Wired ISP 4K IPTV Gateway - DDWRT r46979 Std

Off Site 1

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi & WireGuard - DDWRT r46979 Std
E3000 - Client Bridge - DDWRT r46979 Mega K4.4

Off Site 2

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi - DDWRT r44483 Std
E2000 - Wired ISP IPTV PVR Blocker - DDWRT r35531


YAMon 3.4.6 | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2
giuliomagnifico
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Apr 2016
Posts: 377
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 21:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router: Netgear R7000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r30840M kongac
Kernel: Linux 4.4.30 #140 SMP Fri Nov 4 12:59:43 CET 2016 armv7l
Status: OK
Reset: none
Errors: No but 2.4ghz LED is on with disabled 2.4 channel


On my R7000 all is ok with this build but the 2.4ghz led is always on also if I disable the 2.4 channel...

Thanks!


EDIT: solved the problem with red light, it simply means that a 10/100mbps device is connected (and not a gigabit device)
HalfBit
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2009
Posts: 766
Location: AR, USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 22:31    Post subject: Re: New Kong's build: DD-WRT 30840M - 11/04/2016 Reply with quote
mac913 wrote:
HalfBit wrote:
Also, Kong, would it be possible to talk about implementing DNSCrypt in the UI? I've been running it for a couple of months now, and think it would be easy to implement/integrate into DD-WRT.

Oh, and thanks again, Kong, for implementing IPv6, that has been great as well.


That is one reason I still use a Tomato Router with Shibby Build that has a simple GUI for DNSCrypt. If DNSCrypt can be incorporated into DDWRT's GUI would be nice and 'maybe' one less router to power.

Wait, you're running an extra router just for DNSCrypt? Do you want to eliminate that now? If so, let's start another thread or PM.

_________________
R7000 Nighthawk - DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongac (07/11/19)
R7000 Nighthawk - DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongac (07/11/19)
~~~~~~~~~~Dismantled for learning opportunities~~~~~~~~~~
WRT54Gv2
WRT54Gv8.2
DaveTheNerd
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Jul 2008
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 1:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
On my R8500 acting as a router (and running QoS), I'm getting reboots every 12-24 hours. The system comes up fine after each reboot, but something's definitely different. Didn't happen with 30700M.

I did an over-the-top upgrade from 30700M->30840M with no settings reset. I have done a power cycle, but that didn't seem to help. I'm going to let it go one more time, but then I'll roll back to 30700M and try that again.
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1649
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 4:43    Post subject: Re: New Kong's build: DD-WRT 30840M - 11/04/2016 Reply with quote
HalfBit wrote:
mac913 wrote:
HalfBit wrote:
Also, Kong, would it be possible to talk about implementing DNSCrypt in the UI? I've been running it for a couple of months now, and think it would be easy to implement/integrate into DD-WRT.

Oh, and thanks again, Kong, for implementing IPv6, that has been great as well.


That is one reason I still use a Tomato Router with Shibby Build that has a simple GUI for DNSCrypt. If DNSCrypt can be incorporated into DDWRT's GUI would be nice and 'maybe' one less router to power.

Wait, you're running an extra router just for DNSCrypt? Do you want to eliminate that now? If so, let's start another thread or PM.


Well extra router is more than just for DNSCrypt... My network comprises with 3 OpenVPN connections, 5 SSIDs and 8 VLANs. I have seen your posts on "Dnscrypt on dd-wrt" and would like to test it out with my configuration without to much network restructuring. HalfBit, when I get some time to test and need any support I'll PM you. Or maybe Kong will sneak it into a build for us. :)

TIA!!

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - 10GbE Copper Backbone
2x R7800 - Gateway & WiFi & 3xWireGuard - DDWRT r46979 Std
R7000 - Wired ISP 4K IPTV Gateway - DDWRT r46979 Std

Off Site 1

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi & WireGuard - DDWRT r46979 Std
E3000 - Client Bridge - DDWRT r46979 Mega K4.4

Off Site 2

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi - DDWRT r44483 Std
E2000 - Wired ISP IPTV PVR Blocker - DDWRT r35531


YAMon 3.4.6 | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2
Razue
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Mar 2012
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 5:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
got a question can i upgrade to this build via gui and put reset to defaults?

what do i type in the command prompt to erase nvram?


also my download speed using client bridge is slower than 30645 version

_________________
WRT54GS v7 = 14929 micro repeater
e1500 = 19342 repeater mode
WRT54GS v1 = DD-WRT v24-sp2 (04/07/12) mega - build 18946M VINT Eko repeater mode
TPLINK - 1043ND v1.11 = 21223 client bridge
NETGEAR R7000 = 30880M Client Bridge
https://www.speedtest.net/my-result/d/beb94813-52a7-426d-b56b-d100a34364a3
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1649
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 6:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Razue wrote:
got a question can i upgrade to this build via gui and put reset to defaults?

what do i type in the command prompt to erase nvram?


also my download speed using client bridge is slower than 30645 version


2 commands...

erase nvram
reboot

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - 10GbE Copper Backbone
2x R7800 - Gateway & WiFi & 3xWireGuard - DDWRT r46979 Std
R7000 - Wired ISP 4K IPTV Gateway - DDWRT r46979 Std

Off Site 1

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi & WireGuard - DDWRT r46979 Std
E3000 - Client Bridge - DDWRT r46979 Mega K4.4

Off Site 2

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi - DDWRT r44483 Std
E2000 - Wired ISP IPTV PVR Blocker - DDWRT r35531


YAMon 3.4.6 | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum