"EA6300V1" (Q87-EA6400) BCM4360

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 83, 84, 85 ... 97, 98, 99  Next
Author Message
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7264
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2016 19:42    Post subject: Re: Linksys EA6400 appears to have two running firmwares at Reply with quote
cb0111 wrote:
I forgot the warning against 30/30/30 resets for my dd-wrt flash of this router. Now I'm in this weird limbo mode where the router is running DDWRT on one ip and also providing it's stock firmware via wireless connection. Both connect to the internet but this seems insecure and unstable. Additionally none of my other devices are visible to my main desktop despite enabling sharing etc.

I tried flashing new firmware from the stock gui but it says it's not the correct firmware.

Thank you to anyone who can help but also
Thank you Linksys for the "wonderful" partitioned dual firmware xD


Again. Read his thread. People are tired of the same explanation.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Sponsor
srwal
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jul 2013
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2016 23:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
cd2022 wrote:
Minimum requirement is flashing the super hacky by numinit before you can even flash anything else. Having said that, I retain original CFE and after so many soft bricks and boot loops, I'm happy to report that my router has been up for the past 8 days with Kong r30350.


Do you think my bricked router can be saved?
cd2022
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Sep 2015
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 0:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
From your post, you flashed "Asus rt-56u" fw to the Linksys. I have no idea how to recover from that.

I used tftp to recover from soft bricks, ymmv.
Silent_Swift
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Aug 2015
Posts: 102
Location: London

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 7:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
cd2022 wrote:
From your post, you flashed "Asus rt-56u" fw to the Linksys. I have no idea how to recover from that.

I used tftp to recover from soft bricks, ymmv.


I did the same before.

If you were using a modified cfe then you can simply tftp and it will eventually flash dd-wrt.

Give it a good hour or so Wink

_________________
Linksys EA6400/6300v1 Guide Very Happy



BT Infinity FTTC
BRAS PROFILE: 76.2MBPS DOWN / 20 MBPS UP

BT Smart Business Hub 6A - Modem and AP
Linksys EA6300v1 - Broadcom DD-WRT v3.0-r36104 std
BT HomeHub 5A - Wireless AP Extender
BT Openreach Modem ECI - Unlocked OpenWrt 15.05
doniNZ74
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Apr 2016
Posts: 96
Location: Down down .... under

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 9:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
darknight11c wrote:
It's been one day (22 hours uptime) + several shorter reboots, and Kong 29300M build does not seem to exhibit memory leaks.


Yes Kong has been good to me too.
Today I went to the latest brainslayer build (r30356) to check it out. Its got the leak too. I have now reported this as an official ticket. If you experiencing the problem, please add your comments to the ticket:

http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/5497

Looks like I will need to go back to Kong again.
srwal
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jul 2013
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 4:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Silent_Swift wrote:
cd2022 wrote:
From your post, you flashed "Asus rt-56u" fw to the Linksys. I have no idea how to recover from that.

I used tftp to recover from soft bricks, ymmv.


I did the same before.

If you were using a modified cfe then you can simply tftp and it will eventually flash dd-wrt.

Give it a good hour or so Wink


I didn't use a modified cfe, it was a flash from stock.
cd2022
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Sep 2015
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 4:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
I would repeat 30/30/30 and tftp with stock fw a few times to see what happens.
numinit
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Oct 2013
Posts: 66
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 21:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Link for initial webflash broke, here it is again.


linksys-ea6400-numinit-super-hacky-smaller-version.bin
 Description:
Linksys EA6400 initial webflash

Download
 Filename:  linksys-ea6400-numinit-super-hacky-smaller-version.bin
 Filesize:  15.91 MB
 Downloaded:  8870 Time(s)


_________________
How to EA6400:

Flash the smaller build: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/download.php?id=36227

Flash the real build: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/

Initial flashing post: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=979857#979857

Results: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=980039#980039

GLHF
numinit
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Oct 2013
Posts: 66
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 21:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Does anyone want a full MTD dump from a brand-new never-flashed out of the box router? This includes the elusive /tmp/var/config (mtd block 6)... Wink
_________________
How to EA6400:

Flash the smaller build: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/download.php?id=36227

Flash the real build: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/

Initial flashing post: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=979857#979857

Results: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=980039#980039

GLHF
numinit
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Oct 2013
Posts: 66
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 21:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Rooted my router and dd'ed it to a flash drive. If anyone has other Linksys routers that they want me to dump, I will accept hardware donations. Smile

Code:
Kernel command line: root=/dev/mtdblock2 console=ttyS0,115200 init=/sbin/preinit earlyprintk debug


Code:
Creating 6 MTD partitions on "nflash":
0x000000000000-0x000000080000 : "boot"
0x000000080000-0x000000200000 : "nvram"
0x000000200000-0x000001f00000 : "linux"
0x000000436450-0x000001f00000 : "rootfs"
0x000001f00000-0x000003c00000 : "linux2"
0x000002136450-0x000003c00000 : "rootfs2"


Code:
Creating 1 MTD partitions on "brcmnand":
0x000003c00000-0x000008000000 : "brcmnand"



Screen Shot 2016-08-18 at 4.34.14 PM.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  275.53 KB
 Viewed:  11863 Time(s)

Screen Shot 2016-08-18 at 4.34.14 PM.png



_________________
How to EA6400:

Flash the smaller build: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/download.php?id=36227

Flash the real build: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/

Initial flashing post: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=979857#979857

Results: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=980039#980039

GLHF
numinit
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Oct 2013
Posts: 66
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 22:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Looks like my build fails to flash using the web UI on firmware version 1.0.99.172334. I don't see this firmware version listed anywhere...
_________________
How to EA6400:

Flash the smaller build: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/download.php?id=36227

Flash the real build: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/

Initial flashing post: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=979857#979857

Results: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=980039#980039

GLHF
numinit
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Oct 2013
Posts: 66
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 22:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ahaha. Got it on there anyway. Firmware signing be damned!

Newer versions will likely require serial flashing. Couldn't downgrade to Linksys stock build 160989, so did the following (after getting a root console and copying the dd-wrt webflash to a flash drive):

Code:
# dd bs=131072 if=/tmp/sda1/linksys-ea6400-webflash.bin of=/dev/mtdblock2
# sync
# reboot


It's likely that only the first command will succeed, since you've just wiped the rootfs with sync and reboot on it. So, forcibly unplug and replug. Maybe there's a better way to do this with the other flash partition. Can anyone point out how to change the boot partition in the nvram?

Anyway, you'll have a brick, because of all the Linksys settings in nvram. You'll have to reset the nvram now, so hold the reset button down as the device is powering up.



Screen Shot 2016-08-18 at 4.58.53 PM.png
 Description:
The error with new Linksys firmware (version 1.0.99.172334)
 Filesize:  61.4 KB
 Viewed:  11837 Time(s)

Screen Shot 2016-08-18 at 4.58.53 PM.png



Screen Shot 2016-08-18 at 5.20.54 PM.png
 Description:
and, now, running dd-wrt
 Filesize:  107.53 KB
 Viewed:  11841 Time(s)

Screen Shot 2016-08-18 at 5.20.54 PM.png



_________________
How to EA6400:

Flash the smaller build: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/download.php?id=36227

Flash the real build: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/

Initial flashing post: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=979857#979857

Results: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=980039#980039

GLHF
n0psl3d
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Aug 2016
Posts: 8
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 16:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
I recently moved my ea6300v1 to dd-wrt following butterworth's steps, all went fine and I am running 08-16-2016-r30432. Temp is steady at around 85 degrees. Thanks to all and specially to butterworth for putting it all together!

Before dd-wrt, I flashed a ea6400 fw, no issues (used 1.1.40.172334 which for the life of me I cannot remember I initially downloaded it from and it is not available through linksys's support page, however this link works http://downloads.linksys.com/downloads/firmware/FW_EA6400_1.1.40.172334_prod.img)

However, when I tried to flash it again, I got the "Invalid firmware file" message, so I had to go to Diagnostics and revert to the previous firmware and then I was able to do butterworth's steps.

Now, when you say "Newer versions will likely require serial flashing" does that mean the following won't work?

Code:

cd /tmp/root
mtd -f write linksys-ea6400-webflash.bin linux2
mtd -f write linksys-ea6400-webflash.bin linux
reboot
numinit
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Oct 2013
Posts: 66
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 16:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
n0psl3d wrote:
Now, when you say "Newer versions will likely require serial flashing" does that mean the following won't work?


1.0.99.172334 did *not* let me revert to a prior Linksys firmware (got the "Invalid firmware file" error), so I needed a root shell first.

What you described should work (though there's no `mtd` command in the stock Linksys firmware, so I had to use dd). You'll likely have to just use the internal serial UART to get root first, or somehow flash through the CFE, which I'm not familiar with on this router.

_________________
How to EA6400:

Flash the smaller build: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/download.php?id=36227

Flash the real build: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/

Initial flashing post: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=979857#979857

Results: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=980039#980039

GLHF
RedRover88
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Dec 2015
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2016 13:41    Post subject: Recovering from a very bad flash Reply with quote
Hello,

I have contributed to this thread, but now I need help myself. I managed to brick it after using Kong. I was trying to upgrade firmwares.

Now I am stuck in this pattern where I keep uploading ta rescue firmware from the CFE recovery page, Asus firmware recovery tool, and tftp clients. The upload will finish and say that it has successfully flashed the router, but the router will not boot into ddwrt (supper hacky) and eventually I have to trigger a second recovery attempt. What ddwrt version should i use? I have the koolshare CFE.

If you are experienced with bad flash recovery please throw me a bone. Thanks

EDIT: I was able to flash the original Linksys firmware through the CFE rescue page and it stuck and booted. Now I am running stock
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 83, 84, 85 ... 97, 98, 99  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 84 of 99
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum