TP-Link Archer C7 (ac1750)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 84, 85, 86 ... 130, 131, 132  Next
Author Message
Wookiestick
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jun 2010
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 16:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Every release following r30082 causes boot looping on my archer c7v2. Sticking with r30082 for now-- hopefully it's addressed in future builds.

Last edited by Wookiestick on Wed Jul 27, 2016 0:51; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
radiofrequency
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Dec 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 17:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello,

i'm about to buy a TP-Link Archer C7 V2 AC1750 to use it as a router

I'd like to know if this device is capable of a function called "SuperChannel"
Unfortunately,i wasn't able to find any valid information wether the purchase of this option works.

Also, i want to install "Optware" onto the Archer C7 V2. Is there somebody who has done and/or tested this before?

Is there a list (or at least something comparable) of channels, supported by a router with "superchannel" in monitormode?
casualtester
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Dec 2015
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 23:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
radiofrequency wrote:
... TP-Link Archer C7 V2 ... I'd like to know if this device is capable of a function called "SuperChannel" ...


Setting present with 30082 firmware under Wireless.
Did not bother testing feature since as stated by ddwrt: ...in many countries it is not allowed to use these frequencies.
joeszef
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Apr 2016
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2016 9:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
so I installed DDWRT on my TP-Link Archer C7 V2 and it all goes with, getting maximum speeds for both 2.4 and 5 bands. I'm using the 6-20-2016 Beta build.

I just have some minor issues, why does the WAN led does not lit? And also why does the WPS is light always. Other LEDS are working, WIFI and LAN.
cyris69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2016 5:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
So I can't find the files needed for flashing using the DB search so found http://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2016/07-25-2016-r30284/tplink_archer-c7-v2/

This seems to have to most recent files, I downloaded these files:

factory-to-ddwrt-US.bin
tplink_archer-c7-v2-US.bin

It's been ages since I've flashed a custom FW on any router. I assume I just need to log into admin GUI as normal upload the factory-to-ddwrt bin file then wait, then find the router IP connect and do the same with the second file? Or do I just use the second file and update like I work a stock image?

The reason I want to flash is because the stock FW only allows 8 "virtual server" port forwards and need way more than that.

Firmware Version:
3.14.3 Build 151014 Rel.49676n
Hardware Version:
Archer C7 v2 00000000
Doppel-D
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Jul 2014
Posts: 216
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2016 8:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
To flash factory-to-ddwrt.bin is sufficient if there is not a problem with a locked firmware.
_________________
IT Crowd - Have You Tried Turning It Off And On Again?
casualtester
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Dec 2015
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2016 10:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
joeszef wrote:
... I just have some minor issues, why does the WAN led does not lit? And also why does the WPS is light always. Other LEDS are working, WIFI and LAN.


That is normal behaviour for dd-wrt firmware.
You'll need to contact the developer(s) as to the reason why the LEDs do not function same as stock firmware.


Last edited by casualtester on Sat Jul 30, 2016 10:10; edited 1 time in total
casualtester
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Dec 2015
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2016 10:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
cyris69 wrote:
... most recent files, I downloaded these files...


You may want to avoid the two recent versions.
Several reports of r30260 and r30284 causing boot loops in the dd-wrt forums.

Firmware 07-01-2016-r30082 should be safe.
cyris69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2016 16:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
casualtester wrote:
cyris69 wrote:
... most recent files, I downloaded these files...


You may want to avoid the two recent versions.
Several reports of r30260 and r30284 causing boot loops in the dd-wrt forums.

Firmware 07-01-2016-r30082 should be safe.


Good deal Smile so are my assumptions correct to just flash tplink_archer-c7-v2-US.bin like a normal update or do I need to do anything special? Or is that particular file used as an update to an already flash WRT router and if so then the factory to ddwrt would be the correct choice.
Wookiestick
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jun 2010
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2016 23:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
The 07/30/16 30342 build seems to be working ok on archer c7v2.
cyris69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 16:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Wookiestick wrote:
The 07/30/16 30342 build seems to be working ok on archer c7v2.


Cool, I will look into giving it a try. Flashed the advised 7/1/2016 bin and it went super smooth. Just glad I can proper port forward without a entry limit.
casualtester
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Dec 2015
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2016 15:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
cyris69 wrote:
...so are my assumptions correct to just flash tplink_archer-c7-v2-US.bin like a normal update or do I need to do anything special? Or is that particular file used as an update to an already flash WRT router and if so then the factory to ddwrt would be the correct choice.


When you're flashing from the stock firmware, use the factory-to-ddwrt.bin variants.
When upgrading/flashing a router already running dd-wrt, use the tplink_archer-c7-v2.bin variant.

IL: Firmware intended for those following the government communications requirements of Israel.
US: Firmware intended for those following the communications (FCC) requirements of United States.
Those not labelled intended for international users.
casualtester
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Dec 2015
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2016 15:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
cyris69 wrote:
...Cool, I will look into giving it a try...


Unless you're adept at recovering bad firmware updates, suggest you wait about a week for others to be guinea pigs first.
And it goes without saying, set to factory defaults before firmware update, just like motherboard BIOS update procedures.
shackrock
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Aug 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 21:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just installed on my Archer C7 V2.
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r30342 (07/30/16)

My Link Speed in windows is ~ 200Mbps for my 802.11AC 5Ghz connection, while it used to be ~750Mbps with the TP-Link firmware. Is this typical? My 5Ghz settings are:

AP
AC-Only
Full 20MHz
Auto
Tx power: 16 dBm (default)

Thanks
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 6380
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 21:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
see the wiki settings link below.. ur 5ghz is crap cause ur using 20mhz of channel space instead of 80mhz, tiny 16dbm tx power instead of 30dbm or at least 22dbm+..
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36500M kongat
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r37012 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r37012 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r37012 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r36808 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 84, 85, 86 ... 130, 131, 132  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 85 of 132
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum