Asus RT-AC3200

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2016 7:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
That's the first time that I head that a port should light up if not connected, maybe this is new on the asus, but I have never seen any unit that turns on lights for ports if nothing is connected.

The max associated clients is a driver maximum I don't think oem firmware allows to to set it above 32.
Sponsor
ks3
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jan 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2016 3:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
gseeley wrote:

I switched to this build since my post above but I can't seem to use the WAN or LAN PORT 1. Are these working for you other than the incorrect colors? Sounds like you aren't using the WAN port, but maybe try to plug in just LAN PORT 1 (no other ports connected) and see if it works for you?


The WAN / LAN1 issue is because of incorrect switch port setup in the default config. You can fix it by running the commands below, then rebooting the router. The commands assign the WAN port (switch port 0) to VLAN 2 (WAN), and ports 1-4 to VLAN 1 (LAN).

Code:

nvram set vlan2ports=“0 5u”
nvram set vlan1ports=“1 2 3 4 5*”
nvram commit
coa132435
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Jun 2014
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2016 16:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried r28846 on my RT-AC3200 and the radio LEDs did not work any more. Everything else worked fine. I am using the AC3200 as AP only.

Is there a command line that can provide the radio driver version (i.e. broadcom, etc)?

I would like to compare the DD-WRT vs Sotck Firmware versions.

Also, what is the variable name or command line to get the Extension Channel configuration for 5Ghz channels using VHT 80mhz?

Tnx!!
gseeley
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2014
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2016 0:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
ks3 wrote:
gseeley wrote:

I switched to this build since my post above but I can't seem to use the WAN or LAN PORT 1. Are these working for you other than the incorrect colors? Sounds like you aren't using the WAN port, but maybe try to plug in just LAN PORT 1 (no other ports connected) and see if it works for you?


The WAN / LAN1 issue is because of incorrect switch port setup in the default config. You can fix it by running the commands below, then rebooting the router. The commands assign the WAN port (switch port 0) to VLAN 2 (WAN), and ports 1-4 to VLAN 1 (LAN).

Code:

nvram set vlan2ports=“0 5u”
nvram set vlan1ports=“1 2 3 4 5*”
nvram commit


Thanks ks3! I just applied this on my router (build 28647) and confirmed that I can use LAN1 and the WAN port now. I did notice that the physical numbers on the LAN 1-4 ports on the AC3200 are reversed in the DD-WRT VLAN page but I can live with that over non-functional ports.

Do you know if this issue has been raised in a ticket?


Last edited by gseeley on Wed Jan 27, 2016 0:23; edited 1 time in total
gseeley
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2014
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2016 0:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
coa132435 wrote:
I tried r28846 on my RT-AC3200 and the radio LEDs did not work any more. Everything else worked fine. I am using the AC3200 as AP only.

Radio LEDs don't work on r28647 here either.
scott216
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jan 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 1:53    Post subject: Asus RT-AC3200 Reply with quote
I just purchased the Asus RT-AC3200 and I'd like to install DD-WRT. But first I thought I'd check with the forum to get some feedback in case there's any problems with the DD-WRT build.

I am planning on using the ASUS Firmware Restoration utility (version 2.0.0.0) to flash the DD-WRT image. I got the ASUS software from here:
https://www.asus.com/us/support/Download/11/2/0/92/S6NDlExxnGHYbAK7/30/

I got DD-WRT r29048 for the RT-AC3200 from here:
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/02-05-2016-r29048/asus-rt-ac3200/

Thanks
Scott
VertigoRay
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Oct 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2016 17:49    Post subject: Re: Asus RT-AC3200 Reply with quote
scott216 wrote:
I just purchased the Asus RT-AC3200 and I'd like to install DD-WRT. But first I thought I'd check with the forum to get some feedback in case there's any problems with the DD-WRT build.


Personally, I'll live with the Merlin firmware until there's an official release (it's still not in the router database).

_________________
VertigoRay
http://vertigion.com
FurioG
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Apr 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2016 17:58    Post subject: AC3200 additional observations Reply with quote
To contribute to this discussion - after flashing my AC3200 to DD-WRT r29048:

I am unable to connect devices to WL1 or WL2 radios. I have permutated through {available standards} X {WPA,WPA2,WEP,none} X {win7,mac 10.11,ios9, ...} without success. ex: "!" or "unable to join"

Strangely, connecting to WL0 is no problem for 5GHz-capable devices. Which leaves 2.4GHz devices out of luck for now. Anyone else have success with second or third radios?

BTW, big fan of this project going way back, so thanks for the great work. Done my share of embedded work on wireless PHYs so I know the challenges involved.
bunny0007
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Mar 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 0:01    Post subject: Re: AC3200 additional observations Reply with quote
FurioG wrote:
To contribute to this discussion - after flashing my AC3200 to DD-WRT r29048:

I am unable to connect devices to WL1 or WL2 radios. I have permutated through {available standards} X {WPA,WPA2,WEP,none} X {win7,mac 10.11,ios9, ...} without success. ex: "!" or "unable to join"

Strangely, connecting to WL0 is no problem for 5GHz-capable devices. Which leaves 2.4GHz devices out of luck for now. Anyone else have success with second or third radios?

BTW, big fan of this project going way back, so thanks for the great work. Done my share of embedded work on wireless PHYs so I know the challenges involved.


Got the same issue, just getting wrong password on every nets.
hsinlongg
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 May 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2016 11:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
have anybody know how to restoration asus official firmware to ASUS RT-AC3200 machine?

I had tried much method, but it can't work. ex: ASUS restoration Utilite, DD-WRT upgrade firmware page.

but, it always in DD-WRT firmware, doesn't upgrade to ASUS firmware.
idmitriy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2008
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 6:20    Post subject: Only Beta available? Reply with quote
Anything new for this router?
mbze430
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2016 18:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
I want to test more on the RT-AC3200, but currently it's a "mission critical" router. Until I get ahold of an AC5300 or newer router. Can't test DD-WRT with it.
_________________
ASUS RT-AC3200 - Deployed Client's site
ASUS RT-AC5200 - Merlin
ASUS RT-AX88U - Merlin
dricket
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Oct 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 19:22    Post subject: Recommended version for Asus RT-AC3200 Reply with quote
I'm currently using version 30709 from here:
http://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2016/09-29-2016-r30709/asus-rt-ac3200/

However, the router freezes up at least once per day in our office, and we have to reboot.

Does anyone know of a stable release, or a way to debug the crash? (after reboot, /var/log/messages is empty)

Alternatively, what is the best high-performance router with a stable build?
I see FlashRouters sells the ASUS 5300, but i assume they just flash it with a standard build, which I could do and save their $200 markup on list price.
https://www.flashrouters.com/partsfindertest/asus-rtac5300-ddwrt-router

Thanks!
Doug
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 1286

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 19:54    Post subject: Re: Recommended version for Asus RT-AC3200 Reply with quote
dricket wrote:
I'm currently using version 30709 from here:
http://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2016/09-29-2016-r30709/asus-rt-ac3200/

However, the router freezes up at least once per day in our office, and we have to reboot.

Does anyone know of a stable release, or a way to debug the crash? (after reboot, /var/log/messages is empty)

Alternatively, what is the best high-performance router with a stable build?
I see FlashRouters sells the ASUS 5300, but i assume they just flash it with a standard build, which I could do and save their $200 markup on list price.
https://www.flashrouters.com/partsfindertest/asus-rtac5300-ddwrt-router

Thanks!
Doug

What do you mean by standard build?
Have you done erase nvram? Have you tried Kong's build?
rommer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Apr 2016
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 20:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Kong's 9/27/16 builds have been rock solid for me.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 4 of 8
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum