Netgear R7500v2 support

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 52, 53, 54  Next
Author Message
giuliomagnifico
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Apr 2016
Posts: 314
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2016 3:03    Post subject: Re: no problem Reply with quote
slozer wrote:
cybrnook wrote:
slozer wrote:
If someone can get me a true confirmation that a donated unit is needed in am willing to donate one.


If you actually send a unit, and the team confirms receipt, shoot me your PayPal info. I will send a little something to help offset the cost you put up for us.


Sure will do. I just ordered the unit. Will be getting it out to them as soon as i receive the new unit.


Great!!! Thanks a lot Cool
Sponsor
slozer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jun 2016
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2016 3:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
yea no problem. I love this router would love to see it on DD-WRT
waffle418
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Oct 2007
Posts: 25
Location: Cincinnati, OH

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2016 20:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
slozer wrote:
yea no problem. I love this router would love to see it on DD-WRT


If you send it to me as well, I'll help out. If it would have been 2 years ago, I would have happily donated it, but things change unfortunately!

_________________
"Ummm should it smoke like that?.... No, no it probably shouldn't especially considering its your processor" <---- My answer to my friend who was trying to overclock his last computer.
husky55
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 263
Location: Madison, CT, US

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 13:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
@slozer, I would like to help out too. Shoot me a pm with your paypal email. I assume you are in Europe because shipment from US can be expensive.
_________________
Netgear R7800(2) WDS, Asus RT-AC68R (2)
cybrnook
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Posts: 280

PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2016 2:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just a rant, but without an alternative for the stock firmware, I'm ready to throw this brick out the window. The drivers in their latest firmware must be ancient. While the 7800 works fine.
cybrnook
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Posts: 280

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 19:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
<Kong> / BrainSlayer,

I got the 7500v2 up and running this week, I have enabled telnet as well and have access to the stock OS. Are there any dumps I can do and provide to you to help assist support for this model?
jeffrice
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Jul 2016
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 19:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm getting pretty good performance from my R7500v2, especially compared to my Asus rt-ac68u, but would love an alternative to the Netgear firmware.
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 20:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Peter from myopenrouter managed to get me a R7500v2 this week, therefore R7500v2 is ready now:

http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-IPQ806X/

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
cybrnook
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Posts: 280

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 20:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks Kong! You are the man, as always.
jeffrice
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Jul 2016
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 20:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
The README contains this comment towards the bottom:

Experimental R7500 build:

This build does not include support for the quantenna radio 5G and won't likely ever get support for it.


Does this apply to the 7500v2 build you posted?
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 20:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
jeffrice wrote:
The README contains this comment towards the bottom:

Experimental R7500 build:

This build does not include support for the quantenna radio 5G and won't likely ever get support for it.


Does this apply to the 7500v2 build you posted?


No that's for v1, v2 has two supported radios, no quantenna.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
D-Prime
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Aug 2016
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 0:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks, Kong, and everyone else in this thread giving support to the R7500v2. I installed the build today and everything I use is working fine so far.

However, I am a bit new to this stuff. Is it normal for the CPU clock frequency to fluctuate? I know the CPU is supposed to run at 1400mhz, but right now the Status page is showing 384mhz -> 600mhz. Depending on the speed, it effects my wifi speed as well. Would it be possible to just set the cpu clock to 1400 to fix this? (Also, I'm not sure what the ram speed is either)

Thanks.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7336
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 5:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
D-Prime wrote:
Thanks, Kong, and everyone else in this thread giving support to the R7500v2. I installed the build today and everything I use is working fine so far.

However, I am a bit new to this stuff. Is it normal for the CPU clock frequency to fluctuate? I know the CPU is supposed to run at 1400mhz, but right now the Status page is showing 384mhz -> 600mhz. Depending on the speed, it effects my wifi speed as well. Would it be possible to just set the cpu clock to 1400 to fix this? (Also, I'm not sure what the ram speed is either)

Thanks.


cpu clock changes should not affect wifi speed, it didnt on my ea8500 (same cpu) and on my r7800. how are u testing? what client? software? speed expected/received? etc

the cpu varying clocks are expected, qualcomm atheros krait is very power efficient, only demanding cpu power when needed.

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/6174 ---> DD-WRT v3.0-r44048 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44068 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44068 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44068 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 -------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44048 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
tanilolli
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Feb 2016
Posts: 7
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 22:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm having trouble flashing to DD-WRT. After flashing, the router reboots but the power light stays solid orange. I've only been able to get it back with a 30/30/30 reset and uploading the stock firmware over tftp.

It seems like it's not resetting the nvram because when I reflashed the stock firmware, my settings were in tact. I also tried doing a factory reset before flashing the second time and it didn't work.

I'm using hardware I received in a Netgear beta test before the R7500v2 was released. Maybe it's having some compatibility issues, but it works fine with the latest Netgear firmware. The router looks identical to the release version.

_________________
Netgear R7000 r32780M kongac
Netgear R7500v2 stock
Netgear R9000 Stock
husky55
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 263
Location: Madison, CT, US

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 13:13    Post subject: Kong R7500v2 firmware Reply with quote
Really interested in some info about the repeater bridge function of this firmware. Somehow Atheros chips seem to have trouble with repeater bridge. Broadcom chips do not seem to have the same problem. May be Tatsuya46 can shed some light.
_________________
Netgear R7800(2) WDS, Asus RT-AC68R (2)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 52, 53, 54  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 4 of 54
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum